Database [dey-tuh-beys]
Databases are websites with collections of resources (articles, books etc.) in a specific subject area. If you are doing a literature search or systematic review they are a key resource to use. There are two main kinds of database:
- Bibliographic databases (sometimes called indexes) list information about resources such as abstracts and publication details, but not the full-text of those items. You'll need to look for the Get it @ King's button to check if the Library has access to the full-text.
- Full-text databases list the same information but have links to read or download the item.
Chemistry
Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Chemistry topics. For a more complete list of databases related to Chemistry, visit the A-Z list of databases for Chemistry.
-
SCOPUS This link opens in a new windowLarge multidisciplinary, bibliographic and citation database. It provides access to extensive journal coverage especially in science, technology and medicine. Citation coverage is back to 1996.
-
Web of Science (All databases) This link opens in a new window
Large bibliographic database providing access to scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Login guidance here.
-
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Chemical research database containing journal references, patent information and chemical substance and reaction data.
You are required to register an account before using SciFinder.
Engineering
Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Engineering topics. For a more complete list of databases related to Engineering, visit the A-Z list of databases for Engineering.
If you are studying an interdisciplinary course e.g. with clinical components, also see our health sciences databases page.
-
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore Digital Library contains scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. King's staff and students have access to over 100 IEEE journals and over 600 IEEE ebooks.
-
SCOPUS This link opens in a new windowLarge multidisciplinary, bibliographic and citation database. It provides access to extensive journal coverage especially in science, technology and medicine. Citation coverage is back to 1996.
-
Web of Science (All databases) This link opens in a new window
Large bibliographic database providing access to scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Login guidance here.
Informatics
Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with informatics topics. For a more complete list of databases related to informatics, visit the A-Z list of databases for informatics.
If you are studying an interdisciplinary course e.g. with clinical components, also see our health sciences databases page.
-
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore Digital Library contains scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. King's staff and students have access to over 100 IEEE journals and over 600 IEEE ebooks.
-
SCOPUS This link opens in a new windowLarge multidisciplinary, bibliographic and citation database. It provides access to extensive journal coverage especially in science, technology and medicine. Citation coverage is back to 1996.
-
Web of Science (All databases) This link opens in a new window
Large bibliographic database providing access to scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Login guidance here.
Mathematics
Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Mathematics topics. For a more complete list of databases related to Mathematics, visit the A-Z list of databases for Mathematics.
-
arXivOpen-access archive for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed.
-
MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowCovers research into mathematics and related subjects, as published in Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Coverage includes books, conference proceedings and 1,800 journals. Links to full text of 190 journals.
-
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
Chemical research database containing journal references, patent information and chemical substance and reaction data.
You are required to register an account before using SciFinder.
-
Web of Science (All databases) This link opens in a new window
Large bibliographic database providing access to scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Login guidance here.
Physics
Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Physics topics. For a more complete list of databases related to Physics, visit the A-Z list of databases for Physics.
-
SCOPUS This link opens in a new windowLarge multidisciplinary, bibliographic and citation database. It provides access to extensive journal coverage especially in science, technology and medicine. Citation coverage is back to 1996.
-
Web of Science (All databases) This link opens in a new window
Large bibliographic database providing access to scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Login guidance here.
Support using databases
Workshops
The library run workshops for beginners and sessions covering more advanced search techniques. We will introduce you to key databases for your subject and help you use them effectively.
Check our Calendar for more information.
1-1 Appointments
Book a 45-minute 1-1 appointment with a senior library assistant for help with e-resource navigation, searching online databases and journals, or building search strategies for literature reviews.
Please note: our 1-1 service is only for current students and staff at King's College London and/or our partnered NHS Trusts.
e-learning
-
KLaSS - Finding Academic Material for NMES
Everything you need to know to find relevant quality resources for your assignments.