Further reading
- A typology of reviews: an analysis of 14 review types and associated methodologies.
Article by Grant, M.J. and Booth, A. (2009). - How to carry out a literature search for a systematic review: A practical guide.
Article intended for clinicians and researchers who are approaching the field of evidence synthesis and would like to perform a literature search (subscription content, log in with your King's username and password).
Systematic Approaches to a Successful Literature Review by
Showing you how to take a structured and organized approach to a wide range of literature review types, this book helps you to choose which approach is right for your research. Packed with constructive tools, examples, case studies and hands-on exercises, the book covers the full range of literature review techniques, New to this edition: · Full re-organization takes you step-by-step through the process from beginning to end · New chapter showing you how to choose the right method for your project · Practical guidance on integrating qualitative and quantitative data · New coverage of rapid reviews · Comprehensive inclusion of literature review tools, including concept analysis, scoping and mapping With an emphasis on the practical skills, this guide is essential for any student or researcher needing to get from first steps to a successful literature review.
ISBN: 1473912466Publication Date: 2016
- Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of InterventionsThe Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions is the official guide that describes in detail the process of preparing and maintaining Cochrane systematic reviews on the effects of healthcare interventions.
Doing a Systematic Review by
Available to borrow from King's libraries: If you are a Masters or a PhD student conducting a systematic review for your dissertation or thesis, then this is the book for you! Written by an expert team of authors with years of experience in conducting systematic reviews and supervising students doing systematic reviews, the book provides a roadmap to guide you through the process. The book addresses the following questions: - What's the best way to manage my review? - How do I formulate an appropriate review question? - How do I develop my search strategy? - How do I get started on data extraction? - How do I assess the quality of the studies I'm using? - How can I analyse and synthesise my data? - How should I write up the discussion and conclusion sections of my dissertation or thesis? - Where should I publish my data? Throughout the book, the authors make extensive use of questions posed by real students when carrying out reviews to help you through some of the challenges you may face. Like a team of supervisors in your pocket, this book will provide you with the tips and tools for a successful dissertation.
ISBN: 9781446269688Publication Date: 2013
How to Do a Systematic Literature Review in Nursing by
Ebook accessible with a King's College London log-in: A step-by-step guide to doing a literature review in nursing, or related healthcare professions, that takes you through every step of the process from start to finish.
ISBN: 9780335242283Publication Date: 2012
Systematic reviews : CRD's guidance for undertaking reviews in health care by ISBN: 9781900640473Publication Date: 2009Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) publication covering the methods and steps necessary to conduct a systematic review.
Systematic Reviews in Health Care by
The past two decades have seen increasing interest and developments in methods for doing high quality systematic reviews. This volume provides a clear introduction to the concepts of systematic reviews, and lucidly describes the difficulties and traps to avoid. A unique feature of the manual is its description of the different methods needed for different types of health care questions: frequency of disease, prognosis, diagnosis, risk, and management. This book also provides illustrative examples and exercises for each of the sections.
ISBN: 9780511019210
- Updating systematic reviews
Article assessing the guidance available on when and how to update a systematic review
Clinical Epidemiology by ISBN: 0781745241Publication Date: 2005-09-21Focusing on clinical-practice research methods, chapter 2 of this book is on Conducting Systematic Reviews. It is available in print and online to King's staff and students.
Social Science Systematic Reviews
Systematic Review (SR) Toolbox
Systematic Review (SR) Toolbox is a searchable online catalogue of tools to support systematic reviews, which aims to help reviewers find appropriate tools based on their needs. It uses a simple, yet flexible, classification system to classify tools based on how they provide support for the systematic review process.
Undertaking a systematic review involves the systematic storage, management, validation and analysis of large quantities of data; activities that can be error prone and time consuming. Automated tools (i.e. software), therefore, can be used to support many aspects of the systematic review process.
For example, the SR Toolbox contains details of Risk of Bias software and websites including RoB 2, ROBINS-I and other risk of bias tools and checklists.
Although the focus of SR Toolbox is on identifying software to support systematic reviews, other tools or support mechanisms (i.e. checklists, guidelines and reporting standards) can also be found.
PROSPERO: Register your systematic review
PROSPERO is an international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care. Key features from the review protocol are recorded and maintained as a permanent record. PROSPERO aims to provide a comprehensive listing of systematic reviews registered at inception to help avoid unplanned duplication and enable comparison of reported review methods with what was planned in the protocol.
Consider registering your systematic review and also searching to see whether a systematic review on your prospective topic has also been registered in order to avoid duplicating research.
- PROSPERO PROSPERO is an international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care. Key features from the review protocol are recorded and maintained as a permanent record. PROSPERO aims to provide a comprehensive listing of systematic reviews registered at inception to help avoid unplanned duplication and enable comparison of reported review methods with what was planned in the protocol. Managed by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination, University of York.
PROSPERO includes details of any ongoing systematic review that has a health related outcome in the broadest sense. Systematic review protocols registered on PROSPERO can include studies of any design. Work is underway to facilitate the inclusion of reviews of pre-clinical studies.
Other registers of systematic review protocols include the Cochrane Collaboration, Campbell Collaboration and Joanna Briggs Institute.There are also some journals which publish Systematic Review protocols e.g. BioMed Central's Systematic Reviews.
CAMARADES (Collaborative Approach to Meta-Analysis and Review of Animal Data from Experimental Studies) provides a supporting framework for groups involved in the systematic review and meta-analysis of data from experimental animal studies and protocols can be submitted to their site.
If your Systematic Review does not fit PROSPERO's criteria e.g. a review of pre-clinical studies then you could consider publishing your protocol on a site such as Research Gate, figshare or Open Science Framework (OSF).
Scoping reviews also can't currently be included on PROSPERO. The PRISMA guidance for scoping reviews (PRISMA SCr) suggests some locations for registering the protocol including Open Science Framework.
Can't access the full text? Interlending and Document Delivery
All King’s College London staff and students as well as staff from King's Health Partners are eligible to make requests for books and articles for teaching and research purposes that aren’t available in the King’s collections.
Requests can be made for books, journal articles, theses, dissertations and other publications.
Students and staff are allocated a number of free requests at the beginning of each academic year. For more information on how to place a request and to see the annual allocation please visit the Interlending and Document Delivery page.
If you are aware that the systematic review you are undertaking will rely heavily on material that King's does not subscribe to or that you cannot gain access to via other libraries such as the Senate House Library or the British Library then you should first contact the Library for advice and to discuss your specific needs. If you expect to make a large number of requests then it may be necessary to agree with you an approximate time frame for obtaining the requested material that will not adversely affect other customers of the service. In the majority of cases you will find that the free annual allocation will be enough, particularly for systematic reviews limited to the English language in the health, clinical & life sciences fields.