Skip to Main Content

Contact Us

For general enquiries about Libraries & Collections, you can also email library@kcl.ac.uk

If you would like to contact IT, their details are below:

Or email them at 88888@kcl.ac.uk

Icons used by these guides are from Flaticon.com.

Artist credits: Dinosoft Labs, Becris, Icon Pond, Alfredo Hernandez, Vectors Market, and Freepik.

Libraries & Collections

This guide is brought to you by:

Libraries & Collections Logo

Use and reuse license for our guides

The material in these guides is licensed under: 

Icon for creative commons license allowing non-commerical reuse with attribution and sharealike

Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike
CC BY-NC-SA

Find out more at the Creative Commons:

Books and articles are available online

Libraries & Collections provides a range of books and online journals to support your studies and research. We have worked with your lecturers to try and ensure key readings are available online.  All of our print books, and most journal articles can be located with Library Search:

New to using Library Search?

You can find online tutorials on using Library Search to find books and journals around your subject. Find them in the Getting started with the Library page of this guide:

Key classmarks for your subject: A-E

  • PA- for Greek language and literature and Roman language and literature.
  • DE- for the history of the Greco-Roman world.
  • DF- for the history of ancient Greece.
  • DG - for the history of ancient Italy.
  • PA5000-5660 - Byzantine and modern Greek literature
  • PN45-57 - Theory
  • PN80-99 - Criticism
  • PN801-820 - Romance Literature
  • PN821-840 - Germanic Literature
  • PN851-884 - Comparative Literature
  • PN1010-1525 - Poetry
  • PN1600-3307 - Drama
  • PN3311-3503 - Prose
  • PQ1-3999 - French literature
  • PQ6001-6726 - Spanish literature
  • PQ7081-8560 - Spanish American literature
  • PQ9000-9326 - Portuguese literature
  • PQ9500-9796 - Brazilian literature
  • PQ9900-9948 - Portuguese African literature
  • PR1-9680 - English literature
  • PS1-3576 - American literature
  • PT1-4897 - German literature

Arts (General) - Room 2.44

  • NX420-430 - Exhibitions
  • NX440-632 - History of the Arts
  • NX700-750 - Patronage
  • NX760-770 - Administration
  • NX798-820 - Centres and Facilities

Museums (General) - Room 1.58

  • AM111-160 - Museology
  • AM200-501 - Collectors and Collecting

Visual Arts - Room 2.45

  • N61-72 - Theory

Museums and Galleries - Room 2.45

  • N4390-5098 - Exhibitions
  • N5198-5299 - Private Collections
  • N5300-7418 - History
  • N8350-8356 - Art as a Profession
  • N8600-8675 - Economics of Art
  • N8700-9165 - Public Art

Books on English can be found between PR1 and  PR9680, with a selection of specific sections below:

  • PR1-56 English Literary History and Criticism
  • PR111-116 Women Authors
  • PR500-614 Poetry
  • PR908 Diaries
  • PR951-981 Folk literature
  • L - Education
  • LA - History of Education
  • LB - Theory & Practice of Education
  • P - Linguistics
  • PB-PM - Languages
  • H - Social Sciences   
  • HA - Statistics
  • HD - Industry
  • HF - Commerce
  • HG - Economics
  • HJ - Public Finance
  • HM - Sociology
  • L - Education
  • LA - History of Education
  • LB - Theory & Practice of Education
  • P - Linguistics
  • PB-PM - Languages
  • D – General history
  • DT – African history
  • GN – Anthropology
  • HB – Economic theory 
  • HC – Economic history and conditions
  • HD – Industries, land use and labour
  • HF – Commerce
  • HM – Sociology
  • HV – Social and public welfare. Criminology.
  • JA – Political science
  • JF – Political institutions and public administration
  • JQ – Political institutions and public administration Africa
  • JX – International law
  • JZ – International relations
  • UA – Armies and military organisation
  • DU - the history of Australia, New Zealand and the South Seas
  • JQ3995-6691 - political institutions and public administration of countries including Australia
  • JV1-5399 - colonies and colonisation
  • JV9100-9269 - emigration and immigration in Australia and New Zealand
  • PR9600-9619.3 - Australian literature
  • F1201-3799 - Latin American history
  • JL1200-2499 - Latin American politics
  • PC5001-5498 - Portuguese language
  • PQ9000-9326 - Portuguese literature
  • PQ9500-9796 - Brazilian literature
  • DS 779 - History of China
  • HC 430 -  China and economic policy
  • HF 1604  - China and its political economy
  • JA 84 - China and political thought
  • QD 1-999 - Chemistry
  • QD 1-65 - General
  • QD 71-142 - Analytical Chemistry
  • QD 146-197 - Inorganic Chemistry
  • QD 241-441 - Organic Chemistry
  • QD 415-436 - Biochemistry
  • QD 450-801 - Physical and theoretical Chemistry
  • QD 625-655 - Radiation Chemistry
  • QD 701-731 - Photochemistry
  • QD 901-999 - Crystallography

