Skip to main content

Library Guides

English: Home

Overview

photo of books

Welcome to the Library Services support pages for the English department.

You will find lots of useful information on these pages about our print and online resources as well as the support on offer. Please use the tabs to navigate to more information about resources and services that are relevant to your subject area.

Contact Us

Library Services icon

For general enquiries about Library Services, please email libraryservices@kcl.ac.uk

For IT-related enquiries, please email 8888@kcl.ac.uk

You can also have an online chat with Library Services staff 24/7

To Live Chat with a Librarian between 5:30PM and 9:30AM, please use Ask a Librarian on our Contact Us page

Exam papers

The Maughan Library tends not to hold recent exam papers for the Faculty of Arts & Humanities. These can usually be accessed via KEATS. If you are unable to find exam papers for the last few years, please contact your departmental office.

A small archive of older exam papers (generally 2009 and before) is available in the short loan room but we are expecting to dispose of these soon as they do not necessarily reflect the current curriculum.

Trial access

We have temporary access to a range of resources relevant to Arts & Humanities.

Full details are available on our eresources trials page.

Do remember to fill in the trial feedback form as your comments influence which new resources we take on. 

Starting out with English

Image for Cambridge Companions Online

Special Collections for English

The Foyle Special Collections Library has extensive holdings of rare and historical material relating to English Literature and the history of the book.  These include:

Please see also our online exhibitions on Byron and book illustration .

English Image

Here is an example of an item held in Special Collections on this subject:
Charles Dickens. Bleak House. London, 1853. Foyle Special Collections Library

New to King's?

We are running some great activities to help you familiarise yourself with our Libraries and ensure you make the most of the many services and resources we offer you in your time at King's.

This includes Library Tours, Workshops, Elearning, Guides, etc.
Click on the New to King's button below to find out full details and sign up.

Help with finding eresources

See our step-by-step videos for help in finding our eresources.

Library@home

Library Services provides access to a wide range of eresources for its students and staff: most of these databases and ejournals are available off campus, simply log in using your King's username and password.

picture of library search

Ejournals - Library Services subscribes to over 25,000 electronic journals which are available to staff and students of King's College - see our ejournals page for more details.

Databases - King's subscribes to a broad range of electronic resources which can help you find articles and information for your research.  The type of database you should use will depend on your subject area - see the databases page for links to key databases.

Ebooks - Library Services provides you with access to over 340,000 ebooks covering a wide range of subject, most accessible off campus - see the ebooks page for more information.

Library Catalogues

Use the Library catalogue to find print and electronic library materials held by King's - see our guide below for help with searching.

Library Search is a single search interface enabling you to simultaneously search the library's collections and more; it is especially useful when you are new to a topic or need to widen your search - see our video introducing Library Search.

Help with accessing our eresources - see our step-by-step instructions for accessing some of our key eresources off campus.