Skip to main content

Library Guides

Nursing and Midwifery: Home

Contact Us

Library Services icon

Feel free to chat to us in person, by phone or by using our 24/7 live online chat - details are on our Contact Us page

For general enquiries about Library Services, you can also email libraryservices@kcl.ac.uk

For IT-related enquiries, contact details are available on the IT Help and Support page, or you can email 8888@kcl.ac.uk

Other Libraries and Professional Associations

This is a list of professional bodies and organisations that you may wish to join. They often provide online resources for members and a number have their own libraries based in London:

Royal College of Nursing

Royal College of Midwifery

The Nursing Midwifery Council

Royal College of Obstetrics and Gynaecology 

The King's Fund

The Wellcome Trust

Welcome

nursing image coutesy of activehistory.ca

Welcome to the Nursing and Midwifery subject guide. Here, you will find a wealth of information to support you in your studies and research.  This guide will help you with:

- finding materials (books, journals and more) relevant to your subject

- using our online resources

- carrying out a literature search

- managing references

- using bibliographic management software

New resources

Putting Evidence into PracticeOncology Nursing Society logo

The Oncology Nursing Society has designed this resource to provide evidence-based interventions for patient care in the field of oncology nursing. These resources can be used to plan individual patient care, patient education, nursing education, quality improvement, and research. PEP evidence syntheses answer the question of what interventions are effective in preventing or treating the outcome of interest. Topics are patient-centred outcomes, such as symptoms, that are selected by a survey of ONS members and determination of availability of evidence in the topic. Topic teams categorize the interventions by consensus application of the ONS PEP Classification Schema into seven colour coded categories. Click on the following link to explore: PEP website. Below is an example of a patient-centred topic on PEP:

Example of PEP

 

Accessing nursing and midwifery dissertations

Photograph of a magnifying glass and the word researchIf you are looking for excellent examples of past dissertations produced by nursing and midwifery students, a selection is available in the short loan collection in Franklin Wilkins Library.

Ask staff on the Enquiry Desk for further information.

You also have access to past dissertations produced by nursing and midwifery students at the University of London, available through Senate House Library. You will need to register as a member of Senate House Library before you can access these resources. 

New to King's?

Photo of chick hatching from egg

We are running some great activities in September and early October to help you familiarise yourself with our Libraries and the many services and resources we offer.

Why not book onto a 'Getting Started' workshop or 'Library Essentials', or work through our 'Getting Started' e-learning?

Click on the 'New to King's' button below to find out full details and sign up.

Help with finding eresources

Library@home

Library Services provides access to a wide range of eresources for its students and staff: most of these databases and ejournals are available off campus, simply log in using your King's username and password.

picture of library search

Ejournals - Library Services subscribes to over 25,000 electronic journals which are available to staff and students of King's College - see our ejournals page for more details.

Databases - King's subscribes to a broad range of electronic resources which can help you find articles and information for your research.  The type of database you should use will depend on your subject area - see the databases page for links to key databases.

Ebooks - Library Services provides you with access to over 340,000 ebooks covering a wide range of subject, most accessible off campus - see the ebooks page for our ebooks for your subject.

Library Catalogues

Use the Library catalogue to find print and electronic library materials held by King's - see our guide below for help with searching.

Library Search is a single search interface enabling you to simultaneously search the library's collections and more; it is especially useful when you are new to a topic or need to widen your search - see our video introducing Library Search.

Help with accessing our eresources - see our step-by-step instructions for accessing some of our key eresources off campus.