Key classmarks for your subject: F-L

  • DD1-905 - German history
  • JN3201-4980 - German politics
  • PF3001-5999 - German language
  • PN1993 - German film
  • PT1-4897 - German literature
  • DF501-649 - Greek History (Byzantine empire, 323-1453). 
    Room 1M.72
  • DF701-951 - Greek History (modern). 
    Rooms 1M.71 & 1M.72
  • JN5001-5191 - Greek Politics. 
    Room 2.47
  • PA1000-1179 - Medieval and modern Greek language. 
    Room 2M.43
  • PA5000-5660 - Byzantine and modern Greek literature. 
    Rooms 2M.46-2M.49.
  • BL-BX- for Religion and Religious History
  • D- for European and World History
  • E & F- for the History of the Americas
  • HC-HD- for Economic History
  • JC & JN - for Political Theory and Institutions.
  • KD1621-1630 - Commercial law
  • KD1554-1920 - Contract law
  • KD 3930-4645 - Constitutional and Administrative law
  • KD2435 - Construction law
  • KD7850-8090 - Criminal law
  • KJ-KKZ - EU law
  • KD1261-1450 - Intellectual property
  • JX-JZ - International law
  • KD3395-3417 - Medical law and ethics
  • HV - State crime
  • KD5351-5605 - Tax law
  • KD1941-2004 - Tort law
  • G - Geography (General)
  • GA - Mathematical geography
  • GB - Physical geography
  • GC - Oceanography
  • GE - Environmental Sciences
  • GF - Human ecology
  • GN - Anthropology
  • GR - Folklore
  • H - Social Sciences   
  • HA - Statistics
  • HJ - Public Finance
  • HM - Sociology
  • D to DX - History: General and Old World
  • E to F - History of the Americas
  • G - Geography
  • H to HX - Social Sciences
  • J to JV - Political Sciences
  • DS1-937 – history of Asia
  • DS401-486.8 – history of India (Bharat)
  • DS430-432 – ethnography and sects
  • JQ21-1852 – political institutions in Asia
  • JQ200-620 – Indian politics
  • DA676-DA689 – History of London
  • DC1-947 - French history
  • JN2301-3007 - French politics
  • PC2001-3761 - French language
  • PN1993 - French film
  • PQ1-3999 - French literature
  • PN1993 - for film guides such as Halliwell's or Time Out Film Guide
  • PN1993.5 - National cinema movements and guides to film from particular countries
  • PN1994/1995 - film theory and criticism.
  • PN1995.9 - specific genres and themes such as documentary, film noir, horror and sexuality.
  • PN1997 - BFI guides on specific films
  • PN1998 - criticism and commentaries on the films and careers of key directors.

Key classmarks for your subjects: M-P

  • B1-5739- Philosophy (General)
  • BC1-199 - Logic
  • BC200- Language and Philosophy
  • BD10-701- Speculative Psychology
  • BF1-990- Psychology
  • BH1-301- Aesthetics
  • BJ1-1725 - Ethics
  • H - Social Sciences  
  • HA - Statistics
  • HF - Political economy
  • HG - Economics
  • HV - Social Policy and Public Welfare.  Crime
  • J - Political Science
  • JC - Political Theory
  • JX - International Law
  • JZ - International Relations
  • E - the history of the Americas, especially the United States
  • F - United States local history, the rest of North America and Latin America
  • PS - American literature

For books about music:

  • ML - which covers literature on music
  • MT - which covers music instruction and study

For scores:

  • M1-3 - Collections and Manuscripts
  • M5-1490 - Instrumental Music, begins with solo instruments and finishes with large orchestral groups
  • M1497-1998 - Secular Vocal Music
  • M1999-2199 - Sacred Vocal Music
  • PC 2001-3761 - French Language Dictionaries
  • PC 4001-4977 - Spanish Language Dictionaries
  • PC 5001-5498 - Portuguese Language Dictionaries
  • PF 3001-5999 - German Language Dictionaries
  • D - History (general)
  • DC - French History
  • DE - History of Mediterranean region; Greco-Roman world
  • DF - Greek History
  • DG - Italian History
  • DP - Spanish and Portuguese History
  • DR - Eastern European History; Balkan peninsula and Turkey
  • DS - History of Asia including the Middle East
  • HC - Economic history including the European Union
  • JN - Political institutions in Europe, including the European Union
  • PA - includes Greek language materials
  • PC - includes French, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish language materials
  • PJ - includes Arabic language materials.
  • QA - Mathematics

