Skip to main content

NHS: Library Workshops, Drop Ins and 1-1s

A general guide to Library Services for NHS staff via King's College London

Build your skills

Photo of students being trained

Free hands-on sessions are available for staff at GSTT and KCH to help you improve your skills in finding and understanding evidence.  Staff from SLAM should contact their Library and Knowledge Services for equivalent training. King's College Hospital Staff also have access to training sessions at the PRUH (search Information Skills on Kwiki for more details). 

 

GSTT and KCH staff can:

  • Sign up as an individual using the calendar below. There are sessions running several times a month with dates added regularly so you can plan ahead. Courses are run at the Weston Education Centre Library at Denmark Hill and the New Hunt's House Library at Guy's Campus. You can attend courses at which ever venue is most convenient. 
  • Request a session for a group. This can be tailored to your needs and using examples relevant to your profession or team. Talks can be delivered as part of your education meetings or to support local project work.  Workshops are delivered in our training rooms.
  • Access elearning on the King's Health Partners Learning Hub and e-Learning for Healthcare (e-LfH).

Free courses for NHS staff

Welcome to Libraries & Collections 

A tailored session helping you understand what Libraries & Collections can offer your team or department (particularly if you have little familiarity). Can be delivered as part of your own scheduled meeting. Request a session via the Booking Form.

Libraries & Collections Update

A tailored session helping you understand the new and existing services that Libraries & Collections can offer your team of department. Can be delivered onsite as part of your own scheduled meeting. Request a session via the Booking Form.

Rapid access to evidence-based resources

This 45 minute session will explore some key resources for finding reviews, guidelines and summaries to support your work. Book your place on a session via the calendar on this page or request a session for a group via the Booking Form.

Introduction to healthcare databases

This session provides a hands-on introduction to searching MEDLINE, CINAHL and other databases to find journal articles, including planning your search. Book your place on a session via the calendar on this page or request a session for a group via the Booking Form.

Introduction to critical appraisal of quantitative/qualitative research

Increase your confidence in your critical appraisal skills in these introductory sessions. Learn about the main concepts of critical appraisal and practise appraising an article in a group. Book your place on a session via the calendar on this page or request a session for a group via the Booking Form.

Searching for Systematic Reviews

Information available on the Searching for Systematic Reviews Library Guide. Sign-up sessions, elearning and an online forum are available for affiliate staff.

Good Clinical Practice
The GMC Good Clinical Practice course is available via the King's Health Partners Clinical Trial Office

Sign-up sessions

Sign-up sessions running in the next few months are highlighted below. For venue details and to book a place, click on the session you are interested in and follow the onscreen prompts. You can limit by hospital site or course.

Show all events

If you have problems with your booking please contact library@kcl.ac.uk  

  

Publication dates for NHS workshops:

Workshops running in: Book a place from:
Oct, Nov, Dec 1st Sept
Jan, Feb, Mar 1st Dec
Apr, May, Jun 1st March
Jul, Aug, Sep 1st June

Giving feedback on our courses

If you have recently attended one of the above NHS sessions you can give us feedback via this survey.

Library Drop Ins

Library Drop-In @ New Hunts House Library

Unsure how to do a structured literature search? Having a difficult time finding and accessing the resources you need?  We are here to answer any questions you have about the library resources, a…

Date:
Wednesday, Feb 12, 2020
Time:
2:00pm - 3:00pm
Location:
NHH Teaching Room 2.12, NHH Teaching Room 2.12
Categories:

Library Drop-In @Franklin-Wilkins Library

Come and ask us questions about our resources, get help with planning searches and using databases. …

Date:
Friday, Feb 14, 2020
Time:
2:30pm - 3:30pm
Location:
Room 2.88, Franklin Wilkins Building Library, Room 2.88, Franklin Wilkins Building Library
Categories:

Library Drop-In @ NHH Library

Unsure how to do a structured literature search? Having a difficult time finding and accessing the resources you need?  We are here to answer any questions you have about the library resources, a…

Date:
Thursday, Feb 20, 2020
Time:
1:30pm - 2:30pm
Location:
Room 2.12, New Hunts House Library, Room 2.12, New Hunts House Library
Categories:

