Skip to main content

Getting Started With the Library - Coronavirus FAQs

LibAnswers pages have searchable FAQs created to ensure you get accurate answers fast.  For details of how to access our spaces and resources, please go to the Libraries & Collections Coronavirus FAQs:

 

Stay up to date with the latest developments, opening hours and current service arrangements on our Libraries & Collections Coronavirus update page:

If you require assistance, library staff are available to help and support you: via 24/7 Live Chat or email library@kcl.ac.uk

Mobile app

The King's Mobile App is separate from the King’s Welcome App and grants quick access to campus maps, library floor plans, your timetable, library account and information on booking informal campus study spaces via Student Services Online.

Download the free university app for your smartphone or device below:

Getting Started with Library Search

Library Search provides access to an extensive collection of resources to support your studies comprising books, ebooks, ejournals, newspaper collections and databases.  It includes digital content held by Archives and Special Collections.

Getting Started with Inter Library Loans

Details how to access the Interlending and Document Delivery service directly from Library Search in order to request materials we don’t have in our collections.  ​Due to Coronavirus restrictions, we currently only provide ejournal articles and single ebook chapters held by other libraries.​​

What to expect from these guides

Libraries & Collections are committed to supporting our learner communities to the best of our abilities. We do this in different ways across a number of platforms, like FAQs, Library Guides, and KEATS. Each platform has its own purpose:

FAQs

Need to ask us a question? Not sure about a service we offer? This is a great place to start getting answers quickly.

Library Guides

Our Library Guides (like this one) are designed to help you navigate and signpost you through the platforms we use to inform and support our communities at King's. Use the menus on the left or browse through the boxes to find links to FAQs, e-learning tutorials on KEATS, sign up workshop calendars and much more.

KLaSS on KEATS

King's Learning and Skills Service (KLaSS) is a suite of e-learning tutorials designed to support learners to:

  • retrieve high-quality academic information from online sources
  • get help and support on their search topic via online Forums
  • learn about the referencing styles in use at King's
  • manage and share your research data (designed for Researchers)
  • build and share your ReadingLists (designed for Academic staff)

Booking a visit

If the item you require is not available electronically, or you would like to study on campus you will need to book a slot to visit a library space via the link below. There are two services available:

  • Individual study spaces of up to 3 hours at a time. You may book these up to one hour in advance of the morning or afternoon session
  • The Reserve & Collect service for borrowing physical resources.

Once you have booked your slot, you will receive a confirmation via email.

  • For study space bookings, please click on the link in the email to confirm your place.
  • For Reserve and Collect, you will be notified by email when your item is available to collect. You should then book your Reserve & Collect collection slot Monday to Friday. Please be aware that at St Thomas’ House library there is self-service book retrieval by appointment in place.
  • If you need to collect or return a laptop, please book a Reserve & Collect/ borrowing slot at your chosen library using the link below:

How to borrow a book using the self-service machines

All libraries have self-service machines for borrowing books. To return books, please use the return boxes located outside the library spaces.  For more information please see:

Laptop loans

Laptops are available to borrow for up to one week at a time.  For more details, click on the FAQ below:

Disability Support

The Disability Support department provides and coordinates support to staff and students throughout the College.  The Disability Support department's webpages below have contact details for their staff.

Looking for details and instructions when physically accessing different buildings at King's? Click the AccessAble link below and choose the campus you'll be using.

Documents are available in a range of formats. For more details and information about accessible formats, inter-site books requests, software, equipment & our ten Assistive Technology Rooms (ATRs) spread across the six King's library sites: