LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension which links you to the full-text of articles when you are searching on journal websites, Wikipedia, Google, PubMed and other places on the web. You can install Nomad onto your own devices to make it easy to access the full version of journal articles you wish to read.
Further information about LibKey Nomad can be found here.
Clinical Resources
Through the library staff and students can access a variety of clinical resources, including journals, databases and point of care tools that support evidence-based decision-making and answering clinical questions.
Below are a selection of the different resources available you may find relevant to Nursing, Midwifery & Palliative Care:
-
Best Practice (BMJ) – King's This link opens in a new window Best Practice is a completely new concept for information delivered at the point of care. In a single source there is combination of the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion – presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Its patient-focused approach represents a major advancement in information delivery at the point of care. There is a mobile app available
-
BMJ Case Reports - King's This link opens in a new window BMJ Case reports delivers a focused, peer-reviewed, valuable collection of cases in all disciplines. It is the largest single collection of case reports online where you can easily find clinically important information on common and rare conditions. King's staff and students and NHS staff may submit to this journal. Please contact nhsenquiry@kcl.ac.uk for the fellowship code.
-
BMJ Portfolio This link opens in a new window A free online tool to plan and record your continuing medical education
-
DynaMed This link opens in a new window DynaMed provided via EBSCO combines the highest quality evidence-based information, expert guidance and a user-friendly, personalized experience to deliver accurate answers fast at the point of care. Key takeaways, targeted synopses, and clearly defined recommendations maximize efficiency, reducing time to answer with information that is quickly accessible and actionable.DynaMed ensures peace of mind in the clinical decision-making process with content based on a rigorous, seven-step evidence-based methodology, robust systematic literature surveillance with daily updates, and clinical expertise that both complements and clarifies the evidence.Important note: After using the above link the new page will open - please click on “Access through your Institution” tab link to authenticate access.
-
Evidence Search (NICE) This link opens in a new window Built around a powerful search engine, provides access to the best evidence based resources, especially good for guidelines and reviews. It also provides links to other NHS resources, such as healthcare databases, electronic journals and Specialist Collections.
-
FastFacts This link opens in a new window Fast Facts address knowledge gaps in healthcare enabling a dialogue between healthcare professionals, patients and other stakeholders from the healthcare ecosystem. It provides premium content to improve medical practice and its goal is to promote health through communication with a global network of medical practitioners and patients.
-
Oxford Medicine Online (OMO) - Kings This link opens in a new window Oxford Medicine Online is a collection of online medical resources which cover every stage in a medical career. The collection covers prestigious digital medical resources from Oxford University Press, including world-renowned titles covering a variety of specialty areas ranging from anaesthesiology to nursing, and from dentistry to neurology. Available on the Oxford Academic platform, content is easy to navigate, accessible on any device, and supports a myriad of tools and features, images and videos, diagrams and charts, and more. King's has access to over 1700 books including Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine, Oxford Textbook of Medicine and Oxford Clinical Guidelines.
-
TRIP This link opens in a new window TRIP is a clinical search engine providing a single search interface to a large number of web resources, which contain high quality evidence for answering clinical questions, including journals, synopses, online textbooks and systematic reviews. As well as research evidence we also allow clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
-
Mind The Gap Clinical Handbook of signs and symptoms in brown skin
Clinical Evidence Apps to Download
Many apps are now available that support clinical decision making on the go, providing access to top quality medical evidence at the point of care.
- BMJ Best Practice
Point of care tool with advice on symptom evaluation, test ordering and treatment approach. Procedural videos and images are included for relevant conditions. The app also provides access to 250 interactive medical calculators.
- BNF & BNF for Children app
Essential medicines information app, providing access to the latest drug information quickly, offline and on-the-go.
- Cochrane Libary
Latest up-to-date evidence from the Cochrane Library
- DynaMed
Clinician-focused point of care tool designed to facilitate efficient and evidence-based patient care.
- MDCalc Medical Calculator
Aims to support medical professionals to do calculations, process algorithms and scores, and assess risk.
- TOXBASE
Primary clinical toxicology database of the UK National Poisons Information Service
Anatomy Resources
Below are a selection of anatomy resources, both available via the library or via other methods, that may support clinical practice:
-
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy This link opens in a new window Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy is an accessible source of anatomical knowledge. With simple language and realistic, 3D visuals, it may be used as an adjunct to dissection as well as for students who need to re-learn clinically relevant anatomy for their surgical rotations or who are taking anatomy modules.
-
AnatomediaPLUS This link opens in a new window Anatomedia is a comprehensive, self-paced learning program that students, teachers and practitioners can access from anywhere. Comprised of 9 interactive modules, it incorporates the latest radiology methods and research, developing knowledgeable anatomists and clinicians. Meksi, an AI powered Virtual Patient (Beta version), allows doctors and medical students to safely practice and refine clinical consultation skills. It currently focuses on chest pain and more clinical cases will be added as the tool is developed.To use this resource press the “launch” button. Please ignore institutional log-in option.
-
The Visible Human Project The National Library of Medicine Visible Human Project has created publicly-available complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of a human male body and a human female body.