Skip to main content

Library Guides

Geography: Home

Contact Us

Library Services icon

For general enquiries about Library Services, please email libraryservices@kcl.ac.uk

For IT-related enquiries, please email 8888@kcl.ac.uk

You can also have an online chat with Library Services staff 24/7

 

King's Libraries Twitter

Getting started finding Geography resources

Welcome to the Geography Subject Guide. Use the tabs above to help you find the most useful geography resources for your studies and research, including:

geography image courtesy of 1934.org

Special Collections

The Foyle Special Collections Library has extensive holdings of rare and historical material relating to Geography. These include:

  • Printed and manuscript accounts of voyages of exploration and discovery
  • Maps
  • Travel literature
  • Works on physical geography
  • Works on human geography.

Special collections which will be particularly of interest to geography topics include:

Much of this material is from the historical collection of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, transferred to King’s in 2007.

Africa picture

Here is just one example of an item held in Special Collections on this subject:
Nicolas Sanson. L’Afrique en plusieurs cartes nouvelles.  Paris, 1662. Foyle Special Collections Library

Help with finding eresources

See our step-by-step videos for help in finding our eresources.

Library@home

Library Services provides access to a wide range of eresources for its students and staff: most of these databases and ejournals are available off campus, simply log in using your King's username and password.

picture of library search

Ejournals - Library Services subscribes to over 25,000 electronic journals which are available to staff and students of King's College - see our ejournals page for more details.

Databases - King's subscribes to a broad range of electronic resources which can help you find articles and information for your research.  The type of database you should use will depend on your subject area - see the databases page for links to key databases.

Ebooks - Library Services provides you with access to over 340,000 ebooks covering a wide range of subject, most accessible off campus - see the ebooks page for more information.

Library Catalogues

Use the Library catalogue to find print and electronic library materials held by King's - see our guide below for help with searching.

Library Search is a single search interface enabling you to simultaneously search the library's collections and more; it is especially useful when you are new to a topic or need to widen your search - see our video introducing Library Search.

Help with accessing our eresources - see our step-by-step instructions for accessing some of our key eresources off campus.