The Foyle Special Collections Library
The Foyle Special Collections holds over 240,000 items – printed books, pamphlets and periodicals, as well as maps, slides, manuscripts, typescripts and photographs – ranging in date from the 15th century to the present day.
Of particular relevance are the Guys Hospital Historical Collection and the St Thomas's Hospital Historical Collection.
The Foyle Special Collections Library is open to King's staff and students and to external readers. Further details, including how to make arrangements to visit, can be found here.
King's College London Archives
King’s College London Archives hold a unique and internationally significant range of archival and printed sources, ensuring their preservation and providing access to King's students, academics and other colleagues, the global research community and the general public. The collections include material on the history of King's College London and its merged institutions, as well as history of Medicine, Nursing and Science.
Further details about the Archives, including how to make arrangements to visit, can be found here.
Historic & Heritage Collections
Our collections on the History of Medicine held in our libraries, Foyle Special Collections Library and our Archives are an area of collection strength and are considered to be of national and international importance.
Our Historic and Heritage Collections reflect the long history and association with King's College London with some of the pre-eminent hospitals and medical schools in London. Both the St Thomas's Hospital Historical Collection and Guy's Hospital Historical Collection contain a range of material - including books and journals - that reflect a range of subjects including surgery, anatomy, clinical medicine and pharmacology. The Guy's Hospital Physical Society Collection contains material that that covers the period from the mid-eighteenth to the early twentieth century and include titles on the natural sciences as well as medicine. Our archival holdings may be of particular interest for their significant holdings on nursing, including material form both the King's College Nurse's League and the Royal British Nurses' Association.