Skip to main content

Library Guides

Clinical Education: Home

Resources in support of those with an interest in clinical education.

Contact Us

Library Services icon

For general enquiries about Library Services, please email libraryservices@kcl.ac.uk

For IT-related enquiries, please email 8888@kcl.ac.uk

You can also have an online chat with Library Services staff 24/7

To Live Chat with a Librarian between 5:30PM and 9:30AM, please use Ask a Librarian on our Contact Us page

Suggest a resource

If you would like to suggest a book for the Library to purchase, please fill in the appropriate form on this webpage:

https://www.kcl.ac.uk/library/collections/Suggest-a-resource-form.aspx

About these pages

The purpose of this Library Guide is to make it easier for you to find (and read) the information that will be helpful during your time on the MACE programme.  The modules in the certificate and diploma focus your attention on the “educator” part of your professional role. As a consequence the information here is orientated towards educational practices and how these are applied in health care settings.  Clinical information can be found in our other Library Guides.

The tabs at the top of this page help you to explore the resources we have provided.

Resources

The BEME Collaboration

The Best Evidence Medical Education Collaboration works internationally to bring together those with an interest, disseminate information and produce systematic reviews.

What's going on in Medical Education?

The Joint Education and Training Library (JET) Library produces a monthly synopsis of medical education research that can be freely accessed. You can access current and back issues on their pages.

UpToDate

UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource used by clinicians to make point-of-care decisions. We hope that you will find this a valuable tool as you plan and prepare your teaching sessions as providing learners with up to date subject material is part of your scholarly practice as an educator.  

Access via http://www.uptodate.com/contents/search or via the Databases list on the Library webpage: http://www.kcl.ac.uk/library/  Note: To access off-campus, first register with UpToDate whilst on campus (or via the Global Desktop http://desktop.kcl.ac.uk). To maintain access to UpToDate you will need to login to it on a monthly basis from a KCL PC or via the Global Desktop.
 

The UptoDate Anywhere app is also available, you can register on up to two devices, including ipads, iphones, android and windows devices. More information available here: http://www.uptodate.com/home/uptodate-mobile-access 
 

Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy is an accessible source of anatomical knowledge with simple language and realistic, 3D visuals. It may be used as an adjunct to dissection as well as for students who need to re-learn clinically relevant anatomy for their surgical rotations. It is also a good resource for students who don't have access to dissection facilities, as the Video Atlas provides an appreciation of the real human body and a direct understanding of the mechanics of body movement. 

Access via http://aclandanatomy.com/index.aspx or via the Databases list on the Library webpage: http://www.kcl.ac.uk/library/  Note: King's username and password for access off campus.

Help with finding eresources

See our step-by-step videos for help in finding our eresources.

Library@home

Library Services provides access to a wide range of eresources for its students and staff: most of these databases and ejournals are available off campus, simply log in using your King's username and password.

picture of library search

Ejournals - Library Services subscribes to over 25,000 electronic journals which are available to staff and students of King's College - see our ejournals page for more details.

Databases - King's subscribes to a broad range of electronic resources which can help you find articles and information for your research.  The type of database you should use will depend on your subject area - see the databases page for links to key  databases.

Ebooks - Library Services provides you with access to over 340,000 ebooks covering a wide range of subject, most accessible off campus - see the ebooks page for our ebooks for your subject

Library Catalogues

Use the Library catalogue to find print and electronic library materials held by King's - see our guide below for help with searching.

Library Search is a single search interface enabling you to simultaneously search the library's collections and more; it is especially useful when you are new to a topic or need to widen your search - see our video introducing Library Search.

Help with accessing our eresources - see our step-by-step instructions for accessing some of our key eresources off campus.