Arts & Humanities Library Guide

An international abstracting and indexing tool available via ProQuest for research in the humanities. HI indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. It covers current affairs, political science, religion, law, history, archaeology, education, economics, environment and gender studies.

Updated monthly with approximately 1,500 records added; it also has the capability to link to electronic full text of many journal articles

JSTOR offers academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Via JSTOR books, King's currently has access to over 54,000 titles from over 42 publishers.

King’s subscribes to the following collections within JSTOR:
 

• 19th Century British Pamphlets
• Arts & Sciences I-XV Collection
• Business I Collection
• Business II Collection
• Ireland Collection
• Jewish Studies
• Language & Literature Collection
• Life Sciences Collection
• Music Collection
• Political Science
• Film Studies
• Language and Literature
• Philosophy
• Religion
• Sociology
• Business and Economics

DigiPal is a resource for the study of medieval handwriting, particularly that produced in England during the years 1000–1100, the time of Æthelred, Cnut and William the Conqueror. It is designed to allow you to see samples of handwriting from the period and to compare them with each other quickly and easily.

Funded by the European Union Seventh Framework Programme (FP7), it is based at the Department of Digital Humanities at King's College London.

An international abstracting and indexing tool available via ProQuest for research in the humanities. HI indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. It covers current affairs, political science, religion, law, history, archaeology, education, economics, environment and gender studies.

Updated monthly with approximately 1,500 records added; it also has the capability to link to electronic full text of many journal articles

ProQuest One Academic combines all four of ProQuest’s multidisciplinary products on the ProQuest platform (ProQuest Central, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, Academic Complete, and Academic Video Online).

ProQuest One Academic provides access to a wide variety of research materials from a single access point and supports this need by incorporating scholarly journals, eBooks, dissertations, news and video content across all disciplines in a unified and seamless user interface.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) via Senate House, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1865, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.

Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.

An international abstracting and indexing tool available via ProQuest for research in the humanities. HI indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. It covers current affairs, political science, religion, law, history, archaeology, education, economics, environment and gender studies.

Updated monthly with approximately 1,500 records added; it also has the capability to link to electronic full text of many journal articles

Covers folklore, languages, linguistics and literature. Provides citations for items from journals and series published worldwide from 1926 to date. Indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Available via EBSCOhost.

Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.

This database provides indexing and abstracts for around 400 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 160 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes almost a million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of each journal. 

Performing Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more. 

BFI Player is a video on demand service from the British Film Institute, streaming acclaimed, landmark and archive films. These are available for rent, for subscription or for free. King's College London has a subscription. The placement and availability of films is dependent on rights agreements with licensors. The focus is on British and European independent films, as well as international releases.

Additional information:
Access your free BFI Player subscription in 3 easy steps: 
1. Go to player.bfi.org.uk/students and create an account OR sign in if you already have one by selecting 'Already have an account? Sign in'
2. Select university from the dropdown list 
3. Authenticate subscription using your university credentials

FYI:
• Once you've set up your subscription, you can simply login on BFI Player for the remainder of this academic year. You don't need to use the subscribe link
• BFI Player is unavailable outside the UK
• Rentals and festival events are not included in the subscription offer
• Make sure you tick the box ‘I’d like to receive the newsletter’ for exclusive competitions, watchlists and other BFI opportunities via email. 

A reminder that users need to re-subscribe every year e.g. if someone had an account last year, they simply need to visit player.bfi.org.uk/students and select 'Already have an account Sign in'. 
 

BoB (Box of Broadcasts) National is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. You can choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels. The recorded programmes are then kept indefinitely (no expiry) and added to a growing media archive (currently at over 1 million programmes), with all content shared by users across all subscribing institutions.

Please note: Individual registration is required and access is only available from the UK.

An international abstracting and indexing tool available via ProQuest for research in the humanities. HI indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. It covers current affairs, political science, religion, law, history, archaeology, education, economics, environment and gender studies.

