Searching for Systematic Reviews & Evidence Synthesis: Library Workshops, Drop ins and 1-2-1s

Information for staff

KCL Libraries and Collections often receive requests from undergraduate and taught postgraduate students for support with reviews. We are very happy to support these requests and have developed this guide aimed at staff outlining our service offer.

Information for students

The document below gives a concise overview of how Libraries & Collections can help you when undertaking a review with links to key information and support. It also details aspects of undertaking a review which are beyond the scope of our service offer.

We have created a comprehensive e-learning pathway to support you to develop the advanced searching skills for systematic reviews. To find the course, click the link to KLaSS below and look for Finding Academic Material for Advanced Health Topics. This e-learning module also describes how to book onto our 2 hour webinar LIB261 Search Techniques for Systematic Reviewers.

We encourage you to use the guidance in this library guide and the online e-learning on KEATS, as well as potentially attending one of the workshops (currently run as webinars) available to book from this Library Guide. 

If you have specific questions regarding your systematic review, such as whether you have selected the right databases or used the right search terms in your search strategy, please visit our Online Forum in KLaSS, on KEATS. The Forum can offer support and guidance in developing your search strategy, accessed through the link below:

When using the Searching for Systematic Review Forum for more in-depth enquiries, it is helpful for you to provide us with:

• Your current research topic or focused question
• Any search terms or keywords you are currently using
• Examples of databases you have searched
• Examples of research papers you would expect to see when using these search terms
• Screen grabs of your database search or a Word document with the search strategy detailed line by line (see appendices of existing systematic reviews)

Courses on literature review searching and on advanced search techniques for systematic reviews run regularly through the year and can be booked via this Library Guide.

Training for KCL staff and students

• Introductory Literature Review Workshop for Health & Clinical Sciences (LIB229) 
• Introduction to Advanced Database Searching for Health & Life Sciences (LIB260)
• Advanced search techniques for systematic reviews (LIB261)
  • Please note LIB261 is taught as a flipped classroom (pre-learning required before the session), so either e-learning and a quiz will need to be completed before the booking form is made available on KEATS or you will need to have attended the 'Introduction to Advanced Database Searching for Health & Life Sciences (LIB260)' see above.
• LIB262: Advanced Searching for Systematic Reviews. 6 week online course for taught and research postgraduate students. [Currently on hold].

Training for NHS staff 

•  Introduction to advanced searching in healthcare databases and Critical Appraisal webinars.
  
• The King's Health Partners Learning Hub has a module "How to read a paper" that you may find interesting.

Assistance on the basics of searching techniques is currently available to all students and staff via email or Live Chat as well as workshops. We also hold 1-1 appointments and an online Forum where you can go for support from a librarian on these topics. Links to book are on this page.

Assessing and appraising the quality of each study or report that you are considering for inclusion in your review is an important step within a systematic review. Whilst this step is outside the scope of this Library Guide there is some training on critical appraisal available:

• some King's students will find this included as part of the teaching of their course
• there are sessions run for NHS staff - see training for NHS staff - including Critical Appraisal

Some other training provided by external organisations includes:

• University of York: Centre for Reviews and Dissemination's Introduction to Systematic Reviews and Critical Appraisal Course

• Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine's training on Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine

Cochrane Interactive Learning is aimed primarily for authors of systematic reviews following Cochrane methodology. It is useful for both introductory-level learners and more experienced learners who want to refresh and update their knowledge. This course provides over 10 hours of self-directed learning on the complete systematic review process for both new and experienced review authors.

Module 1: Introduction to conducting systematic reviews is a free module but the remaining modules require a subscription. At this stage there is no full institutional access at King's so if you are interested in accessing the other modules we recommend you assess whether the material would be suitable and talk to your supervisor or research group with regard to setting up an individual subscription. 

Are you looking for support for statistics or training in statistical software to help with the data analysis stage of your systematic review/meta-analysis?

Sign-up sessions running in the next few months are highlighted below. For workshop details and to book a place, click on the session you are interested in and follow the onscreen prompts. Workshops may be online or at one of our library sites. All workshops online workshops use MS Teams. If you have any problems with your booking please contact library@kcl.ac.uk

List all dates

Attend this drop-in for King's College London staff and students if you would like to discuss your search strategy or database query with a librarian or have any questions about the advanced searching skills required when undertaking a systematic review. 

There is no need to book your place, but please be aware that you may need to wait until a librarian finishes a conversation with another enquirer. Previous attendees have told us that listening to the answers to others' queries can also be useful and the librarian will be aware that you are waiting.

**Please note during summer 2024, we will be trialing using Microsoft Teams, instead of Gather.**

See the workshops schedule to find out more: