LibGuides: KLaSS Online 2020: Finding the items you need to read with your ReadingLists online

Contact Us

For general enquiries about Libraries & Collections, you can also email library@kcl.ac.uk

If you would like to contact IT, their details are below:

IT Help and Support page

Or email them at 88888@kcl.ac.uk

Icons used by these guides are from Flaticon.com.

Artist credits: Dinosoft Labs, Becris, Icon Pond, Alfredo Hernandez, Vectors Market, and Freepik.

This guide is brought to you by:

Use and reuse license for our guides

The material in these guides is licensed under:

Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike
CC BY-NC-SA

Find out more at the Creative Commons:

Creative Commons Licenses

Online books and articles held in King's Library Collections

Libraries & Collections provides a range of books and online journals to support your studies and research. All of our print books, and most journal articles can be located with Library Search:

Library Search @ King's
Find books and full text journal articles on your subject online!

New to using Library Search?

You can find online tutorials on using Library Search to find books and journals around your subject. Find them in the Getting started with the Library page of this guide:

Getting Started With the Library
New to King's, or returning to study? Find out how to access your Reading Lists, look up books and journals and much more!

Getting started with our online book collections

These online book collections won't be searched by Library Search but contain thousands of titles on a huge variety of subjects. Check each collection's description for details of borrowing procedures and limitations.

Don't forget: You can browse the full range of databases and resources with the A-Z databases list:

A-Z Databases for online books
A complete list of every online book platform available at King's.

ACLS Humanities eBooks This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB) is an online collection of approximately 4,000 high quality humanities books.

These titles are offered by the ACLS in collaboration with 30 learned societies, over 100 contributing publishers, and the Michigan Publishing division at the University of Michigan Library. The result is an online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books in the Humanities, recommended and reviewed by scholars.
EBook Central (Proquest) - King's This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access
Ebook Central is an ebook platform. King’s have purchased over 21,200 titles covering a range of subjects and provides further access to over 176,350 titles.
Oxford Medicine Online (OMO) - Kings This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
Oxford Medicine Online is a collection of online medical resources which cover every stage in a medical career. The collection covers prestigious digital medical resources from Oxford University Press, including world-renowned titles covering a variety of specialty areas ranging from anaesthesiology to nursing, and from dentistry to neurology. Available on the Oxford Academic platform, content is easy to navigate, accessible on any device, and supports a myriad of tools and features, images and videos, diagrams and charts, and more.

King's has access to over 1700 books including Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine, Oxford Textbook of Medicine and Oxford Clinical Guidelines.
Springer Humanities, Social Sciences & Law ebooks This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
Springer Humanities, Social Sciences & Law ebook Collections provides access to ebooks and chapters in the areas of Philosophy of Science, Law, Phenomenology, Educational Research and Higher Education. Coverage from 1981 to present.

New to using ebooks?

You can find online tutorials on locating, opening and reading ebooks available at King's. Find them in the Getting Started With The Library section of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Enrol onto LIB262: Advanced Searching for Systematic Reviews, 6-week online course from Libraries & Collections

Are you a Taught (PGT) or Research (PGR) Postgraduate student in the Health Sciences starting a Systematic Review project? Not sure how or where to get started?

Libraries & Collections offer a six week online course to help students and researchers develop their searching skills to complete a Systematic Review. You'll work in small groups with other learners, with support from the Library's Learning Design team throughout. Places are limited to 80, so please see the booking link below!

The next iteration of this course starts on: Monday 20 February 2023

Bookings close on: Saturday 18 February 2023

My Reading Lists

The MyReadingLists system will let you look up online lists of books, journals and websites your lecturers expect you to read for your lectures and seminars:

Reading Lists
Type in your module code or keyword search for your online Reading List!

New to MyReadingLists?

Find out how to look up your module reading lists in the Getting started with the Library page of this guide:

Getting Started With the Library
New to King's, or returning to study? Find out how to access your Reading Lists, look up books and journals and much more!

I need more help, where can I go?

KLaSS: Support Forums for Finding Academic Information
How do I get support for finding literature for my systematic review / literature review?
How do I choose the best source of information on Arts & Sciences / Law / Health topics for my work?
My tutor says I need to find high quality journal articles, how do I do this?

New to using KLaSS forums?

Make sure you're enrolled on KLaSS by using the link below:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Book a 30 minute online 1:1 with a Librarian

Our online 1-1 appointments are run using MS Teams. You do not need to have MS Teams installed on your computer or device to book and run an online appointment. Make sure to include your email address in the format firstname.surname@kcl.ac.uk to help us send the invitations accurately.

These sessions are designed to help you with database queries, literature searches, and/or general support with navigating our online resources during your time at King's College London or while working for one of our partnered NHS Trusts.

Please note: King's librarians cannot assist with proofreading enquiries.

For support with systematic reviews, King's students and staff can use our online forum on KEATS; see the 'Get Help Online with our Forum' box elsewhere on this page. 1-1 appointments are not intended for supporting systematic reviews, other than helping with basics like database search techniques.

Before seeking a 1-1 appointment with a librarian, we encourage all library users to head to our online support channels for their literature search and online resource enquiries. Answers can be found there first, and the 1-1 appointment service is not always available when you may need it. King's students and staff can find in-depth support via our KLaSS elearning module on KEATs; the online forum (see above); or the email or Live Chat options on our Contact Us webpages.

Find a 1-1 Appointment