Skip to Main Content

Reading List Migration Project

We are migrating to a new Reading List system to improve the service we provide for you, which will be available from the 10th August 2022:

  • Friday 15 July, 17:00 - System Freeze period
    • Current Reading List system (Talis) will be unavailable to all faculty staff.
    • Libraries & Collections staff will continue to order resources.
    • Students can continue to view reading list information.
  • Saturday 16 July to Tuesday 9 August Data Migration
    • Waiting to submit in the new system is preferable however we understand that this may not be possible and are providing a route to enable faculty staff to submit reading lists:
  • Wednesday 10 August - Launch of Leganto
    • Staff will be able to access, edit and create new lists in the new Reading List system.
    • We will retain access to the old system until end of December 2022 as a back-up and to ensure continuity of services to our students.
Training & Support

We have library staff time set in August to help with troubleshooting the new system. This support can be accessed by emailing library@kcl.ac.uk

Find Quick Guides and the webinar schedule in the Building and Developing Your Reading Lists module in KLaSS:

 

Welcome

Welcome to the guide for the university's reading list system.

How can Reading Lists help? 

Using Reading Lists allows you to create an easy-to-use and accessible reading list for your students, allowing them to click straight through to material that we hold electronically. Submitting your list to the library for review ensures that we are able to acquire the material that your students will need to read for their success.

Reading lists for the academic year 2022/2023

Libraries and Collections will be providing resources for Reading Lists to support teaching in a HyFlex environment, striking the balance between the ongoing focus on digital education and offering physical resources in line with the university expectation for a substantial on-campus presence for teaching in the new academic year. 

We will be operating an online first but not online only approach to acquiring resources for reading lists. We are reintroducing the purchase of print materials for core reading where they are not available in online formats. We are also reintroducing the purchase of recommended reading in online format and limited print format. 

We will continue to digitise core and recommended material available from print copies outside of our collections under copyright law, where they cannot be reasonably purchased in digital or physical format. 

Please be aware that our ability to supply and make material accessible will be subject to availability, subscription packages and licenses via our suppliers. We also anticipate the impact of COVID on supply chains which may result in delays to the delivery of print materials. 

A more complete set of guidelines can be found in the Guides and Materials for Developing Your Reading List section of our KEATS module:

Training and guidance

A range of support materials, including:

  • a step-by-step guide
  • a recorded webinar
  • a discussion forum
  • our calendar of sign-up training sessions
  • guidance on locating alternative texts in our collections (where a requested item is unavailable)

can be found at our Building and Developing Your Reading Lists KEATS module:

What are the benefits of using Reading Lists?

  • Provides a single place to request reading list items, including digitised course readings
  • Enables multiple academics to edit lists for shared modules
  • Notes can be added; directing students to important readings, requesting literature searches, or for extended bibliographies
  • Regularly check and update your reading lists, ensuring the library holds up-to-date editions of books.
  • Analytics are available via the Dashboard to show how students are interacting with lists
  • Aligns with Education Strategy and other key campaigns aiming to diversify our curriculum and collections​
  • Provides immediate access to online material across modules in a consistent way
  • Ensures that Core readings are available in the right format
  • Lists can be embedded into the relevant KEATS space so all materials are in one place
  • Provides material in an instantly accessible format, encouraging independent study. Some eBooks also have a read-aloud function.