Feel free to chat to us in person, by phone or by using our 24/7 live online chat - details are on our Contact Us page
For general enquiries about Library Services, you can also email email@example.com
Welcome to the Physics Subject Guide. Use the tabs above to help you find out how to access and make the best of the physics library resources for your studies and research.
Within this guide, you will find information on:
The Foyle Special Collections Library holds rare and historical material on physics, including the library of Charles Wheatstone (1802-75), co-inventor of the electric telegraph and Professor of Experimental Philosophy at King’s.
Special collections of particular interest to Natural & Maths Sciences include:
Here is just one example of an item held in Special Collections on this subject:
Jules Gavarret. Télégraphie électrique . Paris, 1861. Foyle Special Collections Library
Library Services provides access to a wide range of eresources for its students and staff: most of these databases and ejournals are available off campus, simply log in using your King's username and password.
Ejournals - Library Services subscribes to over 25,000 electronic journals which are available to staff and students of King's College - see our ejournals page for more details.
Databases - King's subscribes to a broad range of electronic resources which can help you find articles and information for your research. The type of database you should use will depend on your subject area - see the databases page for links to key databases.
Ebooks - Library Services provides you with access to over 340,000 ebooks covering a wide range of subject, most accessible off campus - see the ebooks page for our ebooks for your subject
Use the Library catalogue to find print and electronic library materials held by King's - see our guide below for help with searching.
Library Search is a single search interface enabling you to simultaneously search the library's collections and more; it is especially useful when you are new to a topic or need to widen your search - see our video introducing Library Search.
Help with accessing our eresources - see our step-by-step instructions for accessing some of our key eresources off campus.