Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
African Diaspora 1860-Present This link opens in a new window
New

After the abolition of slavery, African diasporic communities formed throughout the world. The circumstances and histories of the establishment of each community were quite different, and as a result, the experiences, cultures and ideologies of the members of these communities vary significantly.

African Diaspora, 1860-present brings these communities to life through never-before digitized primary source documents, secondary sources and videos from around the world with a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France. With content from key partners like The National Archives and Records Administration (US), National Archives at Kew (UK), Royal Anthropological Institute, and Senate House Library (University of London), this first release of African Diaspora, 1860-Present offers an unparalleled view into the experiences and contributions of individuals in the Diaspora, as told through their own accounts. Future releases will include further insights into African diasporic communities with the papers of C.L.R. James, the writings of George Padmore and many more sources.
 

Major themes include:
Migrations of people of African descent to countries around the world, from the 19th century to present day.
Diasporic communities including Afro-Brazilian communities in Rio de Janeiro, Black British communities in London, Sidi communities in India, Afro-Caribbean communities in Trinidad, Haiti, and Cuba.
Movements and ideologies, including the Back to Africa movement and the Pan-African movement.

Alpha Vantage Stock API (Financial Database) This link opens in a new window
New

Alpha Vantage offers programmatic access to UK, US, and other international financial and economic datasets, covering asset classes such as stocks, ETFs, fiat currencies (forex), and cryptocurrencies. Both raw price data and derived quantitative signals are supported. Data access channels include web-based HTTP access, Excel, and other spreadsheet options such as Google Sheets. King's College members can refer to the official database documentation or this best practices guide for technical support and data integration guidance.

Black Lives Matter (Exact Editions) This link opens in a new window
New

A freely available Black Lives Matter learning resource, featuring a rich collection of handpicked articles from the digital archives of over 50 different publications.

Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
New

Black Thought and Culture provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art. The collection begins with the works of Frederick Douglass and is targeted to include the works of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Zora Neale Hurston, Ralph Bunche, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis,Thurgood Marshall, James Baldwin, Jesse Jackson, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, Cornel West, Michael Eric Dysonand many others. When complete, the collection will include the first-ever complete full run of the Black Panther newspaper.


Black Thought and Culture is intended to present a wide range of previously inaccessible material, including letters by athletes such as Jackie Robinson, correspondence by Ida B. Wells, prefatory essays by Amiri Baraka, political leaflets by Huey Newton, and interviews with Paul Robeson. Much of the material is fugitive, and almost twenty percent of the collection has not been published previously.

British Periodicals (Collections 1, 2, 3 & 4) This link opens in a new window
New

This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

New

The Chicago Defender has been a leading voice of the black community well beyond the Windy City, with more than two thirds of its readership outside Chicago. 

The newspaper was a proponent of The Great Migration, the move of over 1.5 million African Americans from the segregated South to the industrial North from 1915 to 1925. It reported on the Red Summer race riots of 1919 and editorialized for anti-lynching legislation and the integration of blacks into the U.S. military. 

 

New

Children’s Magazine Archive presents 15+ digital back-files of magazines spanning 1866 to 2020*. Researchers can immerse themselves in the evolution of childhood, culture, and education through publications that were originally aimed at young readers. 

With material ranging from tales of adventure and exploration to thought-provoking articles and engaging visuals, this archive offers a unique lens on the cultural, societal, and educational dynamics of this period.

Children’s Magazine Archive provides a wealth of information for researchers interested in exploring topics such as advertising, marketing, arts, literature, education, sociology, and more.
 

New

Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement is a welcome addition to the field of disability studies. This collection brings together key primary and secondary materials for students and researchers on the history of disability. Disability in the Modern World is an important resource for libraries to better support diverse scholarship.

Economist Intelligence Unit This link opens in a new window
New

The Economist Intelligence Unit has published Country Reports since 1952, covering almost 200 countries. Each report presents detailed statistics alongside expert commentary and forecasting from the EIU’s analysts. This database presents the historical reports up to 1995, with all data from the statistical tables fully captured and downloadable in spreadsheet form. It is a unique archive of analysis and explanation of political, economic and commercial developments, together with historical statistical data.

Coverage: 1952 - 1995

New
Alternate Name(s) EIMA

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews.

King's has access to:

EIMA1: Music, Radio and The Stage
EIMA2: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1)
EIMA3: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 2)

Global Plants This link opens in a new window
New

Global Plants consists of 66 sub-collections comprising nearly three million high-resolution type specimens and related materials from community contributors around the world.

JoVE Core Biology This link opens in a new window
New

JoVE Core series brings biology to life through over 300 concise and easy-to-understand animated video lessons that explain key concepts in biology, plus more than 150 scientist-in-action videos that show actual research experiments conducted in today’s laboratories.

New

Video protocols and concepts of basic experiments in biology

Video protocols and concepts of advanced experiments in biology

JSTOR Thematic Collections This link opens in a new window
New

Content is best searched for by subject on JSTOR. The Thematic collections comprise:

Lives of Literature - a collection of c.100 academic journals devoted to the deep study of writers and texts associated with core literary movements.

Security Studies - the collection gathers academic and open policy research on international and national security problems and foreign policy issues, encompassing perspectives from around the world. It comprises c. 70 journals, 10 open access journals and up to 20,000 open reports from more than 100 institutes.

Sustainability - a collection of academic and open policy research on environmental stresses and their impact on society that spans more than 30 disciplines. It comprises c.100 journals and over 11,000 open research reports from more than 30 policy institutes
 

LGBT Magazine Archive - Collection 2 This link opens in a new window
New

A great source for researching LGBTQ+ history and culture. Magazines serving the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and related communities have been one of the principal sources of documentation on LGBTQ+ cultures, lives, and events. 
Dating back to the 1950s, this digital collection features major periodicals devoted to a variety of readerships, covering prominent topics like health, lifestyle, politics, social attitudes, law, activism, LGBTQ+rights, arts and literature. You’ll get access to six decades of backfiles that libraries haven’t typically collected.

Religious Magazine Archive‎ (1845 - 2015) This link opens in a new window
New

A searchable archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries. The publications were originally written by/for a wider populace rather than academic/cultural elites and offer insights into, for example, the influence of belief systems on public life, the history of popular religious movements and the means used by religions to gain adherents and communicate their ideologies. A wide variety of religions and denominations are represented, allowing for comparative studies of religions during this period.

Coverage: 1845 - 2015

Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa This link opens in a new window
New

The collection consists of 76 sub-collections comprising more than 27,000 objects and 190,000 pages of documents and images focusing on colonial rule, the dispersion of exiles, and international intervention, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. Material comes from archives and libraries around the world.

Testifying to the Truth This link opens in a new window
New

This online database shares eyewitness accounts from the Holocaust, many of which have never been available to the public online before and have been translated, by a team of the Library’s volunteers, into English for the first time.

The Wiener Holocaust Library, founded in 1933, is Britain’s national archive on the Holocaust and genocide. The Library provides a resource to oppose antisemitism and other forms of prejudice and intolerance. Our mission is to be a living memorial to the evils of the past by ensuring that our wealth of materials is put at the service of the future.

World Heritage Sites: Africa This link opens in a new window
New

It comprises more than 86,000 objects in 30 sub-collections, providing visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites.The materials in World Heritage Sites: Africa serve researchers in African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, Diaspora studies, folklore and literature, geography, and history, as well as those focused on geomatics, advanced visual and spatial technologies, historic preservation, and urban planning.

Loading...
title
Loading...