Skip to main content

Library Guides

Education and Professional Studies: Home

Contact Us

Library Services icon

For general enquiries about Library Services, please email libraryservices@kcl.ac.uk

For IT-related enquiries, please email 8888@kcl.ac.uk

You can also have an online chat with Library Services staff 24/7

To Live Chat with a Librarian between 5:30PM and 9:30AM, please use Ask a Librarian on our Contact Us page

Welcome to the Subject Guide for Education

Welcome to the Education and Professional Studies Subject Guide.  Use this guide to help you track down the most useful resources for your course, studies and research including:

Past Examination Papers

Any available past exam papers will be found on KEATS.

Theses and dissertations

PhD theses submitted at King's are held in the Maughan Library store and can be found on the library catalogue. See how to request store material.

Masters dissertations in Education & Professional Studies are held in the short-loan collection in the Franklin-Wilkins Library and can be found on the library catalogue.

Use the Subsets link on the catalogue to limit the search to theses and dissertations only. Theses and dissertations cannot be taken outside the library.

Theses and dissertations from other institutions can be discovered using other databases: On Databases, select the Subject tab>under Subject select General Resources>under Sub-category select Theses + Dissertations>click GO.

Archives and Special Collections

Material that might be of interest to those studying education and related subjects is distributed among several collections including:

The College History Collection and the various medical collections also contain relevant material.

The Archives include the papers of the Nuffield Foundation Science Teaching Project (NFSTP) from 1949 until 1993. This details the development of 'O' and 'A' Level curricula, testing, and teaching notes.

Find out more about Archives and Special Collections.

Help with finding eresources

See our step-by-step videos for help in finding our eresources.

Library@home

Library Services provides access to a wide range of eresources for its students and staff: most of these databases and ejournals are available off campus, simply log in using your King's username and password.

picture of library search

Ejournals - Library Services subscribes to over 25,000 electronic journals which are available to staff and students of King's College - see our ejournals page for more details.

Databases - King's subscribes to a broad range of electronic resources which can help you find articles and information for your research.  The type of database you should use will depend on your subject area - see the databases page for links to key databases.

Ebooks - Library Services provides you with access to over 340,000 ebooks covering a wide range of subject, most accessible off campus - see the ebooks page for more information.

Library Catalogues

Use the Library catalogue to find print and electronic library materials held by King's - see our guide below for help with searching.

Library Search is a single search interface enabling you to simultaneously search the library's collections and more; it is especially useful when you are new to a topic or need to widen your search - see our video introducing Library Search.

Help with accessing our eresources - see our step-by-step instructions for accessing some of our key eresources off campus.