Skip to main content

Library Guides

Medicine: Home

Contact Us

Library Services icon

For general enquiries about Library Services, please email libraryservices@kcl.ac.uk

For IT-related enquiries, please email 8888@kcl.ac.uk

You can also have an online chat with Library Services staff 24/7

 

King's Libraries Twitter

About these pages

You will also find lots of useful information on these pages about our print and online resources as well as the training and support on offer. Please use the tabs at the top or links below to explore the resources that are relevant to your subject area.

Image of books

 
Books
Journals 
Databases
Medical Images
Managing references
Plagiarism advice
Training & Support
 
 

Exam papers

For information on Exam Papers please contact the Academic Centre at mbbsexams@kcl.ac.uk

 

New to King's

We are running some great activities to help you familiarise yourself with our Libraries and ensure you make the most of the many services and resources we offer you in your time at King's.

This includes Library Tours, Workshops, Elearning, Guides, etc.
Click on the New to King's button below to find out full details and sign up.

Trial to MedHand Mobile Libraries App until 30/06/17

Medhand converts books, handbooks, and manuals into user-friendly apps. King's users have access to the following e-book titles:

Boyd: Dental Instruments: A Pocket Guide, 5th edition
Clinics Collections: Asthma
Tintinalli's Emergency Medicine Manual, 7th edition
Rapid Psychiatry, 2nd edition

Instructions on how to access Medhand during the trial are on this page: http://www.kcl.ac.uk/library/resources/eresource-trials.aspx. YouTube Link on how to use App: https://youtu.be/AwxgG7T-CLw.  Please let us know what you think: http://www.kcl.ac.uk/library/resources/eresource-trials-feedback.aspx

New resources

Oxford Medicine Online

Access over 900 books from Oxford University Press' medical titles ranging across Clinical Medicine, Medical Skills, Neuroscience, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Paediatrics and Public Health and Epidemiology. The books include the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine and the Oxford Textbook of Medicine, as well as titles from the Mayo Clinic Scientific Press so you can read every Oxford HandbookOxford TextbookEmergencies inOxford Desk References whenever you need it. And online offers additional possibilities so the Oxford Textbook of Medicine was updated in February and includes extra chapters, videos and so on. You can download high quality images for your power point slides. 

Oxford Medicine Online (OMO) - Kings [remember you will need to log in with your King's username and password if you are off campus to see these resources].

Cochrane Clinical Answers - No time to read Cochrane Reviews? Think again.

Cochrane Clinical Answers covers 32 Clinical Specialties and provide a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. They are designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care. 

Library@home

Library Services provides access to a wide range of eresources for its students and staff: most of these databases and ejournals are available off campus, simply log in using your King's username and password.

picture of library search

Ejournals - Library Services subscribes to over 25,000 electronic journals which are available to staff and students of King's College - see our ejournals page for more details.

Databases - King's subscribes to a broad range of electronic resources which can help you find articles and information for your research.  The type of database you should use will depend on your subject area - see the databases page for links to key databases.

Ebooks - Library Services provides you with access to over 340,000 ebooks covering a wide range of subject, most accessible off campus - see the ebooks page for more information.

Library Catalogues

Use the Library catalogue to find print and electronic library materials held by King's - see our guide below for help with searching.

Library Search is a single search interface enabling you to simultaneously search the library's collections and more; it is especially useful when you are new to a topic or need to widen your search - see our video introducing Library Search.

Help with accessing our eresources - see our step-by-step instructions for accessing some of our key eresources off campus.