NHS Knowledge and Library Hub
- NHS Knowledge and Library Hub This link opens in a new window
The NHS Knowledge and Library Hub connects NHS staff and learners seamlessly to a range of high-quality knowledge and evidence resources all in one place. The Hub offers an intuitive search experience for quick searches and options for in-depth searches.
Funded by Health Education England, it offers access to:
- over 14,000 journals
- books and e-publications including OUP handbooks (see the link to Oxford Medicine below for the full collection)
- one-click access to full-text articles or request a copy
- clinical decision support tools such as BMJ Best Practice
- NICE pathways and guidelines
- databases like Medline, EMBASE and CINAHL
Remember to log in using your NHS OpenAthens details to access the full text of journals and books. Full access to the Hub is free to all NHS staff and learners through their NHS OpenAthens account.
NHS Staff can self register for OpenAthens - contact nhsenquiry@kcl.ac.uk with questions or if you are a King's student. - over 14,000 journals
- Video : NHS Knowledge and Library HubShort 2 minute video introducing the NHS Knowledge and Library Hub.
Clinical Resources
- NHS Knowledge and Library Hub This link opens in a new window The NHS Knowledge and Library Hub connects NHS staff and learners seamlessly to a range of high-quality knowledge and evidence resources all in one place. The Hub offers an intuitive search experience for quick searches and options for in-depth searches.Funded by Health Education England, it offers access to:over 14,000 journalsbooks and e-publications including OUP handbooks (see the link to Oxford Medicine below for the full collection)one-click access to full-text articles or request a copy clinical decision support tools such as BMJ Best PracticeNICE pathways and guidelinesdatabases like Medline, EMBASE and CINAHLRemember to log in using your NHS OpenAthens details to access the full text of journals and books. Full access to the Hub is free to all NHS staff and learners through their NHS OpenAthens account. NHS Staff can self register for OpenAthens - contact nhsenquiry@kcl.ac.uk with questions or if you are a King's student.
- BMJ Best Practice BMJ Best Practice takes you quickly and accurately to the latest evidence-based information, whenever and wherever you need it. Comorbidities Manager has now been added to aid treatment decision making. App version available.
- Royal Marsden ManualIncludes over 350 evidence-based clinical procedures related to every aspect of care, from handwashing to cardiopulmonary resuscitation
- BMJ Case Reports - King's This link opens in a new windowBMJ Case Reports is an award winning journal that delivers the largest single collection of case reports online with more than 9000 articles from over 70 countries. You can easily find clinically important information on common and rare conditions.
NHS staff may submit to this journal for free. Please contact nhsenquiry@kcl.ac.uk for the fellowship code - Oxford Medicine Online (OMO) - NHS This link opens in a new window Choose 'NHS England' as your institution then use OpenAthens detailsOxford Medicine Online is a collection of online medical resources which cover every stage in a medical career. The collection covers prestigious digital medical resources from Oxford University Press, including world-renowned titles covering a variety of specialty areas ranging from anaesthesiology to nursing, and from dentistry to neurology. Available on the Oxford Academic platform, content is easy to navigate, accessible on any device, and supports a myriad of tools and features, images and videos, diagrams and charts, and more.NHS users have access to over 1700 books including Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine, Oxford Textbook of Medicine and Oxford Clinical Guidelines..NHS Staff can self register for OpenAthens - contact nhsenquiry@kcl.ac.uk with questions or if you are a King's student.
- BMJ Portfolio This link opens in a new window
A free online tool to plan and record your continuing medical education
- Trip Pro (Trip Premium) This link opens in a new window NHS organisations in England have access to the premium version of TRIP. Access is available via an NHS PC and using NHS OpenAthens. TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) is a clinical search engine providing a single search interface to a large number of web resources, which contain high quality evidence for answering clinical questions, including journals, synopses, online textbooks and systematic reviews. As well as research evidence it also allows clinicians to search across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.The Premium version offers extra search results, additional full-text articles and a collection of images and videos. Related results links can also be found under Analytics for each result.Please note that Trip Pro is only available for Trust OA accounts.NHS Staff can self register for OpenAthens - contact nhsenquiry@kcl.ac.uk with questions or if you are a King's student.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource used by clinicians to make point-of-care decisions. It is not available to NHS staff via KCL or via NHS OpenAthens. Those with affiliate status are eligible for remote and onsite access.
- Mind The GapClinical Handbook of signs and symptoms in brown skin
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The library incorporates six key resources in the field of evidence based practice: CDSR, DARE, CENTRAL - the Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, the Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) and the Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA). A seventh database provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.
Access to the Cochrane Library is free to NHS staff, patients and the public in the United Kingdom. For information on access from other countries see this page
BioDigital Human
BioDigital Human is an interactive 3D anatomy program which allows you to visualise anatomy, internal and external diseases and treatments. This resource is available for KCH and GSTT staff via NHS OpenAthens.
To sign up for this resource, please follow these steps:
- Click on this link and login using your NHS OpenAthens username and password
- This will direct you to the BioDigital Human landing page. From here, select the SIgn Up option
- The Sign Up form should have either King's College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, or Guy's and St. Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust at the top of the page. Fill in your details to create your account
- If you cannot see your Trust name at the top of the form (e.g. if you are signing up from a personal device, or from a non-NHS PC), please try signing up using an Incognito tab in your browser, or clear cookies from the browser you're using
TOXBASE
TOXBASE provides advice on the features and management of poisoning of around 17,000 products and substances, together with information for chemical incidents, and monographs from the UK Teratology Information Service.
It is available as a free app for all NHS staff.
After downloading the TOXBASE app to your phone or tablet, users create a personal app account by completing the registration form on the sign-in screen and then clicking a link in an activation email. You must use your NHS email address for the registration.
TOXBASE is available from the App Store and Google Play
Bibliographic software
- NHS staff can request a RefWorks account if they are expert or regular searchers of bibliographic databases.
- Access to Refworks is also available to King's College London Alumni.
Contact the library for further details.
Accessing clinical evidence on the move - apps to download
Make sure you can get easy access to top quality medical evidence on the ward and when away from your computer by downloading the mobile apps below. These apps help ensure you have access to the best current evidence, to combine with your clinical expertise and patient values and preferences, ensuring Evidence-Based Practice.
- BMJ Best PracticePoint of care tool with advice on symptom evaluation, test ordering and treatment approach. Procedural videos and images are included for relevant conditions. The app also provides access to 250 interactive medical calculators.
- BNF & BNF for Children appEssential medicines information app, providing access to the latest drug information quickly, offline and on-the-go.
- Cochrane LibaryLatest up-to-date evidence from the Cochrane Library
- DynaMedClinician-focused point of care tool designed to facilitate efficient and evidence-based patient care.
- MDCalc Medical CalculatorAims to support medical professionals to do calculations, process algorithms and scores, and assess risk.
- TOXBASEPrimary clinical toxicology database of the UK National Poisons Information Service
Take a look at review sites which test and review medical related mobile apps to see which ones are good for you and which ones are not worth the memory space.
LibKey Nomad
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension which links you to the full-text of articles when you are searching on journal websites, wikipedia, Google, PubMed and other places on the web. You can install Nomad onto your own devices (please note this may not be possible on Trust devices) to make it easy to access the full version of journal articles you wish to read.
The extension is available for Chrome, Firefox and Microsoft Edge, Safari, Brave and Vivaldi browsers. The Chrome and Microsoft Edge links are available below:
- LibKey Nomad on the Chrome web storeSimply install the extension and select the name of your Trust.
Once installed you will see the LibKey Nomad icon next to the address bar in Chrome. - LibKey Nomad for Microsoft EdgeAfter installation, LibKey Nomad prompts you to select your institution. Simply select it and LibKey Nomad will then notify you of available articles wherever you may roam.
Exam resources for medicine
- Almost a Doctor• Works like Wikipedia - put together by users but subject to quality control
• Contains notes, mindmaps, flashcards and an OSCE checklist
• Blogs from other Resident Doctors
• Lots of notes on different topics - Revise MRCP• Covers MRCP Parts 1 and 2
• Over 5,000 MCQs arranged by topic
• Free to sign up
• Past papers going back to September 2010 - MRCPass• Notes on topics covered in MRCP Pt 1
• 130 MCQ questions
• Bookmark questions
• Choose questions by topic
• Track statistics
• Look back over wrong answers - 123DocExam preparation tools
- Radiology Master-Class• Courses accredited by the Royal College of Radiologists
• X-ray interpretation tutorials
• A gallery of sample X-ray cases
Eligible trainees at King’s College Hospital can now submit applications to use their Study Leave allowance to cover the cost of an online examination aids including BMJ OnExamination and PasTest.
Please identify the course you are interested in and discuss your requirements with your educational supervisor. Once agreed submit your request via Intrepid as Exam preparation course relevant to level of training and in a comment box note that this is for an online exam revision course/test.
Applications must be submitted online prospectively, are restricted to one per examination module and are subject to a cap of £200 per trainee. Please see the Study Leave KCH Intranet page for further details and ensure you check eligibility before applying.
BNF App
A combined BNF and BNFC app has been created by the publishers with full details on the BNF website.
The app is available to download for free on Android and iPhone devices. An NHS OpenAthens login is no longer required.
The BNF and BNFc can also be accessed online from NICE without login.
BMJ Best Practice App
BMJ Best Practice is a point of care knowledge tool with step by step guidance on diagnosis, prognosis, treatment and prevention. It is updated daily using robust evidence based methodology and expert opinion. A new Comorbidities Manager is now available to help inform treatment decision making.
An App version is available. To download the app you will need to create a free personal account. To Login with NHS OpenAthens you should click the "Access through your institution" button and enter NHS in England as the name of your institution - you will then be prompted for your OpenAthens login.
A number of users have reported difficulties with setting up the app. If you have previously had a BMJ personal account this should sync with the Best Practice app but if you have any problems, do contact support@bmj.com