LibGuides: Arts & Humanities: Culture, Media &amp; Creative Industries

The Maughan Library

Print books, journals and DVDs for CMCI can be found at the Maughan Library. Discover material using Library Search and the A-Z Databases:

Library Search

A-Z Databases

Find Arts & Humanities literature online

The following eresources cover a range of disciplines including your subject area:

Proquest Arts & Humanities collection This link opens in a new window A collection of ProQuest databases in the Arts & Humanities subject area for King's users. Additional databases may be available via Senate House
JSTOR ebooks and journals This link opens in a new window JSTOR offers academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Via JSTOR books, King's currently has access to over 54,000 titles from over 42 publishers.King’s subscribes to the following collections within JSTOR: 19th Century British PamphletsArts & Sciences I-XV CollectionBusiness I CollectionBusiness II CollectionIreland CollectionJewish StudiesLanguage & Literature CollectionLife Sciences CollectionMusic CollectionPolitical ScienceFilm StudiesLanguage and LiteraturePhilosophyReligionSociologyBusiness and Economics
Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window PAO – formerly PCI Full Text - is a major online periodical archive that contains hundreds of journal backfiles in the humanities and social sciences. The date range is 1770-2000. A hive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas. Please note King's College London users have access to Collections 1 to 10 and JISC special collections 1 and 2.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery. King's only subscribes to selected journals.
Ebook Central - King's This link opens in a new window Ebook Central is an ebook platform. King’s have purchased over 21,200 titles covering a range of subjects and provides further access to over 176,350 titles.
Humanities Index (1962-) This link opens in a new window An international abstracting and indexing tool available via ProQuest for research in the humanities. HI indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. It covers current affairs, political science, religion, law, history, archaeology, education, economics, environment and gender studies.Updated monthly with approximately 1,500 records added; it also has the capability to link to electronic full text of many journal articles

Collections Guide for Culture, Media & Creative Industries

Welcome to the Collections Guide for CMCI.

This guide provides tailored information on library collections and links to some of our key resources.

Find CMCI literature online

The following eresources are focused on cultural and creative subjects:

Music Periodicals Database (1874-) This link opens in a new window The Music Periodicals Database (formerly known as International Index to Music Periodicals) is the leading specialized source of periodicals for the general, undergraduate, and advanced study of music. It resides on the ProQuest Platform and supports music scholarship, theory, and practice with access to over 400 full-text titles and citations sourced from more than 900 music periodicals.Music Periodicals Database covers a comprehensive range of subject areas in both scholarly and popular music journals in all aspects of music and musical genres, from the liturgical chants of medieval monks to the eclectic sounds of contemporary alternative rock. Among others, covered topics are: music education, musicology, music theory, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, classical music, opera, jazz, pop culture, popular music forms and composition.Content is added on a monthly basis. It is also regularly updated with new functionality and features.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (1864-) This link opens in a new window This database provides indexing and abstracts for around 400 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 160 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes almost a million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of each journal. Performing Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more. 
Screen Studies Collection (1893–) This link opens in a new window Screen Studies Online is a new portal for subscribers to Proquest film resources which combines the American Film Institute Catalog (AFI Catalog), FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals and Film Index International. Created in partnership with three distinguished film research organizations, the British Film Institute, the American Film Institute, and the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), Screen Studies Online can be used to cross-search these three resources or to search the individual databases separately.
World Events and the Media This link opens in a new window World Events and the Media collection provides insight into the pivotal moments that defined journalism, sourced from exclusive firsthand accounts, memoirs, and archival records revealing journalists’ experiences and ethical dilemmas during critical coverage. This curated collection explores crucial historical moments, trials, conflicts, and global movements from a new journalistic angle that unveils the raw emotions, challenges, and transformative shifts within the profession.

The following eresources are useful for industry / business information:

