Skip to main content

Library Guides

Theology & Religious Studies: Home

Overview

photo of books

Welcome to the Library Services support pages for the Theology & Religious Studies department.

You will find lots of useful information on these pages about our print and online resources as well as the support on offer. Please use the tabs to navigate to more information about resources and services that are relevant to your subject area.

Contact Us

Library Services icon

For general enquiries about Library Services, please email libraryservices@kcl.ac.uk

For IT-related enquiries, please email 8888@kcl.ac.uk

You can also have an online chat with Library Services staff 24/7

 

Trial access

We have temporary access to a range of resources relevant to Arts & Humanities.

Full details are available on our eresources trials page.

Do remember to fill in the trial feedback form as your comments influence which new resources we take on. 

Exam papers

The Maughan Library tends not to hold recent exam papers for the Faculty of Arts & Humanities. These can usually be accessed via KEATS. If you are unable to find exam papers for the last few years, please contact your departmental office.

A small archive of older exam papers (generally 2009 and before) is available in the short loan room but we are expecting to dispose of these soon as they do not necessarily reflect the current curriculum.

Associate of King's College materials

You will find recordings of AKC programme lectures in our libraries. Searching for 'AKC' on the Library catalogue or Library Search will display the details of all the materials we hold.


Please note, you are expected to attend lectures and the DVD and CD recordings are only available for students who are not able to attend on odd weeks, for example due to illness.

Starting out with Theology & Religious Studies

image for cambridge companions online

Special Collections for Theology

The Foyle Special Collections Library has extensive holdings of rare and historical material relating to Theology and Religious Studies, particularly Christianity and Judaism. These include:

  • The Marsden Collection, comprising items from the library of William Marsden (1754-1836), orientalist and collector, which contains many rare Bibles in languages ranging from Latvian to Tamil
  • The Box Collection, comprising the library of Canon George Herbert Box (1869-1933), Professor of Hebrew at King's and covering Old Testament theology, Biblical archaeology, Judaism and ancient languages of the Middle East
  • The Rainbow Collection, comprising the library  of Dr Bernarr Rainbow (1914-98), Director of Music at the College of St Mark and St John, Chelsea, and containing Christian and Jewish hymnals and other liturgical music
  • The Ratcliff Collection, comprising the library of Canon Edward Craddock Ratcliff (1896-1967), Professor of Liturgical Theology at King’s, and covering Christian liturgical and doctrinal theology, Biblical scholarship and the early history of Christianity
  • The Relton Collection, comprising the library of Herbert Maurice Relton (1882-1971), Professor of Dogmatic Theology at King’s and covering Christian dogmatic theology, spiritualism and ecclesiastical history.
  •  HG Adler Collection
  •  Box Collection
  •  Miscellaneous Collection
  •  Rare Books Collection

Please see also our online exhibition on translating the Bible .

Bible image

Here is just one example of an item held in Special Collections on this subject:
The Holy Bible, conteyning the Old Testament, and the New: newly translated out of the originall tongues: and with the former translations diligently compared and revised. London, 1613. Foyle Special Collections Library

New to King's?

We are running some great activities to help you familiarise yourself with our Libraries and ensure you make the most of the many services and resources we offer you in your time at King's.

This includes Library Tours, Workshops, Elearning, Guides, etc.
Click on the New to King's button below to find out full details and sign up.

Help with finding eresources

See our step-by-step videos for help in finding our eresources.

Library@home

Library Services provides access to a wide range of eresources for its students and staff: most of these databases and ejournals are available off campus, simply log in using your King's username and password.

picture of library search

Ejournals - Library Services subscribes to over 25,000 electronic journals which are available to staff and students of King's College - see our ejournals page for more details.

Databases - King's subscribes to a broad range of electronic resources which can help you find articles and information for your research.  The type of database you should use will depend on your subject area - see the databases page for links to key  databases.

Ebooks - Library Services provides you with access to over 340,000 ebooks covering a wide range of subject, most accessible off campus - see the ebooks page for our ebooks for your subject

Library Catalogues

Use the Library catalogue to find print and electronic library materials held by King's - see our guide below for help with searching.

Library Search is a single search interface enabling you to simultaneously search the library's collections and more; it is especially useful when you are new to a topic or need to widen your search - see our video introducing Library Search.

Help with accessing our eresources - see our step-by-step instructions for accessing some of our key eresources off campus.