LibGuides: COVID-19 Resource Guide: Other resources made available during the COVID-19 period

About these resources

Many publishers have made content and resources freely available during the COVID-19 period. The resources on this guide will be of interest across the disciplines and are not about the virus itself.

This arrangement is temporary. The resources in question, and their contents, are subject to change at short notice.

This guide's resources should be treated as being apart from our 'standard' arrangements, and our having access to a publisher's COVID-19 content does not guarantee access to the rest of that publisher's content.

While these arrangements are temporary, any feedback we receive during this period about these resources is useful and can feed into future decisions. To give feedback, please either contact the librarian for your subject area, or complete the following form:

Eresource trials feedback

This guide is brought to you by:

Use and reuse license for our guides

The material in these guides is licensed under:

Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike
CC BY-NC-SA

Find out more at the Creative Commons:

Creative Commons Licenses

Teaching and Research resources A-E

Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window
Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.

Teaching and Research resources F-M

Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
Free access
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit operating in the US, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. It provides free access to archived web pages and software programmes as well as digital versions of books, texts, audio recordings, videos and images.
John Libbey Eurotext (content made available during COVID-19 period) This link opens in a new window Free access - see More for more details
The content of all 23 medical and scientific journals from John Libbey Eurotext, a British publishing house specialised in medical journals and books, is currently made freely accessible.

Due to regulations governing access to medical content, identification on the site is necessary, but all of the articles are freely accessible. For access issues: contact@jle.com

Teaching and Research resources N-Z

National Art Library art & design eresources This link opens in a new window
Free access
The Victoria & Albert (V&A) is the world’s leading museum of applied and decorative arts and design. The National Art library of the V&A museum offers a list of freely available e-resources about art and design that are useful for research. It also provides links to other library and archive collections and full-text content including e-books and e-journals.
OpenEdition Journals This link opens in a new window
Free access
OpenEdition Journals is a journals platform for the humanities and social sciences. Founded in 1999 under the name of Revues.org, it is now home to 450 online publications. Of our 150 000 articles, 95% are available in full-text access. In 2017, OpenEdition Journals websites received 4 million visits per month.
Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Free access
Project Gutenburg is a library of over 60,000 free ebooks, available as free epub or Kindle ebooks to download or read online. The collection contains mostly older literary works, published before 1924, with some later works.
Security Issues Online (content made available during COVID-19 period) This link opens in a new window
Free access - Covid-19 Content
A collection that provides critical information and context during an increasingly insecure time, Security Issues Online is a research and learning database providing in one place comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major events and themes related to security. Upon completion, Security Issues Online will grow to include 100,000 pages of text and 150 hours of video that provide useful findings on key events and themes throughout the 20th and early 21st centuries.

The collection provides primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Iran (1940s to the Present), 1960 U-2 Incident, World War II and Intelligence, Cold War: The Bay of Pigs and the Cuban Missile Crisis, 1961-1962, and more. Resources for each topic guide users through the full scope of the event, from the historical context that made such security issues possible through the international response, steps for retaliation, and global reaction. Future releases will include content on nuclear testing, cyber security, North Korea and international relations, the Northern Ireland Conflict, and more.