Requesting the Library to Order Books and Other Materials
Individual books, DVDs, CDs and ebooks required for teaching can be requested by staff to be added to our collection via our Reading List service. Submitting a reading list to the library for review ensures that the library can acquire the material that your students will need to read for their success.
Further information on submitting requests for teaching material can be found here.
For other individual books or ebook requests, staff and postgraduate students can use the Suggest a Book form.
Ebook Licenses Explained
Academic publishers decide whether to make their eBooks available for libraries to purchase. These models for purchasing differ from buying individual eBooks via booksellers such as Waterstones or Amazon. As such, sometimes eBooks may be available for individuals to purchase via these retailers but they are not available for libraries to purchase due to lack of availability on a library licensing model, or due to prohibitive costs.
The most frequent types of eBook license models for libraries are:
- Limited user - These may limit the number of simultaneous users - usually to either 1 or 3.
- Non-linear - These offer a certain number of credits that can be used throughout the year of purchase to access the eBook.
- Unlimited - There are no caps or limits to the number of uses or simultaneous users with this model.
The library will always endeavour to acquire eBooks via the best licensing option that will allow for maximum access relative to costs.
Further information regarding accessing eBooks can be found here.
Recently Added Titles
-
-
Leadership for Evidence-Based Innovation in Nursing and Health Professions
by
ISBN: 9781284296655Publication Date: 2024-10-04 -
Research Handbook on End of Life Care and Society
by
ISBN: 9781035317332Publication Date: 2025-09-23 -
-
Critical Care Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures
by
ISBN: 9781119841258Publication Date: 2024-10-30 -
-
A Guide to Providing LGBTQ+ Inclusive Reproductive Health Care
by
ISBN: 1032305037Publication Date: 2025-03-11
Key eBook Packages
ClinicalKey Nursing & Midwifery
ClinicalKey Nursing & Midwifery provides access to key texts on Midwifery and Nursing published by Elsevier. Providing access to the most recent editions, as well as multimedia and video content, ClinicalKey Nursing & Midwifery includes access to:
- Mayes' Midwifery, Fifteenth edition.
- Gatford and Philips' Drug Calculations, Tenth edition.
- Anatomy and Physiology for Midwives, Fourth edition.
ClinicalKey Student Medicine provides access to over 240 textbooks on the subjects Nursing and Medicine, as well as access to multimedia and video content. ClinicalKey Student Medicine also provides Disease Summaries, handy, snap-shot overviews of common diseases, which are easy to search and quick to read.
Cambridge Books Online, hosted on Cambridge Core platform, offers access to eBooks from Cambridge University Press and covers subjects from all disciplines across Science, Technology, and Medicine, as well as Humanities and Social Sciences.
Oxford Handbooks Online covers many different subject areas and the series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. King's has access to all collections, which includes Oxford Handbook titles for Nursing, Midwifery and Palliative Care.
This package includes access to to selected Ovid eBooks for Nursing and Midwifery.
Taylor & Francis E-book Collection
Taylor & Francis eBooks provides access to ebooks on a number of subjects, including Social Sciences and Medicine, Dentistry, Psychology and Nursing. The Routledge Subject Collections provide coverage on subjects that may be of particular interest, including Nursing, Midwifery and Allied Health.
This is one of the largest and most comprehensive ebook packages with access to over 150,000 titles covering a wide range of subjects, including access to titles relevant for Nursing, Midwifery & Palliative Care.
