Knowledge & Library Hub
Remember to sign-in with your NHS Open Athens account to get quick access to full text. Click the yellow banner at the top of the page once you have done your search.
- Knowledge & Library HubLogin with OpenAthens for a simple way to search across the evidence, access articles and for links to Medline, CINAHL and other literature databases
What is the Knowledge and Library Hub?
The NHS Knowledge and Library Hub connects NHS staff and learners seamlessly to a range of high quality knowledge and evidence resources all in one place.
The Hub offers an intuitive search experience for quick searches and options for in-depth searches.
On it you can find:
- over 14,000 journals
- books and e-publications including OUP handbooks (see the link to Oxford Medicine below for the full collection)
- one-click access to full-text articles or request a copy
- clinical decision support tools such as BMJ Best Practice
- NICE pathways and guidelines
- databases like Medline, EMBASE and CINAHL
Find out more in our NHS001 Rapid access to evidence-based resources workshop.
- NHS001: Rapid access to evidence-based resourcesSee upcoming dates for the NHS001: Rapid access to evidence-based resources workshop (in person and online).
- NHS Knowledge and Library Hub This link opens in a new window The NHS Knowledge and Library Hub connects NHS staff and learners seamlessly to a range of high-quality knowledge and evidence resources all in one place. The Hub offers an intuitive search experience for quick searches and options for in-depth searches.Funded by Health Education England, it offers access to:over 14,000 journalsbooks and e-publications including OUP handbooks (see the link to Oxford Medicine below for the full collection)one-click access to full-text articles or request a copy clinical decision support tools such as BMJ Best PracticeNICE pathways and guidelinesdatabases like Medline, EMBASE and CINAHLRemember to log in using your NHS OpenAthens details to access the full text of journals and books. Full access to the Hub is free to all NHS staff and learners through their NHS OpenAthens account. NHS Staff can self register for OpenAthens - contact nhsenquiry@kcl.ac.uk with questions or if you are a King's student.
Remember to log in using your NHS OpenAthens details to access the full text of journals and books. Full access to the Hub is free to all NHS staff and learners through their NHS OpenAthens account.
- NHS OpenAthensSelf register for OpenAthens to access databases and online journals. You can also login here to update your details
- Best Practice (BMJ) (NHS) This link opens in a new window
Best Practice is a highly tailored tool to deliver at the point of care (App version available).
In a single source there is combination of the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion – presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis
NHS Staff can self register for OpenAthens - contact nhsenquiry@kcl.ac.uk with questions or if you are a King's student.. GSTT staff have login free access on site.
There is a mobile app available
- Oxford Medicines OnlineOxford Medicine Online (OMO) contains over 1700 books from Oxford University Press including the Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine, Oxford Textbook of Medicine, and Oxford Clinical Guidelines.
“Introduction to the NHS Knowledge and Library Hub” video
Advanced database searching
Some staff and learners need to carry out complex, robust and reproduceable searches including for systematic review and informing research. These advanced searches should be conducted directly in bibliographic databases such as Medline, Embase and CINAHL (rather than simply using the Hub main search).
Databases are collections of resources such as journal articles and conference papers, and also sometimes book chapters and reports.
Access the AMED, BNI, CINAHL, Embase, Emcare, HMIC, Medline and Social Policy and Practice databases via the links on the Hub under the column headed: In-depth searches.
Find out more at our NHS002: Healthcare databases for Advanced Searchers workshop
- NHS002: Healthcare databases for Advanced SearchersSee upcoming dates for the NHS002: Healthcare databases for Advanced Searchers workshop (in person and online).
When searching using the databases the NHS provides access to you will find links to the full text of articles when you look at your search results. If there is no link then you should see if it is available via the NHS Knowledge and Library Hub.
Some full text database platforms available to NHS staff (Proquest and Ebsco) may not work when logged in to King's College London computers due to authentication issues. Please try using a Private or Incognito browser to access the Hub or database resources if you are seeing an error message.
All King's College Hospital staff can request one of their Clinical Support Librarians to undertake an evidence search on their behalf to find journal articles and evidence to support patient care, clinical practice, quality improvement projects or guidance development.
- Request a search (KCH)Ask your Clinical Support Librarians to undertake an evidence search on your behalf to find journal articles and evidence to support patient care, clinical practice, quality improvement projects or guidance development.
Tips, guides and support
- Library Workshops and 1-2-1sTraining to support your search for journal articles includes:
NHS001: Rapid access to evidence-based resources (for an introduction to the Hub to access journal articles and books, and other evidence-based resources).
NHS002: Healthcare databases for Advanced Searchers (for those who need to search individual databases e.g. CINAHL or Medline) - Resources for advanced searching - NHS Knowledge and Library HubFind out more about what specific bibliographic databases are available to NHS staff, where to find them and how to find support material for the databases.
- Search operators in bibliographic databasesResource produced by NHS Shrewsbury & Telford Health Library providing guidance on using search operators in bibliographic databases.
- Advanced Search Strategy Planning TemplateWorked example introducing search frameworks, including the PICO framework, to break down a focussed search question into its separate concepts and to identify synonyms etc. A blank template is also provided for you to use with your own search question.
- Spelling differences in British and American medical termsKeep these differences in mind when searching!