Updated monthly with approximately 1,500 records added; it also has the capability to link to electronic full text of many journal articles

Screen Studies Online is a new portal for subscribers to Proquest film resources which combines the American Film Institute Catalog (AFI Catalog), FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals and Film Index International. Created in partnership with three distinguished film research organizations, the British Film Institute, the American Film Institute, and the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), Screen Studies Online can be used to cross-search these three resources or to search the individual databases separately.

An international abstracting and indexing tool available via ProQuest for research in the humanities. HI indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. It covers current affairs, political science, religion, law, history, archaeology, education, economics, environment and gender studies.

Updated monthly with approximately 1,500 records added; it also has the capability to link to electronic full text of many journal articles

JSTOR offers academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Via JSTOR books, King's currently has access to over 54,000 titles from over 42 publishers.

King’s subscribes to the following collections within JSTOR:
 

• 19th Century British Pamphlets
• Arts & Sciences I-XV Collection
• Business I Collection
• Business II Collection
• Ireland Collection
• Jewish Studies
• Language & Literature Collection
• Life Sciences Collection
• Music Collection
• Political Science
• Film Studies
• Language and Literature
• Philosophy
• Religion
• Sociology
• Business and Economics

An international abstracting and indexing tool available via ProQuest for research in the humanities. HI indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. It covers current affairs, political science, religion, law, history, archaeology, education, economics, environment and gender studies.

Updated monthly with approximately 1,500 records added; it also has the capability to link to electronic full text of many journal articles

An international abstracting and indexing tool available via ProQuest for research in the humanities. HI indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. It covers current affairs, political science, religion, law, history, archaeology, education, economics, environment and gender studies.

Updated monthly with approximately 1,500 records added; it also has the capability to link to electronic full text of many journal articles

Covers folklore, languages, linguistics and literature. Provides citations for items from journals and series published worldwide from 1926 to date. Indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Available via EBSCOhost.

Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.

German language index of (primarily) German language periodicals, covering all aspects of German language and literature from 1985 to the present.

Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.

An international abstracting and indexing tool available via ProQuest for research in the humanities. HI indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. It covers current affairs, political science, religion, law, history, archaeology, education, economics, environment and gender studies.

Updated monthly with approximately 1,500 records added; it also has the capability to link to electronic full text of many journal articles

Covers folklore, languages, linguistics and literature. Provides citations for items from journals and series published worldwide from 1926 to date. Indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Available via EBSCOhost.

Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.

HAPI is your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. HAPI Online combines current information about Latin America with in-depth coverage spanning more than thirty years.

Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.

An international abstracting and indexing tool available via ProQuest for research in the humanities. HI indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. It covers current affairs, political science, religion, law, history, archaeology, education, economics, environment and gender studies.

Updated monthly with approximately 1,500 records added; it also has the capability to link to electronic full text of many journal articles

Covers folklore, languages, linguistics and literature. Provides citations for items from journals and series published worldwide from 1926 to date. Indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Available via EBSCOhost.

Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.

PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Offering key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a highly respected database produced by the Latin American Center of the University of California, Los Angeles, PRISMA features

Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.

An international abstracting and indexing tool available via ProQuest for research in the humanities. HI indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. It covers current affairs, political science, religion, law, history, archaeology, education, economics, environment and gender studies.

Updated monthly with approximately 1,500 records added; it also has the capability to link to electronic full text of many journal articles

The Music Periodicals Database (formerly known as International Index to Music Periodicals) is the leading specialized source of periodicals for the general, undergraduate, and advanced study of music. It resides on the ProQuest Platform and supports music scholarship, theory, and practice with access to over 400 full-text titles and citations sourced from more than 900 music periodicals.

Music Periodicals Database covers a comprehensive range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals in all aspects of music and musical genres, from the liturgical chants of medieval monks to the eclectic sounds of contemporary alternative rock. Among others, covered topics are: music education, musicology, music theory, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, classical music, opera, jazz, pop culture, popular music forms and composition.

Content is added on a monthly basis. It is also regularly updated with new functionality and features.

Naxos is an online classical music library offering access to the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues. With over 800 new albums added every month, genres including classic pop, rock and Chinese orchestral music are also represented. Also see Naxos Music Library Jazz. 

There is a concurrent usage limit - please click the red 'log out' button when you have finished with this resource.

Online jazz music collection offering over 100,000 jazz tracks from more than 12,000 represented artists. Contains the catalogues of Blue Notes Records, 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz and over 150 other labels. Also see Naxos Music Library.
 

There is a concurrent usage limit - please click the red 'log out' button when you have finished with this resource.

This database provides indexing and abstracts for around 400 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 160 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes almost a million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of each journal. 

Performing Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more. 

L’Année philologique available via Brepols, published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. It contains over 810,000 records with citations to journal articles and books, as well as abstracts. Subjects include Greek and Latin literature, linguistics, history, art, archeology, papyrology, philosophy and religion, music, science and early Christian texts and patristics.

An international abstracting and indexing tool available via ProQuest for research in the humanities. HI indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. It covers current affairs, political science, religion, law, history, archaeology, education, economics, environment and gender studies.

Updated monthly with approximately 1,500 records added; it also has the capability to link to electronic full text of many journal articles

The Philosopher's Index Covers all major fields of philosophy such as aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, etc., and philosophy of related interdisciplinary fields such as education, history, law and religion.

Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.

The Encyclopedia of Christianity Online describes modern-day Christian beliefs and communities in the context of 2000 years of apostolic tradition and Christian history. It is based on the third, revised edition of the critically acclaimed German work Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon, and includes all 5 volumes of the print edition of Encyclopedia of Christianity 1999-2008 which has become a standard reference work for the study of Christianity past and present.

The Encyclopaedia of Judaism Online offers an authoritative, comprehensive, and systematic presentation of the current state of scholarship on fundamental issues of Judaism, both past and present. More than 200 entries cover a range of topics from the classical literature of Judaism and its history to contemporary issues such as genetic engineering.

An international abstracting and indexing tool available via ProQuest for research in the humanities. HI indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. It covers current affairs, political science, religion, law, history, archaeology, education, economics, environment and gender studies.

Updated monthly with approximately 1,500 records added; it also has the capability to link to electronic full text of many journal articles

JSTOR offers academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Via JSTOR books, King's currently has access to over 54,000 titles from over 42 publishers.

King’s subscribes to the following collections within JSTOR:
 

• 19th Century British Pamphlets
• Arts & Sciences I-XV Collection
• Business I Collection
• Business II Collection
• Ireland Collection
• Jewish Studies
• Language & Literature Collection
• Life Sciences Collection
• Music Collection
• Political Science
• Film Studies
• Language and Literature
• Philosophy
• Religion
• Sociology
• Business and Economics

The Philosopher's Index Covers all major fields of philosophy such as aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, metaphysics, etc., and philosophy of related interdisciplinary fields such as education, history, law and religion.

Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.

Produced by Atla, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology, this database combines the premier indexing from Atla Religion Database® (Atla RDB®) with AtlaSerials® (Atlas®), one of Atla's online full-text collections of major religion and theology journals. The Atla Religion Database® (atla RDB®) is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for some journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century.

Provided by Brepolis the Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale (BCM) is an invaluable resource for researchers and scholars interested in the medieval period. It meticulously compiles a wide range of monographs, offering in-depth coverage of various topics. This comprehensive bibliography, established by the Centre d’Études Supérieures de Civilisation Médiévale at the Université de Poitiers, continues to serve as a vital tool for academics seeking to explore and understand the complexities of medieval civilization and culture. References are classified by date, subject and location.

The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language, using today's most advanced technology. The Dictionary draws on as wide a range of texts in date, dialect and genre as possible. 

It differs from previous dictionaries in several important features: a listing in a simplified paradigmatic order of every spelling which is attested for a word in the Electronic Corpus; frequency counts for each word in the corpus so that readers can know what proportion of the evidence has been cited; usage labels where they are statistically significant, noting restrictions to a class of texts, to an author, or to a particular period or dialect; exhaustive citation for all words of twelve or fewer occurrences.
 

