Introduction to database searching
If you are searching for a topic or subject rather than a specific article you might like to search one of our databases. These often focus on a particular subject area or discipline and reduce the amount of results you receive from irrelevant subjects.
Databases are collections of resources such as journal articles and conference papers, and also sometimes book chapters and reports. If you are doing a literature search or systematic review they are a key resource to use.
There are two main kinds of database:
- Bibliographic - they won't show you the full paper straight away, but you can often read an abstract and see the author details. You'll need to check with Get it @ King's if the Library has access to the journal article
- Full text - will let you open and read the article directly from the list of results
Databases by subject - NMES
Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Chemistry topics. For a more complete list of databases related to Chemistry, visit the A-Z list of databases for Chemistry:
- SCOPUS (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a large multidisciplinary bibliographic and citation database with extensive journal coverage especially in science, technology and medicine and is expanding its coverage of the social sciences. Citation coverage is back to 1996. Bibliographic coverage generally reaches further back but is variable.
- Web of Science (All databases) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science provides access to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examines proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. It is a gateway to:
- Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)
- Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present)
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present)
- Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present)
- Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present)
- BIOSIS Citation Index (1969-2008)
- KCI-Korean Journal Database
- Medline
- Russian Science Citation Index
- SciELO Citation Index
Specific log-in instructions for Web of Science can be found here.
- SciFinder This link opens in a new window
A research discovery tool which provides access to a wide diversity of research across many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science and agricultural science. References more than 10,000 currently published journals and patents from more than 63 patent authorities. Coverage of the database is from the present back to the mid-1800s.
King’s staff and students who wish to use SciFinder will need to create their own username and password. You must use your King’s email address. Please register at http://libproxy.kcl.ac.uk/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=1B3FED04X86F35055X39CBD7A463E2B5E2D8.
Once you have been through the initial registration process you can access Scifinder either via A-Z or Library Search. Please use your unique username and password to log in, either on or off campus.
New to using online databases?
Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching in the Finding Academic Material for NMES module in KLaSS:
Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Engineering topics. For a more complete list of databases related to Engineering, visit the A-Z list of databases for Engineering:
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window IEEE Xplore Digital Library contains scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. King's staff and students have access to over 100 IEEE journals and over 600 IEEE ebooks.
- SCOPUS (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Scopus is a large multidisciplinary bibliographic and citation database with extensive journal coverage especially in science, technology and medicine and is expanding its coverage of the social sciences. Citation coverage is back to 1996. Bibliographic coverage generally reaches further back but is variable.
- Web of Science (All databases) This link opens in a new window Web of Science provides access to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examines proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. It is a gateway to:Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present)Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present)Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present) BIOSIS Citation Index (1969-2008)KCI-Korean Journal Database MedlineRussian Science Citation IndexSciELO Citation IndexSpecific log-in instructions for Web of Science can be found here.
New to using online databases?
Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding Academic Information for Arts & Sciences Topics module of KLaSS:
- KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style
Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Informatics topics. For a more complete list of databases related to Informatics, visit the A-Z list of databases for Informatics:
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window IEEE Xplore Digital Library contains scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. King's staff and students have access to over 100 IEEE journals and over 600 IEEE ebooks.
- SCOPUS (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Scopus is a large multidisciplinary bibliographic and citation database with extensive journal coverage especially in science, technology and medicine and is expanding its coverage of the social sciences. Citation coverage is back to 1996. Bibliographic coverage generally reaches further back but is variable.
- Web of Science (All databases) This link opens in a new window Web of Science provides access to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examines proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. It is a gateway to:Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present)Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present)Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present) BIOSIS Citation Index (1969-2008)KCI-Korean Journal Database MedlineRussian Science Citation IndexSciELO Citation IndexSpecific log-in instructions for Web of Science can be found here.
New to using online databases?
Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:
- KLaSS Module (KEATS)Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style
Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Mathematics topics. For a more complete list of databases related to Mathematics, visit the A-Z list of databases for Mathematics:
- MathSciNet (AMS) This link opens in a new window Produced by the American Mathematical Society. MathSciNet covers research into mathematics and related subjects, as published in Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Coverage includes books, conference proceedings and 1,800 journals. Links to full text of 190 journals.It contains information on over 4 million articles and books, with direct links to over 2.7 million articles in over 1,800 journals. MathSciNet includes expert reviews, disambiguated author profiles, and citation information on articles, books, journals, and authors.MathSciNet's resources are essential for anyone doing research in mathematics or allied fields, from the undergraduate to the seasoned researcher. It can be used to:• Quickly get up to speed on a new topic• Look up a researcher’s body of work (and find his/her Erdős number!)• Find an article or book and track its reference list• Research a math department to prepare for a job interview
- SciFinder This link opens in a new window A research discovery tool which provides access to a wide diversity of research across many scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science and agricultural science. References more than 10,000 currently published journals and patents from more than 63 patent authorities. Coverage of the database is from the present back to the mid-1800s. King’s staff and students who wish to use SciFinder will need to create their own username and password. You must use your King’s email address. Please register at http://libproxy.kcl.ac.uk/login?url=https://scifinder.cas.org/registration/index.html?corpKey=1B3FED04X86F35055X39CBD7A463E2B5E2D8. Once you have been through the initial registration process you can access Scifinder either via A-Z or Library Search. Please use your unique username and password to log in, either on or off campus.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Web of Science provides access to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examines proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. The Core collection is a gateway to: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present)Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present)Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present)Specific log-in instructions for Web of Science can be found here.
New to using online databases?
Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:
- KLaSS Module (KEATS)Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style
Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Physics topics. For a more complete list of databases related to Physics, visit the A-Z list of databases for Physics:
- SCOPUS (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Scopus is a large multidisciplinary bibliographic and citation database with extensive journal coverage especially in science, technology and medicine and is expanding its coverage of the social sciences. Citation coverage is back to 1996. Bibliographic coverage generally reaches further back but is variable.
- Web of Science (All databases) This link opens in a new window Web of Science provides access to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examines proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. It is a gateway to:Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present)Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present)Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present) BIOSIS Citation Index (1969-2008)KCI-Korean Journal Database MedlineRussian Science Citation IndexSciELO Citation IndexSpecific log-in instructions for Web of Science can be found here.
New to using online databases?
Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:
- KLaSS Module (KEATS)Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style
Getting the full text
If a database lists something you want to read, look for a button that says 'Get it at King's' 
This will take you to Library Search and to the full text, if the library subscribes to the journal, or prompting you to request the item via Inter Library Loan.
I can't see the 'Get it @ King's'
If the 'Get it @ King's' button is not available then you should use Library Search to see if the article or book is available through another database.
- Library Search @ King's
Find books and full text journal articles on your subject online!
New to using Library Search?
Find out how to use Library Search to find the books and items you need in the Getting Started With the Library - Undergraduates and Taught Postgraduates section of this guide - look for the navigation button in the top left corner!