Skip to main content

I've never had to find journal articles before, what do I do?

Find your pathway!

Whatever the topic you're studying, KLaSS is a great place to start. There are three pathways designed to support students new to performing research using academic sources:

  • Searching for Health Topics: Introduction
  • Searching for Arts & Sciences Topics
  • Searching for Arts & Sciences and Law Topics

I've taken the quizzes and earned the badges, what's next?

Explore our range of databases

The next page of this guide, How to find the right online database for your topic, will help you get to grips with the resources at your disposal as a member of King's College London.

Every subject will have an A-Z list of resources, but not every database will be perfect for your topic. Look at the more... link under each resource to see the list of topics that database covers.

Enrol onto LIB262: Advanced Searching for Systematic Reviews, the new online course from Libraries & Collections

Are you a Taught (PGT) or Research (PGR) Postgraduate student in the Health Sciences starting a Systematic Review project? Not sure how or where to get started?

Libraries & Collections are offering a new five week online course to help students and researchers develop their searching skills to complete a Systematic Review. You'll work in small groups with other learners, with support from the Library's Learning Design team throughout. Places are limited to 35, so please see the booking link below!

The next iteration of this course starts on: Monday 20 April 2020

Bookings close on: Friday 17 April 2020

Book a 30 minute online 1-1 with a librarian

Due to COVID-19, our 1-1 appointments have moved online. They will be taking place on Microsoft Teams for the foreseeable future.

How do I book? You can book by clicking the button below. Once you've made your booking, you will be sent an electronic invitation you can use to access the appointment. We recommend joining with video enabled, for optimal benefit. If you can only join to listen/see us and communicate via chat, please let your librarian know ahead of the appointment.

How do I use Microsoft Teams? MS Teams works with Chrome, IE and Edge browsers, and can be downloaded to both Windows PCs and Macs. More guidance is available here: https://www.kcl.ac.uk/teachlearntech/assets/student-view-of-microsoft-teams.pdf. If you are NHS staff, the good news is that Teams has been made generally available to the NHS – further information can be found here  https://support.nhs.net/.

What are the 1-1s for? These sessions are designed to help with using the library's online resources, databases and literature searching. Please note, we cannot assist with proofreading enquiries. Similarly, 1-1 appointments are not intended for supporting systematic reviews, but we can help with the basics like searching databases effectively, if that's where you're stuck. For more help with sys reviews, King's students and staff can consult with a senior librarian on our 'Advanced Searching for Systematic Reviews' forum on KEATs.

What other help is available? Before seeking a 1-1 appointment, we encourage you to try out our other online support channels. We've designed them with your frequently asked questions and common issues in mind. Information on these channels can be found elsewhere on this page, and you can find out how to contact us via email or Live Chat on our Contact Us webpages for further questions.

Until we see you again, stay safe and healthy!

I need to critically appraise a journal article, where do I start?

Find your pathway!

The information ecosystem is complex, and can be difficult for a novice to navigate with confidence. Do you know the difference between a scholarly source and a popular source? Can you explain the different types of media available to us, how they're created and how they're used?

We have designed a pathway to support your developing these skills:

  • How to identify the best information and evidence

I need to write a Systematic Review, what do I do?

Find your pathway!

We designed the Searching for Health Topics: Advanced pathway to support students who are new, or would like a refresher on, the advanced searching techniques used in carrying out a Systematic Review.

I need more help, where can I go?

New to using KLaSS forums?

Make sure you're enrolled on KLaSS by using the link below: