Skip to main content

Library Guides

War Studies and Defence Studies: Home

Contact Us

Library Services icon

For general enquiries about Library Services, please email libraryservices@kcl.ac.uk

For IT-related enquiries, please email 8888@kcl.ac.uk

You can also have an online chat with Library Services staff 24/7

To Live Chat with a Librarian between 5:30PM and 9:30AM, please use Ask a Librarian on our Contact Us page

King's Libraries Twitter

Welcome to the War Studies Subject Guide

Welcome to the War Studies Subject Guide.  Here you will find the most useful library resources for war studies to help you with your studies and research:

archive photo of a battle  books & ebooks
  journals / databases /training & support.
  newspapers /statistics /websites
   referencing & plagiarism /using other libraries
 

Theses and dissertations

PhD theses submitted at King's are held in the Maughan Library store and can be found on the library catalogue. See how to request store material.

Masters dissertations are not currently held in the Maughan Library. Students should contact the War Studies department office for access to past Masters dissertations.

Theses and dissertations cannot be taken outside the library.

Theses and dissertations from other institutions can be discovered using other databases: On Databases, select the Subject tab. Under Subject select General Resources. Under Sub-category select Theses + Dissertations. Click GO.

Past examination papers

Special Collections and Archives

Liddell Hart Centre for Military Archives
LHCMA 50th Anniversary blog

The Liddell Hart Centre for Military Archives is a leading repository for research into modern defence policy in Britain. The core of this collection is the private papers of over 700 senior defence personnel who held office from 1900 onwards. The Papers of Capt Sir Basil Henry Liddell Hart (1895-1970) contain a voluminous amount of material. Particular strengths include colonial India, the training of servicemen, the Western Front in World War One and conflicts in North West Europe during World War Two, such as the campaign in Italy, special forces units, the conflict in Greece, South Asia and elsewhere. More modern conflicts are covered by extensive documentary interview materials. Catalogues and research guides are available, which cover many areas of war study and provide routes into deeper study. A growing body of digitised content is available too. See the LHCMA website for lists of collections, contact details and information for visitors.
 
Foyle Special Collections Library houses over 150,000 printed works, as well as maps, slides, sound recordings and manuscript material. Its collections, built up over centuries by purchase, gift and bequest, contain many unique items and cover all subject areas. Collections of interest to War Studies include:
Remagen image
 
Here is just one example of an item held in Special Collections on this subject:
Great Britain. War Office. The Rhine system.  London, 1943-44. Foyle Special Collections Library

New to King's?

We are running some great activities to help you familiarise yourself with our Libraries and ensure you make the most of the many services and resources we offer you in your time at King's.

This includes Library Tours, Workshops, Elearning, Guides, etc.
Click on the New to King's button below to find out full details and sign up.

Help with finding eresources

See our step-by-step videos for help in finding our eresources.

Library@home

Library Services provides access to a wide range of eresources for its students and staff: most of these databases and ejournals are available off campus, simply log in using your King's username and password.

picture of library search

Ejournals - Library Services subscribes to over 25,000 electronic journals which are available to staff and students of King's College - see our ejournals page for more details.

Databases - King's subscribes to a broad range of electronic resources which can help you find articles and information for your research.  The type of database you should use will depend on your subject area - see the databases page for links to key  databases.

Ebooks - Library Services provides you with access to over 340,000 ebooks covering a wide range of subject, most accessible off campus - see the ebooks page for our ebooks for your subject

Library Catalogues

Use the Library catalogue to find print and electronic library materials held by King's - see our guide below for help with searching.

Library Search is a single search interface enabling you to simultaneously search the library's collections and more; it is especially useful when you are new to a topic or need to widen your search - see our video introducing Library Search.

Help with accessing our eresources - see our step-by-step instructions for accessing some of our key eresources off campus.