Contact Us
For general enquiries about Libraries & Collections, you can also email library@kcl.ac.uk
If you would like to contact IT, their details are below:
Or email them at 88888@kcl.ac.uk
Icons used by these guides are from Flaticon.com.
Artist credits: Dinosoft Labs, Becris, Icon Pond, Alfredo Hernandez, Vectors Market, and Freepik.
Welcome to your NHS Library Guide
Welcome to the Libraries & Collections support pages for NHS staff.
Libraries & Collections can help you with:
- finding materials (books, journals and more) relevant to your CPD, research and patient care
- using our online resources
- learning skills in handling evidence
If you need any help, feel free to contact us.
Use the pages on this guide to find out more about how to join the library, the resources available, and the training and support available to you. KCH staff can also request an evidence search via this guide and sign-up for current awareness alerts.
NHS Knowledge and Library Hub
Knowledge & Library Hub
Remember to sign-in with your NHS Open Athens account to get quick access to full text. Click the yellow banner at the top of the page once you have done your search.
- Knowledge & Library HubLogin with OpenAthens for a simple way to search across the evidence, access articles and for links to Medline, CINAHL and other literature databases
- Introducing the NHS Knowledge and Library Hub2 page quick introduction to using the Hub, covering how to log-in, search, view results and save and create alerts.
Key Library links
- Knowledge & Library HubLogin with OpenAthens for a simple way to search across the evidence, access articles and for links to Medline, CINAHL and other literature databases
- BMJ Best Practice BMJ Best Practice takes you quickly and accurately to the latest evidence-based information, whenever and wherever you need it. Comorbidities Manager has now been added to aid treatment decision making. App version available.
- Ebook Central (Proquest) - NHS This link opens in a new window Libraries & Collections are exploring the potential for ebooks for our NHS staff. A small collection of purchased titles is available with further access to over 154,000 titles. You can read online but also borrow (download) these titles for a few days at a time.NHS OpenAthens required:NHS Staff can self register for OpenAthens - contact nhsenquiry@kcl.ac.uk with questions or if you are a King's student.
- Kortext ebooks NHS OpenAthens required. Click on More for full details
- Oxford Medicine Online (OMO) - NHS This link opens in a new window Choose 'NHS England' as your institution then use OpenAthens detailsOxford Medicine Online is a collection of online medical resources which cover every stage in a medical career. The collection covers prestigious digital medical resources from Oxford University Press, including world-renowned titles covering a variety of specialty areas ranging from anaesthesiology to nursing, and from dentistry to neurology. Available on the Oxford Academic platform, content is easy to navigate, accessible on any device, and supports a myriad of tools and features, images and videos, diagrams and charts, and more.NHS users have access to over 1700 books including Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine, Oxford Textbook of Medicine and Oxford Clinical Guidelines..NHS Staff can self register for OpenAthens - contact nhsenquiry@kcl.ac.uk with questions or if you are a King's student.
- NHS OpenAthensSelf register for OpenAthens to access databases and online journals. You can also login here to update your details
- NHS Ejournals A-ZOnline journals from any computer - you must login with OpenAthens to see the full list via A-Z or Browzine
- Libraries & Collections For general information about Library Services including opening hours, how to join, and borrowing allowances
- Library catalogueThe resource links in LibrarySearch are to the University access. NHS staff should use the Knowledge & Library Hub for ejournals and check the ebooks tab on this guide. Use the filters to limit to paper books.
Karen John-Pierre - Clinical Support Librarian (KCH)
Karen Poole - Clinical Support Librarian (KCH)
News
Wellbeing Book Collection at the WEC Library
There is now a new wellbeing collection for NHS staff at the Weston Education Centre library, curated by WEC Library Assistant Ellen Cropley who wanted to create a selection of books aimed at supporting NHS staff wellbeing. The books are shelved separately from our main collection and can be found on the first floor outside the staff office. We are keen to expand this collection as well as our clinical titles, so if there are any books you would like us to purchase, please let us know by emailing us at library@kcl.ac.uk.
Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) available via a new platform from April 2024
From April 2024, AMED, the allied health and alternative medicine database, moves to a new platform called Dialog.
Log in with your NHS OpenAthens account at this link to search AMED. Contact us if you need any help with using the new platform.
New e-books - Karger Fast Facts added to Kortext
The collection of 160 Karger Fast Facts titles is now available to all NHS staff and students.
This series covers a wide range of clinical topics, from audiology to women’s health.
The books are now all on the Kortext platform (select to log in via institution and choose your Trust from the list) and will also be retrieved when you search the NHS Knowledge and Library Hub.
Suggestions for new titles are welcome (library@kcl.ac.uk). See more details of all the options on our ebook page.