Key classmarks for your subject: R-Z

  • DK1-949.5 - history of Russia, Soviet Union and former Soviet Republics
  • JN6500-6598 - political institutions and public administration of the Soviet Union, Russia and former Soviet Republics. 
  • PG2900-3698 - Russian literature
  • DP1-402 - Spanish history
  • DP501-900.22 - Portuguese history
  • F1201-3799 - Latin American history 
  • JN8101-8399 - Spanish politics
  • JN8423-8661 - Portuguese politics
  • JL1200-2499 - Latin American politics
  • PC4001-4977 - Spanish language 
  • PC5001-5498 - Portuguese language 
  • PQ6001-6726 - Spanish literature
  • PQ7081-8560 - Spanish American literature
  • PQ9000-9326 - Portuguese literature
  • PQ9500-9796 - Brazilian literature
  • BL1-2790- Religions, mythology, rationalism
  • BM1-990- Judaism
  • BP 1-605- Islam, Bahaism, theosophy
  • BQ1-9800- Buddhism
  • BR1-1725- Christianity
  • BS1-2970- The Bible
  • BT1-1480- Doctrinal Theology
  • BV1-5099- Practical Theology
  • BX1-9999 - Denominations and sects
  • HV - State Crime
  • JA - Political theory
  • JN - Political Institutions
  • JX - International Law
  • JZ - International Relations
  • U - Military Science
  • UA - Armies
  • UB - Military Administration
  • V - Naval Science

Book and in-person or an online 1-1

Via MS Teams, one of our senior library assistants can help you with e-resource navigation, searching online databases and journals, and building search strategies for literature reviews. Once booked, you will be sent an email with details of how to log in for your online appointment.  All 1-1s last 45 minutes.

Online 1-1 via MS Teams

The Maughan Library is located on Chancery Lane. Our senior library assistants can help you with e-resource navigation, searching online databases and journals, and building search strategies for literature reviews. Once booked, you will be sent an email with details of where to go for your in-person appointment. All 1-1s last 45 minutes.

In-person 1-1 at the Maughan

Franklin Wilkins Library is located in Waterloo. Our senior library assistants can help you with e-resource navigation, searching online databases and journals, and building search strategies for literature reviews. Once booked, you will be sent an email with details of where to go for your in-person appointment. All 1-1s last 45 minutes.

In-person 1-1 at Franklin Wilkins

New Hunt's House Library is located at Guy's Campus, London Bridge. Our senior library assistants can help you with e-resource navigation, searching online databases and journals, and building search strategies for literature reviews. Once booked, you will be sent an email with details of where to go for your in-person appointment. All 1-1s last 45 minutes.

Wearing scrubs to attend in-person workshops: Please be aware that some areas of King's campuses don't allow Trust members who are wearing hospital scrubs to enter the building.

In-person 1-1 at New Hunt's House

St Thomas' House library & café is a social space located next to St Thomas' hospital and the Evelina children's hospital, a short walk from Lambeth North tube station. It is accessible to King's students/staff, and NHS staff from KCH Trust and Guy's & St Thomas' Trust who have a King's library card. Please bear in mind that this location is in a café used by King's students, staff and Trust staff, and therefore might be slightly noisier than our other 1-1 locations.

Our senior library assistants can help you with e-resource navigation, searching online databases and journals, and building search strategies for literature reviews. Once booked, you will be sent an email with details of where to meet for your in-person appointment. All 1-1s last 45 minutes.

In-person 1-1 at St Thomas' House

Our Denmark Hill campus library is inside the Weston Education Centre, or WEC. Our senior library assistants can help you with e-resource navigation, searching online databases and journals, and building search strategies for literature reviews. Once booked, you will be sent an email with details of where to go for your in-person appointment. All 1-1s last 45 minutes. 

In-person 1-1 at Weston Education Centre

The IoPPN Library is located in Denmark Hill. Our senior library assistants can help you with e-resource navigation, searching online databases and journals, and building search strategies for literature reviews. Once booked, you will be sent an email with details of where to go for your in-person appointment. All 1-1s last 45 minutes.

Wearing scrubs to attend in-person workshops: Please be aware that some areas of King's campuses don't allow Trust members who are wearing hospital scrubs to enter the building.

In-person 1-1 at the IoPPN

My Reading Lists

Reading Lists will let you look up online lists of books, journals and websites your lecturers expect you to read for your lectures and seminars:

New to Reading Lists?

Find out how to look up your module reading lists in the Getting started with the Library page of this guide:

Getting started with our online book collections

These online book collections won't be searched by Library Search but contain thousands of titles on a huge variety of subjects. Check each collection's description for details of borrowing procedures and limitations.

Don't forget: You can browse the full range of databases and resources with the A-Z databases list:

New to using ebooks?

You can find online tutorials on locating, opening and reading ebooks available at King's. Find them in the Getting Started With The Library section of KLaSS:

I need more help, where can I go?

New to using KLaSS forums?

Make sure you're enrolled on KLaSS by using the link below:

Kortext e-textbooks

If a title in your reading list is supplied as a Kortext e-textbook (please ask your module leader for confirmation), the resources page linked below is designed to help you get the most from this versatile format.

The page features guidance on highlighting text, searching text, making notes, sharing notes, exporting references, together with information on how to use the mobile apps reader: