Skip to Main Content

Contact Us

Feel free to chat to us by using our 24/7 live online chat:

For general enquiries about Libraries & Collections, you can also email library@kcl.ac.uk

If you would like to contact IT, their details are below:

Or email them at 88888@kcl.ac.uk

Icons used by these guides are from Flaticon.com.

Artist credits: Dinosoft Labs, Becris, Icon Pond, Alfredo Hernandez, Vectors Market, and Freepik.

Welcome

Welcome to the Libraries & Collections support pages for NHS staff.

Libraries & Collections can help you with:

  • finding materials (books, journals and more) relevant to your CPD, research and patient care
  • using our online resources
  • learning skills in handling evidence

If you need any help, feel free to contact us.

NHS Knowledge and Library Hub

Key Library links

Search the Library Subject Guide

King's Libraries Twitter

Knowledge & Library Hub

Searching: Health and Care Evidence

Remember to sign-in with your NHS Open Athens account to get quick access to full text. Click the yellow banner at the top of the page once you have done your search.

News

Global Health database Trial - 1st Feb-30 Apr 2024

King's College Hospital and Bromley Healthcare staff can now access records from Global Health via the NHS Knowledge and Library Hub. The Global Health database is dedicated to public health, completing the picture of international medical and health research by capturing key literature that is not covered by other databases, providing users with a truly global perspective. You can also log into the database directly using your King's College Hospital NHS OpenAthens account.

For a demo, more information or to let us know your feedback on the Global Health database please email us.

New e-books - Karger Fast Facts added to Kortext

The collection of 160 Karger Fast Facts titles is now available to all NHS staff and students.

This series covers a wide range of clinical topics, from audiology to women’s health.

The books are now all on the Kortext platform (select to log in via institution and choose your Trust from the list) and will also be retrieved when you search the NHS Knowledge and Library Hub.

 Suggestions for new titles are welcome (library@kcl.ac.uk). See more details of all the options on our ebook page.

Screenshot of image of the front cover of a Fast Facts booked titled Perioperative Pain  Screenshot of image of the front cover of a Fast Facts booked titled Hypertension

Uplifting reads 

A small collection of uplifting reads chosen by NHS staff has been added to stock at the Weston Education Centre Library (but you can pick them up via your nearest library).  There is a growing collection of uplifting resources being collected and you can see the selected titles on this webpage.

New resources

Maudsley Prescribing guidelines

This key resource for mental health is now available on Wiley Online (NHS OpenAthens required). 

Social Policy and Practice Databases now via Ovid

Social Policy and Practice brings together data from the following 5 leading collections of social policy and practice resources:

  • AgeInfo - Centre for Policy on Agein
  • NSPCC - National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children
  • Planex - IDOX Information Service
  • Social Care Online - Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE)
  • ChildData – National Children’s Bureau (NCB) 

It is available to search via the Ovid interface (type your Trust name and login with OpenAthens) or access via the Hub,

Free BNF and BNFC apps 

Both the BNF and BNF for Children apps are available to download for free by anyone working for the NHS.  Students on an NHS funded course or on placement in the NHS are also eligible.  The apps are available for Android and iPhone devices.  NHS OpenAthens is no longer required. 

The BNF and BNFc can also be accessed online from NICE

Find out about more apps on the Clinical Resources tab of this guide.

Access to e-Learning for Healthcare

All OpenAthens account holders now have access to a large set of elearning resources from Health Education England e-Learning for Healthcare (HEE e-LfH).

HEE e-LfH’s programmes cover subjects from audiology to anaesthesia, dentistry to dermatology, electronic fetal monitoring to end of life care, primary care to prescribing, safeguarding children to statutory and mandatory training. All content is nationally quality-assured and available 24/7. There is also a new Introduction to Critical Appraisal available.

For more information about accessing e-LfH resources via OpenAthens see their Getting Started help information.

Ebooks from Oxford

You can access the full collection of Oxford University Press ebooks in health via Oxford Medicine Online.  So every Oxford HandbookOxford TextbookEmergencies inOxford Desk References whenever you need it. And online offers additional possibilities so the Oxford Textbook of Medicine was updated in February and includes extra chapters, videos and so on. You can download high quality images for your power point slides.  Login free access is available via IP on GSTT and King's College London Library PCs, via the Kwiki ebooks page at KCH or via OpenAthens from anywhere.

To login via OpenAthens - go to the Oxford Academic Books homepage click on the "Sign in" icon and then "Sign In through your Institution".  At this point you need to identify yourself as being part of "NHS England" by either typing into the list or selecting the option when offered if you have accessed the site before.  You will then be prompted for your OpenAthens login.