Skip to main content

Library Guides

Natural & Mathematical Sciences: Finding journal articles in databases

Introduction to database searching

If you are searching for a topic or subject rather than a specific article you might like to search one of our databases. These often focus on a particular subject area or discipline and reduce the amount of results you receive from irrelevant subjects.

Databases are collections of resources such as journal articles and conference papers, and also sometimes book chapters and reports. If you are doing a literature search or systematic review they are a key resource to use.

There are two main kinds of database:

  • Bibliographic - they won't show you the full paper straight away, but you can often read an abstract and see the author details. You'll need to check with SFX if King's has access to the journal article
  • Full text - will let you open and read the article directly from the list of results

Databases by subject - NMS

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Biomedical Engineering topics. For a more complete list of databases related to Medicine, visit the A-Z list of databases for Biomedical Engineering:

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Chemistry topics. For a more complete list of databases related to Chemistry, visit the A-Z list of databases for Chemistry:

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Informatics topics. For a more complete list of databases related to Informatics, visit the A-Z list of databases for Informatics:

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Mathematics topics. For a more complete list of databases related to Mathematics, visit the A-Z list of databases for Mathematics:

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Physics topics. For a more complete list of databases related to Physics, visit the A-Z list of databases for Physics:

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:

Loading ...

Getting the full text

If a database lists something you want to read but does not provide the full text look for a button that says 'SFX@King's' Image of SFX button. SFX will look up the article you have clicked to check if King's subscribes to its journal. 

King's doesn't subscribe:

Submit an Inter Library Loan for the item. Learn how to submit an Inter Library Loan in the Getting Started With Your Studies section of KLaSS:

I can't see the SFX button

If the SFX button is not available then you should use Library Search to see if the article or book is available through another database.

New to using Library Search?

You can find online tutorials on using Library Search to find books and journals around your subject. Find them in the Getting Started With Your Studies section of KLaSS: