Find material to support your teaching and research
The following databases may include a variety of different resources such as journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, reports and multimedia. If you require a specific journal title or book, it is best to start with LibrarySearch.
Books & journals
Staff and students can access an extensive selection of academic ejournals through King's subscriptions and Open Access repositories. Some ejournal titles are listed below.
To browse journals in a narrower subject area or to find a specific title, it is best to start with LibrarySearch. Alternatively, you can use Browzine to search for and browse journals in our collections. Use the search box below, or navigate to BrowZine via the tabs at the top of LibrarySearch.
-
British Dental Journal
The British Dental Journal (BDJ) is an international, peer-reviewed journal for the dental community. Its aims are to inform readers of ideas, opinions, developments and key issues in dentistry - clinical, practical and scientific - to spark interest, debate and discussion amongst dentists of all disciplines. -
Dental Update
Dental Update focuses on the complexities of restorative and preventive dentistry, but also covers specialties, including endodontics, oral surgery, orthodontics, implants and periodontics. Contains a wide range of clinical illustrations and/or diagrams. -
Journal of Dentistry
Topics covered include the management of dental disease, periodontology, endodontology, operative dentistry, fixed and removable prosthodontics, dental biomaterials science, long-term clinical trials including epidemiology and oral health, technology transfer of new scientific instrumentation or procedures, as well as clinically relevant oral biology and translational research.
Here are some suggestions. To search across our collections, please use LibrarySearch.
-
Burket's Oral Medicine
by
For nearly 70 years, Burket's Oral Medicine has been the principal text for all major aspects of oral medicine, from the basic science to clinical practice. This 12th edition continues to serve as the authoritative source of information for students, residents, and experienced practitioners with access to the expertise and experience of an international group of clinical scholars who are recognized experts in the increasingly complex field of diagnosis and medical management of maxillofacial disease and dental treatment of medically complex patients.
ISBN: 9781607951889Publication Date: 2014 -
Cawson's Essentials of Oral Pathology and Oral Medicine
by
The new edition of this classic book continues to support a new generation of dental students in their understanding of the essential aspects of oral pathology, oral medicine and systemic disease, as they relate to the day-to-day practice of dentistry. Fully updated throughout with the latest diagnostic tests, treatment protocols and international guidelines, the book will be essential for all undergraduates studying dentistry as well as postgraduate examinations. Brand new edition of the first textbook to integrate oral medicine, pathology and surgery in a practical, student-orientated fashion! Friendly, accessible writing style provides ready access to essential information Ample use of flow charts guide the student thorough the process of differential diagnosis for a range of conditions Evidenced-based throughout to help facilitate safe clinical practice Presents the latest national and international guidelines Helpful self-assessment provides an indication of the level of understanding and problem solving abilities expected at an undergraduate level Useful summary charts aid subject revision and understanding Expanded to meet the higher-level of understanding and application of knowledge required of students today Contains trusted PubMed ID references and websites to ensure relevance and immediacy Updated design - with helpful colour coding - aids reader engagement and retention of facts Improved illustration program helps clarify complex physiological processes and other challenging concepts
ISBN: 9780702049828Publication Date: 2017 -
The Dental Foundation Interview Guide
by
The Dental Foundation Interview Guide: with Situational Judgement Tests offers an indispensable step-by-step guide to the dental foundation training application process. Explains the application and recruitment process and includes essential interview tips Offers a wealth of practice questions with detailed answers to ensure familiarity with the process Highlights the importance of professionalism, leadership and management within the dental practice Written by recent graduates who understand the pressures of the application process
ISBN: 9781119109143Publication Date: 2017 -
Dental Materials at a Glance
by
Following the familiar, easy-to-use at a Glance format, each topic is presented as a double-page spread with key facts accompanied by clear diagrams encapsulating essential information. Systematically organized and succinctly delivered, Dental Materials at a Glance covers: Each major class of dental material and biomaterial Basic chemical and physical properties Clinical handling and application Complications and adverse effects of materials Dental Materials at a Glance is the ideal companion for all students of dentistry, residents, and junior clinicians. In addition, the text will provide valuable insight for general dental practitioners wanting to update their materials knowledge and be of immediate application for dental hygienists, dental nurses, dental assistants, and technicians.
ISBN: 9781118646489Publication Date: 2013 -
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Dentistry
by
For almost thirty years, the tried, tested, and much-loved Oxford Handbook of Clinical Dentistry has been the indispensable guide to the dental world for dental students, trainees, practitioners, and nurses. Returning for its seventh edition it has been re-energized by new editors and a specialist contributor team, while still retaining its comprehensive, clear, and concise style.The Handbook has been completely updated and brings you a wealth of information to keep pace with fast-moving areas of dental practice. This new edition includes a brand new chapter on dental implants, the new classification for periodontal disease, the latest key guidelines, protocols, and guidance on therapeutics, dental materials, and digital dentistry, as well as expanded information on topics such as ethics, dental law, and practice management. Designed for daily use, this Handbook ensures you will have everything you need at your fingertips whether on the go, in clinical sessions, or for revision.
ISBN: 9780198832171Publication Date: 2020
Multimedia
-
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online provides a vast database of film and video clips from documentary, newsreel, entertainment, and television sources. The thematic range and temporal span make the collection relevant to many disciplines, from anthropology to zoology, various courses and student levels.
The collection includes award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners, and gives access to the content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more sources.
Academic Video Online is a part of ProQuest One Academic.
-
AnatomediaPLUS This link opens in a new window
Anatomedia is a comprehensive, self-paced learning program that students, teachers and practitioners can access from anywhere. Comprised of 9 interactive modules, it incorporates the latest radiology methods and research, developing knowledgeable anatomists and clinicians.
Meksi, an AI powered Virtual Patient (Beta version), allows doctors and medical students to safely practice and refine clinical consultation skills. It currently focuses on chest pain and more clinical cases will be added as the tool is developed.
To use this resource press the “launch” button. Please ignore institutional log-in option.
-
Alexander Street Video This link opens in a new window
Alexander Street Press is an online video streaming platform with access to more than 34,000 video titles. This database offers a wealth of digitized content across disciplines, but is particularly focused on the fields of counselling, anthropology, history, diversity studies, theatre, film, music, dance, news, current affairs, and the social sciences.
King’s has access to a wide range of educational videos, audio and text resources.
Dental Education in Video, provided via the Alexander Street Press, is a video encyclopedia available online. Providing demonstrations featuring clinicians and educators, we have access to 345 videos covering areas such as dental surgery, medicine, oral hygiene, assisting and nursing.
-
Faculti This link opens in a new window
Faculti provides unlimited access to up to 1000 on-demand videos per year, and is forecast to produce thousands more annually, delivered by the world’s leading figures across core subject categories, accessible at a time and place convenient to you.
Please note:For off campus access, navigate to the top right button Login | Signup and select Login. Choose ‘Log in via SSO’ and then select 'King's College London' from the drop-down list.
For on-campus access, navigate to the top right button Login | Signup and select Login. Choose 'Log in via IP' and then select 'King's College London' from the drop-down list.
-
Henry Stewart Talks (Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection) This link opens in a new window
A collection of lectures and presentations by leading experts in the fields of biomedicine and life sciences. Includes specific series on clinical methods, biochemistry, diseases, immunology, microbiology. The presentations consist of navigable slides with accompanying narration synchronised for ease of listening. They are all approximately 40-50 minutes long and are organised into a comprehensive series of talks.
Useful if you study:
- Biochemistry
- Biology
- Clinical Medicine
- Pharmacy
The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection contains over 2,500 specially commissioned, multi-media, online lectures by leading world experts from universities, research centres, medical schools, and pharmaceutical/biotech companies. There are over 2,000 contributing editors and speakers.
Subject categories include:
- Biochemistry
- Cancer
- Cell Biology
- Clinical Practice
- Genetics & Epigenetics
- Immunology
- Metabolism & Nutrition
- Methods
- Microbiology
- Neuroscience
- Pharmaceutical Sciences
- Physiology & Anatomy
- Plant & Animal Sciences
- Reproduction & Development
- Biochemistry
-
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) This link opens in a new window
JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. Established in 2006, JoVE is devoted to publishing scientific research in a visual format. JoVE allows authors to publish experiments in all their dimensions, overcoming the inherent limitations of traditional, static print journals, thereby adding an entirely new layer to the communication of experimental research. JoVE has published thousands of articles from top research institutions around the world.
King's has access to the following sections:
Bioengineering
Biology
Immunology and Infection
Medicine
Neuroscience