Temporary online application allowing access to Senate House Library eresources
Access to e-resources during the coronavirus outbreak.
Senate House Library are offering a temporary application which will allow King's students to register remotely for e-resource access on a four monthly rolling membership.
All you will need for validation is your King's email address. Preferably, please use Chrome as your browser when filling in the sign up form.
This is envisaged as a temporary fix during the coronavirus outbreak to allow access to SHL e-resources.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
African Diaspora 1860-PresentThis link opens in a new windowKing’s username and password for access off campus. Please note to log in off campus you need to find the resource you want to access and then when you see the message 'This is a sample' select 'See all options for accessing the full version of this content'.
After the abolition of slavery, African diasporic communities formed throughout the world. The circumstances and histories of the establishment of each community were quite different, and as a result, the experiences, cultures and ideologies of the members of these communities vary significantly.
African Diaspora, 1860-present brings these communities to life through never-before digitized primary source documents, secondary sources and videos from around the world with a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France. With content from key partners like The National Archives and Records Administration (US), National Archives at Kew (UK), Royal Anthropological Institute, and Senate House Library (University of London), this first release of African Diaspora, 1860-Present offers an unparalleled view into the experiences and contributions of individuals in the Diaspora, as told through their own accounts. Future releases will include further insights into African diasporic communities with the papers of C.L.R. James, the writings of George Padmore and many more sources.
Major themes include:
Migrations of people of African descent to countries around the world, from the 19th century to present day.
Diasporic communities including Afro-Brazilian communities in Rio de Janeiro, Black British communities in London, Sidi communities in India, Afro-Caribbean communities in Trinidad, Haiti, and Cuba.
Movements and ideologies, including the Back to Africa movement and the Pan-African movement.
Alpha Vantage offers programmatic access to UK, US, and other international financial and economic datasets, covering asset classes such as stocks, ETFs, fiat currencies (forex), and cryptocurrencies. Both raw price data and derived quantitative signals are supported. Data access channels include web-based HTTP access, Excel, and other spreadsheet options such as Google Sheets. King's College members can refer to the official database documentation or this best practices guide for technical support and data integration guidance.
Black Lives Matter (Exact Editions)This link opens in a new windowA freely available Black Lives Matter learning resource, featuring a rich collection of handpicked articles from the digital archives of over 50 different publications.
Black Thought and CultureThis link opens in a new windowKing’s username and password for access off campus. Please note to log in off campus you need to find the resource you want to access and then when you see the message 'This is a sample' select 'See all options for accessing the full version of this content'.
Black Thought and Culture provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art. The collection begins with the works of Frederick Douglass and is targeted to include the works of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Zora Neale Hurston, Ralph Bunche, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis,Thurgood Marshall, James Baldwin, Jesse Jackson, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, Cornel West, Michael Eric Dysonand many others. When complete, the collection will include the first-ever complete full run of the Black Panther newspaper.
Black Thought and Culture is intended to present a wide range of previously inaccessible material, including letters by athletes such as Jackie Robinson, correspondence by Ida B. Wells, prefatory essays by Amiri Baraka, political leaflets by Huey Newton, and interviews with Paul Robeson. Much of the material is fugitive, and almost twenty percent of the collection has not been published previously.
This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.
King's username and password for access off campus.
ClinicalKey Student Pharmacy is an innovative, new portfolio of eBooks and images combined with interactive tools and analytics to support teaching and learning in pharmacy programmes.
Content covers the specialities of Pharmacology and Toxicology including following tiles:
Dale's Pharmacology Condensed
Calculations and Pharmaceutics in Practice
Anatomy and Physiology, Adapted International Edition
Research Methods in Pharmacy Practice
Fundamentals of Pharmacognosy and Phytotherapy
Pathophysiology: The Biologic Basis for Disease in Adults and Children
Evidence-Based Practice Across Health Professions
Pharmacy OSCEs and Competency-Based Assessments
Trease and Evans' Pharmacognosy
Clinical Pharmacy and Therapeutics
The Economist Intelligence Unit has published Country Reports since 1952, covering almost 200 countries. Each report presents detailed statistics alongside expert commentary and forecasting from the EIU’s analysts. This database presents the historical reports up to 1995, with all data from the statistical tables fully captured and downloadable in spreadsheet form. It is a unique archive of analysis and explanation of political, economic and commercial developments, together with historical statistical data.
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews.
King's has access to:
EIMA1: Music, Radio and The Stage
EIMA2: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1)
EIMA3: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 2)
Coverage: 1880 - 2015
The UK Historical Data repository has been developed jointly by the Bank of England, ESCoE and the Office for National Statistics. The site is both a repository of historical UK data and relevant statistical publications, as well as a hub that links to other data websites and sources. The focus is on macroeconomic and financial market data but the site includes a range of disaggregated economic data at a sector, industry and regional level.
JoVE Core BiologyThis link opens in a new windowKings username and password for access off campus
JoVE Core series brings biology to life through over 300 concise and easy-to-understand animated video lessons that explain key concepts in biology, plus more than 150 scientist-in-action videos that show actual research experiments conducted in today’s laboratories.
Content is best searched for by subject on JSTOR. The Thematic collections comprise:
Lives of Literature - a collection of c.100 academic journals devoted to the deep study of writers and texts associated with core literary movements.
Security Studies - the collection gathers academic and open policy research on international and national security problems and foreign policy issues, encompassing perspectives from around the world. It comprises c. 70 journals, 10 open access journals and up to 20,000 open reports from more than 100 institutes.
Sustainability - a collection of academic and open policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society that spans more than 30 disciplines. It comprises c.100 journals and over 11,000 open research reports from more than 30 policy institutes
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
A searchable archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries. The publications were originally written by/for a wider populace rather than academic/cultural elites and offer insights into, for example, the influence of belief systems on public life, the history of popular religious movements and the means used by religions to gain adherents and communicate their ideologies. A wide variety of religions and denominations are represented, allowing for comparative studies of religions during this period.
The collection consists of 76 sub-collections comprising more than 27,000 objects and 190,000 pages of documents and images focusing on colonial rule, the dispersion of exiles, and international intervention, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. Material comes from archives and libraries around the world.
This online database shares eyewitness accounts from the Holocaust, many of which have never been available to the public online before and have been translated, by a team of the Library’s volunteers, into English for the first time.
The Wiener Holocaust Library, founded in 1933, is Britain’s national archive on the Holocaust and genocide. The Library provides a resource to oppose antisemitism and other forms of prejudice and intolerance. Our mission is to be a living memorial to the evils of the past by ensuring that our wealth of materials is put at the service of the future.
Theology and Society OnlineThis link opens in a new windowTheology and Society is a comprehensive study of Islamic intellectual and religious history, focusing on Muslim theology. With its emphasis on the eighth and ninth centuries CE, it remains the most detailed study of scholarly networks in the early phase of the formation of Islam.
King's username and password for access off campus
Wiley Digital Archives RCP Part I spans from the RCP founding charter to 1862, the foundations of modern medicine and much more.
It complements and expands on content in WDA BAAS to support research and teaching from rare diseases to recipe books, vaccination, numerous related topics across the history of science, medicine, and medical humanities.
It includes interdisciplinary perspectives – covering health and climate, nutrition, sanitation, mental health among many others. Highlights include:
Healers and domestic medicine
The early days of Anatomy
It comprises more than 86,000 objects in 30 sub-collections, providing visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites.The materials in World Heritage Sites: Africa serve researchers in African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, Diaspora studies, folklore and literature, geography, and history, as well as those focused on geomatics, advanced visual and spatial technologies, historic preservation, and urban planning.