Library Drop-in @ The Maughan Library

Come and ask us questions about our resources and literature searching …

Date:
Friday, Feb 21, 2020
Time:
2:30pm - 3:30pm
Location:
ML Teaching Room G14, ML Teaching Room G14
Categories:

Library Drop-In @ Franklin-Wilkins Library

Come and ask us questions about our resources and literature searching …

Date:
Friday, Feb 21, 2020
Time:
2:30pm - 3:30pm
Location:
Room 2.88, Franklin Wilkins Building Library
Categories:
 

Library Drop-In @ New Hunt's House

Come and ask us your questions about accessing library resources and getting started with literature searches. This is also a follow-up drop-in for the course LIB229: Literature Searching for Healt…

Date:
Monday, Feb 24, 2020
Time:
2:30pm - 3:30pm
Location:
NHH Teaching Room 2.12, NHH Teaching Room 2.12
Categories:

Library Drop-in @ Franklin-Wilkins Library Room 2.88

Come and ask us questions about our resources, get help with planning searches and using databases…

Date:
Monday, Feb 24, 2020
Time:
3:00pm - 4:00pm
Location:
Room 2.88, Franklin Wilkins Building Library, Room 2.88, Franklin Wilkins Building Library
Categories:

Library Drop-In @ The Maughan Library

Come and ask us your questions about accessing library resources and getting started with literature searches.…

Date:
Wednesday, Feb 26, 2020
Time:
10:00am - 11:00am
Location:
ML Teaching Room G14, ML Teaching Room G14
Categories:

Library Drop-In @ The WEC

Come and ask us questions about Library resources, how to plan a search strategy, or use a database...…

Date:
Friday, Feb 28, 2020
Time:
12:30pm - 1:30pm
Location:
Room 1.51, WEC Library, Room 1.51, WEC Library
Categories:

Book a 30 minute 1-1 with a librarian

Library users can book a 30 minute 1-1 appointment with a librarian, at all of our libraries (except St Thomas' currently). 

These sessions are designed to help you with database queries, literature searches, and/or general support with navigating our online resources during your time at King's College London or while working for one of our partnered NHS Trusts.

Please note: King's librarians cannot assist with proofreading enquiries.

For support with systematic reviews, library users will need to sign up to one of our fortnightly workshops (details in separate box on this page). King's students and staff can also head to our online forum on KEATs; see the 'Get Help Online with our Forum' box elsewhere on this page. 1-1 appointments are not intended for supporting systematic reviews, other than helping with basics like database search techniques.

Before seeking a 1-1 appointment with a librarian, we encourage all library users to head to our online support channels for their literature search and online resource enquiries. Answers can be found there first, and the 1-1 appointment service is not always available when you may need it. King's students and staff can find in-depth support via our KLaSS elearning module on KEATs; sign-up workshops (see above); the online forum (see above); a Drop-In session (see details elsewhere on this page) or the email or Live Chat options on our Contact Us webpages. KCH and GST staff can find various types of alternative support via the pages on our NHS LibGuide. 

eLearning

Finding Evidence (KHP Learning Hub)

Are you trying to develop a search strategy? Struggling to access the full text of a journal article? Looking for reviews, guidelines or summaries of evidence? Searching for information but getting lots of irrelevant results or nothing at all?

This course will help you find the evidence you need to inform patient care or service development, update guidelines or policies, support assignments or professional development and inform research.

To access the course:

1) Login to the Learning Hub with your Trust network login - click the relevant organisation logo

  • KCH staff - use your network login
  • GSTT staff - enter gstt\ before your username

2) Search for Finding Evidence (or browse the Professional Development Section)

The course includes the modules below from the NHS e-LfH Literature Searching Programme.

The Learning Hub also hosts a growing collection of other resources including podcasts and guidance on How to read a paper.

Literature Searching Programme (e-LfH)

Building the foundations

Building the skills

Applying the skills 

The modules are short (each taking no more than 20 minutes to complete) and may be ‘dipped into’ for reference, or completed to obtain a certificate. 

e-Learning for Healthcare (e-LfH) hosts extensive elearning resources tailored for NHS staff - many require OpenAthens to login.

Research Guidance