News
The following databases hold a vast number of UK and International newspapers. However, do check our A-Z ejournals list for specific titles.
Company Information
The most in depth information for UK & Irish companies can be found in the FAME database where you can search by industry, location, size of business (number of employees, turnover). All information is provided by Companies House.
Company profiles, both UK and international, can also be found in the following databases:
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Search worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete (BSC) is a scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. It includes abstracts for more than 1,300 business journals back as far as 1886. Full text is available for 1160 titles and in most cases there is a 1 year embargo on issues. BSC also includes around 2800 full-text industry reports from three different providers, as well a company profiles for over 10,000 leading world companies from MarketLine (previously Datamonitor) and Life Science Analytics.
- FAME (Off Campus access) This link opens in a new window Fame is a database for searching company information. Users can research individual companies, search for companies with specific profiles, and do detailed analysis.
- Nexis UK (LexisNexis) - new platform This link opens in a new window This database focuses on news information, together with comprehensive UK company information and detailed financial reports. Newspaper coverage is widespread and contains both English language and other international sources. UK national and regional newspapers are also available.
Case Studies
The following databases and websites all contain case studies that are either freely available or as part of our subscriptions.
- Henry Stewart Talks (Business & Management Collection) This link opens in a new window The Henry Stewart Talks Business and Management Collection contains over 900 animated, online, video lectures and case studies by experts from commerce, industry, the professions and academia. Topics include accounting, economics, finance, global business, marketing strategy, management and technology, and more. New lectures and case studies are released every month.There are over 850 contributing editors, speakers and case study presenters and more than 30,000 informative slides. The collection is regularly expanded and updated.
- WARC This link opens in a new window WARC provides unbiased information and advice on advertising and marketing. Which is delivered via best practice guides, case studies, research papers, special reports and advertising trend data, as well as via webinars, awards, events and advisory services.If you encounter problems logging in from counties outside the UK please email library@kcl.ac.uk stating which country you need access from.
- The Financial Times
The FT has an extensive collection of management case studies. - Learning EdgeProvided by MIT Management School. The teaching business case studies available on LearningEdge fall under the headings of entrepreneurship, leadership/ethics, operations management, strategy, sustainability, and system dynamics.
- WBCSD case studiesThe World Business Council for Sustainable Development case studies and other resources.
- The World Bank Doing Business Case StudiesDoing Business case studies highlight the specific experience of an economy or region in improving important aspects of business regulation. They offer an insight into regulatory issues faced by policy makers, challenges they had to overcome, and the impact of their initiative.
Country Information
The following databases and websites contain country information including reports, profiles, SWOT analyses and statistics.
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Search worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete (BSC) is a scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. It includes abstracts for more than 1,300 business journals back as far as 1886. Full text is available for 1160 titles and in most cases there is a 1 year embargo on issues. BSC also includes around 2800 full-text industry reports from three different providers, as well a company profiles for over 10,000 leading world companies from MarketLine (previously Datamonitor) and Life Science Analytics.
- Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window Euromonitor Passport is a global market information database and analysis tool containing comprehensive data and reports across all industries, countries, and consumers. It is one of the world's leading providers of global business intelligence, market research data and analysis. Using Passport's robust analysis and visualisation tools can help with designing teaching materials and projects with real-world relevance, such as strategic planning, economic analysis, industry benchmarking, competitive threats and market entry studies. When on-campus, access via the 'Institutional Access' option. When off-campus, registering with an account is required in order to use the resource. Access via the above entry name link, and then register/log in with your individual account to continue.
- Nexis UK (LexisNexis) - new platform This link opens in a new window This database focuses on news information, together with comprehensive UK company information and detailed financial reports. Newspaper coverage is widespread and contains both English language and other international sources. UK national and regional newspapers are also available.
- OECD iLibrary - Employment and Labour Market Statistics This link opens in a new window The OECD Employment and Labour Market Statistics database includes a range of annual labour market statistics and indicators from 1960 broken down by sex and age, as well as information about part-time and short-time workers.It also included information about job tenure, hours worked, unemployment duration, trade union, employment protection legislation, minimum wages, labour market programmes for OECD countries and non-member economies.
- Library of Congress Country StudiesContains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world. Most books in the series deal with a single foreign country, but a few cover several countries or a geographic region.
- UK Data ServiceThe UK Data Service provides access to high quality local, regional, national and international social and economic data.
Click on Register/Login in the top corner to set up an account. Students and staff in UK high education can register for free.