Skip to main content

Library Guides

Social Science Health and Medicine: Home

Contact Us

Library Services icon

For general enquiries about Library Services, please email libraryservices@kcl.ac.uk

For IT-related enquiries, please email 8888@kcl.ac.uk

You can also have an online chat with Library Services staff 24/7

To Live Chat with a Librarian between 5:30PM and 9:30AM, please use Ask a Librarian on our Contact Us page

Welcome

Welcome to the Social Science, Health and Medicine Subject Guide.  Here you will find the most useful library resources for SSHM for your studies and research, including: books & ebooks, journals and databases, statistics, newspapers, websites, plagiarism & referencing, using other libraries and training & support.

image of nurse reading courtesy of mhs.group.shef.ac.uk

Past Examination Papers

Past exam papers for Gerontology are available on the Departmental website (internal only). 

Theses and dissertations

All King's PhD theses and some Masters dissertations are listed on the library catalogue. Use the Subsetslink on the catalogue to limit the search to theses and dissertations only.

PhD theses submitted at King's are held in the Maughan Library store. See how to request store material.

Masters dissertations in Gerontology and Public Policy are held in the short-loan collection in the Franklin-Wilkins Library.

Theses and dissertations cannot be taken outside the library.

Theses and dissertations from other institutions can be discovered using other databases: On the Databases page, select the Subject tab. Under Subject select General Resources. Under Sub-category select Theses + Dissertations. Click GO.

Archives and Special Collections

The Archives and Special Collections hold a number of historical medical collections. They include archives and historical collections of the King's College School of Medicine and Dentistry, St Thomas’ Hospital, Guy's Hospital Medical School and the IoPPN. The Archives also hold records of the Age Concern Institute of Gerontology.

Library Services news and events

Loading

New to King's?

We are running some great activities to help you familiarise yourself with our Libraries and ensure you make the most of the many services and resources we offer you in your time at King's.

This includes Library Tours, Workshops, Elearning, Guides, etc.
Click on the New to King's button below to find out full details and sign up.

Help with finding eresources

See our step-by-step videos for help in finding our eresources.

Library@home

Library Services provides access to a wide range of eresources for its students and staff: most of these databases and ejournals are available off campus, simply log in using your King's username and password.

picture of library search

Ejournals - Library Services subscribes to over 25,000 electronic journals which are available to staff and students of King's College - see our ejournals page for more details.

Databases - King's subscribes to a broad range of electronic resources which can help you find articles and information for your research.  The type of database you should use will depend on your subject area - see the databases page for links to key  databases.

Ebooks - Library Services provides you with access to over 340,000 ebooks covering a wide range of subject, most accessible off campus - see the ebooks page for our ebooks for your subject

Library Catalogues

Use the Library catalogue to find print and electronic library materials held by King's - see our guide below for help with searching.

Library Search is a single search interface enabling you to simultaneously search the library's collections and more; it is especially useful when you are new to a topic or need to widen your search - see our video introducing Library Search.

Help with accessing our eresources - see our step-by-step instructions for accessing some of our key eresources off campus.