LibGuides: Business, Law and Politics: Finding UK, EU & International Law

This guide is brought to you by:

UK Legislation and Case Law

UK Case Law & Legal Journals
UK Legislation

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Legal topics. For a more complete list of databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for Law:

A-Z Databases for Law

Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access
As well as the database, it includes access to c.370 Westlaw eLibrary ebooks, including core academic textbooks. Please note that we do not have access to every ebook on the platform.

Westlaw provides case law, up-to-date legislation, academic journals, the Legal Journals Index and current awareness. It also provides EU legislation and cases and International legislation, cases and journal articles. Geographically, it covers primarily Europe and North America, although it is constantly expanding its jurisdictional scope.

For a complete list of services, check the Westlaw Directory. You may browse the different databases by subject or you may run a keyword search to locate relevant resources.

NB. The previous version of Westlaw UK was discontinued from August 2019. For Westlaw E-Books, select 'Books' from the drop-down menu located on the top left of the page

BAILII Open access
more...less...
The British and Irish Legal Information Institute (BAILII) provides access to the most comprehensive set of British and Irish primary legal materials that are available for free and in one place on the internet. In August 2019, BAILII included 102 databases covering 10 jurisdictions The system contains around 169 gigabytes of legal materials and around 1,001,463 searchable documents.
Find Case Law Open access
more...less...
The Find Case Law service provides public access to court judgments and tribunal decisions.

From April 2022, court judgments from the England and Wales High Court, the Court of Appeal, the Supreme Court and tribunal decisions from the Upper Tribunals are being sent to The National Archives to be preserved and made available to the public.

The service only contains judgments and decisions that have been handed down and made public. It does not include settlements made outside of court.

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Below is a suggestion for getting started with searching for UK Legislation. For a more complete list of databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for Law:

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Legal topics. For a more complete list of databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for Law:

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with searching for EU legislation. For a more complete list of databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for Law:

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Legislation and Case Law in other jurisdictions

United States

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Legal topics. For a more complete list of databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for Law:

A-Z Databases for Law

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window King's username and password required off campus
HeinOnline is Hein’s premier online research product with more than 100 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline provides comprehensive coverage of more than 1,800 law and law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline also contains the Congressional Record Bound volumes in entirety, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, famous world trials dating back to the early 1700′s, legal classics from the 16th to the 20th centuries, the United Nations and League of Nations Treaty Series, all United States Treaties, the Federal Register from inception in 1936, the CFR from inception in 1938, and much more.
Westlaw International Materials This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access
This includes legislation, case law and journals for US and Commonwealth countries. To access International Materials, go to Westlaw UK, select 'International' from the Region drop-down menu located on the top left of the page. US Materials can be found under 'Relate Legal' on right hand side of page.

NB. The previous version of Westlaw UK was discontinued from August 2019. For Westlaw E-Books, select 'Books' from the drop-down menu located on the top left of the page

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style