Skip to main content

COVID-19 Pandemic and Online access to resources

As a result of the COVID-19 pandemic, publishers and library suppliers have given Libraries and Collections (L&C) temporary additional access to resources to facilitate online teaching and research. This libguide lists all additional access and will be updated as more resources become available.

The Resources focused on COVID-19 tab contains new microsites which publishers have created containing information about COVID-19 itself.

The Other resources made available during the COVID-19 period tab contains links to resources that have been made available to us across the disciplines for teaching and research purposes for a fixed period during the coronavirus epidemic.

While this will boost our collections, it is only a temporary measure at the discretion of publishers and we are unable to guarantee access beyond this extraordinary trial period. A small but not insignificant proportion of our licenses for electronic journal contact only allow access onsite from a King’s IP address. We are considering various ways of extending access to these resources both by working with publishers and suppliers, and through technical solutions.

During this time our focus will be on maintaining and enabling access to our online resources. We will not be purchasing print resources for the foreseeable and due off-campus working we will be unable to digitise non-accessible format print materials

Access to existing online resources

Key links for our current online resources include:

MyReadingLists

Databases A-Z

Ejournals A-Z

Library Search & Library Catalogue (filter to ebook etc)

Archives research resources:

Catalogue: https://kingscollections.org/catalogues/home

To see our specialisms: https://www.kcl.ac.uk/library/collections/archives

Research Guides: https://www.kcl.ac.uk/library/collections/archives#using

Digitised collections including: The Serving Soldier, Codebreakers: Makers of Modern Genetics, King’s College Calendars (1831-1986), Victorian Lives

Archives & Special Collections online exhibitions: https://kingscollections.org/exhibitions/home

Special Collections research resources:

University of London

Senate House Library (for members). To register online for free membership see:  https://senatehouselibrary.libguides.com/remote-registration

ebook licences

Some ebook licences restrict the number of concurrent users so during this time of high demand you may need to try again later if you experience difficulties. Library materials are a shared resource and we are unable to provide personalised resources or individual licences for all our staff and students. 

Accessible Formats Service

The Accessible Formats Service (AFS) will continue to operate remotely. Most students already have their texts in an accessible format. We will prioritise acquiring any outstanding core texts, including making digitisations where no accessible file or ebook is available.

We will continue to monitor the Accessible Formats Service email account and deal with any queries from students or members of faculty staff and take appropriate action, where possible.

MyReadingLists

We will continue to deliver our reading list service, but we will have to adapt the service slightly to accommodate a lack of access to our physical libraries. We will continue to work through all lists that are submitted to the library, but we will only purchase or enable access to resources available online. This may mean that some current core readings will no longer be available as they are only available in print format. We will not be able to maintain a digitisation service at this time.

Should this be the case for your readings, we would ask students to contact their tutors who can recommend alternative resources. If you are teaching staff and would like support in finding alternative readings, please contact the reading list team and we will endeavour to support you in finding alternative materials in our collection.

We are in constant contact with publishers and colleagues in the sector, and we ensure we keep up-to-date on new initiatives that enable open and shared access to scholarly materials and resources, so we will ensure that we share this information with you to increase your access to resources to help you teach and learn.

Contact Us

For general queries please contact library@kcl.ac.uk

If you are an academic who wants support with sourcing alternative materials, now that print materials are unavailable, please contact the people in the box below who will aim to support you.

L&C Contacts by Faculty

  • CMCI (Culture, Media & Creative Industries) – Teresa Elmes, teresa.elmes@kcl.ac.uk
  • Digital Humanities - Teresa Elmes, teresa.elmes@kcl.ac.uk
  • Film Studies - Teresa Elmes, teresa.elmes@kcl.ac.uk
  • Liberal Arts Music - Teresa Elmes, teresa.elmes@kcl.ac.uk
  • Comparative Literature - Teresa Elmes, teresa.elmes@kcl.ac.uk
  • English - Teresa Elmes, teresa.elmes@kcl.ac.uk
  • Classics - Charlotte Low, charlotte.r.low@kcl.ac.uk
  • History - Charlotte Low, charlotte.r.low@kcl.ac.uk
  • Philosophy - Charlotte Low, charlotte.r.low@kcl.ac.uk
  • Theology- Charlotte Low, charlotte.r.low@kcl.ac.uk
  • French - Charlotte Low, charlotte.r.low@kcl.ac.uk
  • German - Charlotte Low, charlotte.r.low@kcl.ac.uk
  • SPLAS (Spanish, Portuguese & Latin American Studies) - Charlotte Low, charlotte.r.low@kcl.ac.uk
  • Modern Language Centre - Charlotte Low, charlotte.r.low@kcl.ac.uk

King’s Business School - Charlie Worthington, charlie.worthington@kcl.ac.uk

Dickson Poon School of Law - Charlie Worthington, charlie.worthington@kcl.ac.uk

Social Sciences & Public Policy (SSPP) – Theo Stubbs, theo.1.stubbs@kcl.ac.uk

Natural & Mathematical Sciences (NMS) – Theo Stubbs, theo.1.stubbs@kcl.ac.uk

Faculty of Life Science & Medicine (FoLSM) (Bioscience Education) - Theo Stubbs, theo.1.stubbs@kcl.ac.uk

Nursing & Midwifery – Clare Camp, clare.camp@kcl.ac.uk

Dental, Oral & Craniofacial Sceinces (DOCS) - Clare Camp, clare.camp@kcl.ac.uk

Institute of Psychology, Psychiatry & Neuroscience (IoPPN) - Clare Camp, clare.camp@kcl.ac.uk

FoLSM (GKT School of Medical Education) - Clare Camp, clare.camp@kcl.ac.uk