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Search worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Business Source Complete (BSC) available via EBSCO platform is a scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. It includes abstracts for more than 1,300 business journals back as far as 1886. Full text is available for 1160 titles and in most cases there is a 1 year embargo on issues. BSC also includes around 2800 full-text industry reports from three different providers, as well a company profiles for over 10,000 leading world companies from MarketLine (previously Datamonitor) and Life Science Analytics.
Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window Euromonitor Passport is a global market information database and analysis tool. It contains comprehensive data and reports across all industries, countries, and consumers. It is one of the world's leading providers of global business intelligence, market research data and analysis.Using Passport's robust analysis and visualisation tools can help with designing teaching materials and projects with real-world relevance, such as strategic planning, economic analysis, industry benchmarking, competitive threats and market entry studies.
Statista This link opens in a new window Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources. Industries covered include Consumer Goods, Internet, Media & Advertising, Retail & Trade, Sports & Recreation, Technology & Telecommunications, Transportation & Logistics, and Travel, Tourism & Hospitality.For access off campus, please select 'Campus Access' on the log in page to reach the institutional login.
WARC This link opens in a new window WARC provides unbiased information and advice on advertising and marketing. It is delivered via best practice guides, case studies, research papers, special reports and advertising trend data, as well as via webinars, awards, events and advisory services. If you encounter problems logging in from counties outside the UK please email library@kcl.ac.uk stating which country you need access from.

Newspapers

UK and international newspapers are useful for a range of subjects. Our collection provides a range of historical titles and current editions.

Watch films online

A diverse collection of films covering a wide range of genres and multiple languages. Staff and students have access to subscription titles as well as free content.

BFI Player (British Film Institute) This link opens in a new window BFI Player is a video on demand service from the British Film Institute, streaming acclaimed, landmark and archive films. These are available for rent, for subscription or for free. King's College London has a subscription. The placement and availability of films is dependent on rights agreements with licensors. The focus is on British and European independent films, as well as international releases.Additional information:Access your free BFI Player subscription in 3 easy steps: 1. Go to player.bfi.org.uk/students and create an account OR sign in if you already have one by selecting 'Already have an account? Sign in'2. Select university from the dropdown list 3. Authenticate subscription using your university credentialsFYI:• Once you've set up your subscription, you can simply login on BFI Player for the remainder of this academic year. You don't need to use the subscribe link• BFI Player is unavailable outside the UK• Rentals and festival events are not included in the subscription offer• Make sure you tick the box ‘I’d like to receive the newsletter’ for exclusive competitions, watchlists and other BFI opportunities via email. A reminder that users need to re-subscribe every year e.g. if someone had an account last year, they simply need to visit player.bfi.org.uk/students and select 'Already have an account Sign in'.

La haine

A key streaming resource for films. Includes French, Spanish and Asian feature films, plus documentaries and videos on a wide range of subjects.

Kanopy This link opens in a new window Kanopy is an online video streaming platform with access to a unique collection of films in the world, including documentaries and training films.

Offers a huge collection of films, TV and radio programmes which have aired on UK channels. Useful for titles that are not available via commercial streaming services or on DVD.

Box of Broadcasts (BoB National) This link opens in a new window BoB (Box of Broadcasts) National is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. You can choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels. The recorded programmes are then kept indefinitely (no expiry) and added to a growing media archive (currently at over 1 million programmes), with all content shared by users across all subscribing institutions.Please note: Individual registration is required and access is only available from the UK.

A film streaming resource specialising in features and documentaries from Spanish-speaking countries. Also includes titles in a number of languages.

Digitalia Film Library This link opens in a new window Digitalia Film Library is an online film streaming platform providing access to films and documentaries in international languages and includes unique content from Spain and all Spanish speaking countries. With access to more than 1400 titles covering 42 different languages including Spanish, Russian and many other Germanic, Romance and Slavic languages, Digitalia Film Library provides subtitles in English.

A collection of 900+ Asian feature films, documentaries and shorts.

Asian Film Online

A vast multi-disciplinary video collection. Includes a large number of documentaries on its Film Platform and Documentary channel.

Alexander Street Video (Alexander Street Press) - New platform This link opens in a new window Alexander Street Press is an online video streaming platform with access to more than 34,000 video titles. This database offers a wealth of digitized content across disciplines, but is particularly focused on the fields of counselling, anthropology, history, diversity studies, theatre, film, music, dance, news, current affairs, and the social sciences.King’s has access to a wide range of educational videos, audio and text resources.

Covers a wide range of subjects including feature films and documentaries.

Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window Academic Video Online provides a vast database of film and video clips from documentary, newsreel, entertainment, and television sources. The thematic range and temporal span make the collection relevant to many disciplines, from anthropology to zoology, various courses and student levels.  The collection includes award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners, and gives access to the content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more sources. Academic Video Online is a part of ProQuest One Academic.

A large collection of Spanish-language films and companion guides.

Platino Educa This link opens in a new window An educational site, aimed at teachers and lecturers, which provides a large collection of Spanish-language films and companion teaching guides. The website provides information in English and Spanish.

Documentary films, features and newsreels from countries including the USSR, Vietnam, Korea, Cuba, China and East Germany.

Socialism on Film This link opens in a new window Sourced from the British Film Institute (BFI), Socialism on Film documents the communist world, from the Russian Revolution to the end of the Cold War. This unique multimedia collection spans most of the twentieth century and contains documentary films, features and newsreels from countries including the USSR, Vietnam, Korea, Cuba, China and East Germany, and provides a counterpoint to Western perceptions of communist states.

Find magazines for CMCI

A selection of our popular magazine archives:

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (1880-2015), Collections 1–4 This link opens in a new window An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews.King's has access to:EIMA1: Music, Radio and The StageEIMA2: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1)EIMA3: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 2)EIMA4: Music – Folk, Rock & Hip Hop   
Harper's Bazaar Archive (1867 - current) This link opens in a new window A searchable archive of the US (1867 to present) and UK (1930-2015) editions of Harper's Bazaar. The issues are reproduced as high-resolution color page images and supported by fully searchable text and article-level indexing. This resource chronicles over 150 years of American, British, and international fashion, culture, and society, supporting researchers by offering unique insights into the events, attitudes, and interests of the modern era. Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.
LGBT Magazine Archive – Collection 1 This link opens in a new window Archival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles – The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts. Some publications may contain explicit content. Coverage: 1954 - 2015.
Men’s Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window A collection of men’s-interest magazine backfiles serving research in men’s studies/history but also offering important additional perspectives for women’s studies. It includes some of the earliest publications of this type – National Police Gazette and Argosy – and covers key topics such as fashion, sports, health, and arts/entertainment. Coverage: 1845 - 2015 Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.
Vogue Archive (1892-) This link opens in a new window A complete archive of American Vogue from 1892-present reproduced in high-resolution colour images. Search functionality allows users to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. The Vogue Archive preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and is a unique record of American and international fashion, culture and society from the modern era to the present day.
Women's Magazine Archive Collection I–III (1846–2005) This link opens in a new window An archival research resource comprising the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines. Issues are scanned in high-resolution color and feature detailed article-level indexing. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.King's has access to the following collections:Women's Magazine IWomen's Magazine IIWomen's Magazine III
Women's Wear Daily Archive (1910–) This link opens in a new window An archive of Women's Wear Daily, from its launch in 1910 to recent issues,* reproduced in high-resolution images. Pages, articles, advertisements, and covers have been included, with searchable text and indexing. The Women's Wear Daily Archive preserves one of the fashion industry's most influential reads. Key moments in the history of the industry, as well as major designers, brands, retailers and advertisers are all covered in this publication of record. * 6-month embargo on new issues.Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.
Youth and Popular Culture Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window Youth and Popular Culture Magazine Archive showcases unique periodicals from 1940-present, highlighting topics and trends of youth culture such as fashion, rock and roll, sports, sexuality, dating, as well as youth portrayal in the media. These unique periodicals provide insight to what has and continues to influence youth culture, especially during times of rapid social and cultural change in the U.S. and the UK. At completion, this collection will have 250,000 pages from periodicals published in the United States, United Kingdom, and Canada. Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.

Find books for CMCI

A selection of classmarks for your subject:

AM1-501 – Museums
GT500-2370 – Fashion
ML1-9999 – Literature on music
NX1-9999 - Arts in general
PN1990-1992.92 – Broadcasting
PN1993-1999 – Film
PN2000-3307 – Theatre
PN4699–5650 - Journalism

Find print books and ebooks via Library Search.

Find journals for CMCI

Keep up to date with your subject. Print journals are on the ground floor of the Maughan Library in rooms G.54-G.59, GM.54-GM.59, G.66-G.67. See our Floorplans.

Find print and ejournals via Library Search. Titles include:

Find more to read with Libby

Read for pleasure or expand your horizons with our selection of popular fiction, non-fiction and general interest titles on Libby. Choose from
audiobooks, ebooks and magazines.

Libby App This link opens in a new window With the Libby App you can enjoy free ebook novels and audiobooks. Here's how to access:1. Download the Libby App or open Libby on your device2. Search for King's College London3. Sign in with your King's credentials4. Browse, borrow and read!Libby on Windows, Mac, and ChromebooksLibby on iOS devicesLibby on Android devices

Senate House Library

Senate House Library is a large humanities research library in Bloomsbury.

King’s staff and students are entitled to free membership which provides
borrowing rights to print books and remote access to most eresources.

See Membership for information on signing up.