Brill’s Medieval Reference Library includes 4 titles:

Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage (2009)
Encyclopedia of the Medieval Chronicle (2010, with updates in 2014, 2016, and 2021)
Encyclopedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles of the British Isles c. 450-1450 (2012, with updates in 2016, 2018, and 2021)
Brill's Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages (2016)

Together they include many articles and illustrations on aspects of medieval history, culture and belief.

The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 1,200 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.

NOTE: choose the database British Newspapers 1600-1900 to cross search both Burney Collection and 19th Century British Library Newspapers.

Empire Online is an interactive collection of primary source documents designed to enable undergraduates, postgraduates, academics and researchers to explore colonial history, politics, culture and society. Thousands of images of unique source material including maps, manuscripts, pamphlets, paintings, drawings, letters, periodicals, official government papers, exhibition catalogues, travel writing, missionary papers and rare books. 

Detailed indexing enables the sources to be explored in a variety of ways (by period, by date, by person and subject). Sources spanning five centuries: from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others, right through to de-colonisation in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American Imperialism.

Throughout the 19th century, pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day. 19th Century British Pamphlets, created by Research Libraries UK (RLUK), contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in research libraries in the United Kingdom. The collection brings together a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain. 

The nine collections of pamphlets are:

• Cowen Tracts (1603-1898)
• Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection (1800-1900)
• Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection (1545-1900)
• Hume Tracts (1769-1890)
• Knowsley Pamphlet Collection (1792-1868)
• Selections – University of Manchester British Political Pamphlets Collection (1799-1900)
• Selections – London School of Economics and Political Science (1800-1899)
• Selections – University of Bristol (1800-1899)
• Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection (1761-1900)

The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. 

The complete database now contains just over 600,000 records, and is updated three times a year, usually in February, June and October. Separate records for articles in journals and in collective volumes, as well as for books; 570 journals are now searched for relevant material. Access to data from Irish History Online, London's Past Online, Scottish Historical Review Trust. Specially designed subject classification scheme. Links to online full text, where available.

Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.

The Victorian Popular Culture portal is an essential resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. This innovative portal is comprised of four separate sections, available to purchase individually and fully cross-searchable: 
 

• Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; 
• Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; 
• Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; 
• Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema.
  
  Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.

The Churchill Archive is a digital library of modern international history that includes over 800,000 pages of original documents. Spanning 1874-1965, sources include Churchill’s personal correspondence as well as his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders.

To log in select: 
Login (top right) then Login via your institution (Shibboleth / Open Athens)

Screen Studies Online is a new portal for subscribers to Proquest film resources which combines the American Film Institute Catalog (AFI Catalog), FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals and Film Index International. Created in partnership with three distinguished film research organizations, the British Film Institute, the American Film Institute, and the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), Screen Studies Online can be used to cross-search these three resources or to search the individual databases separately.

This collection of 2,740 documents sheds light on the U.S. intelligence community’s spying and analytic efforts in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa. It covers the time period from the end of World War II to the present day, up until the 2002-2003 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Iran’s nuclear program.

HAPI is your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. HAPI Online combines current information about Latin America with in-depth coverage spanning more than thirty years.

Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.

PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Offering key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a highly respected database produced by the Latin American Center of the University of California, Los Angeles, PRISMA features

Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.

The CNKI China Academic Journals database is the largest full-text Chinese journals database in the world. Offered via the China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI) platform, CAJ covers all academic journals published in mainland China, with comprehensive access to an impressive range of content in all disciplines, including medicine & Public Health, information science and economics and management. 
 

Search worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.

Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.

Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.

The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.

An essential resource for the study of slavery, the African American experience and world history spanning over five centuries.

Designed for teaching and research, this resource brings together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world, covering an extensive time period from 1490. Topics covered include the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today. 
The resource offers in-depth case studies in America, the Caribbean, Brazil and Cuba along with important material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.

Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.