LibGuides: Arts & Humanities: History

Library Search and Databases A-Z

Library Search
If you want to check a specific book or article and find out whether it is held in the King's library collections then Library Search is a good place to start.

While you can search in Library Search with keywords to discover material you didn't know about, it will never give you the full flexibility and searching capacity that a specialist database can.

Where electronic versions of a book, article, or other material type are available, Library Search will give you a link to access it. You may then be prompted to login before being able to actually the thing you were interested in.
Databases A-Z list

External Libraries

Institute of Historical Research Library

Please check for access restrictions before visiting.

History Information

Welcome to the Collections Guide for History at King's College London.

Key classmarks for this area of study are:

BL-BX- for Religion and Religious History
D- for European and World History
E & F- for the History of the Americas
HC-HD- for Economic History
JC & JN - for Political Theory and Institutions.

Once you know the call number (or classmark) you are looking for, you can use a floor plan to help you find the area of the library to visit. Most books that are relevant to Arts & Humanities are held in the Maughan Library.

Books are organised on the shelves using call numbers (or classmarks). We use the Library of Congress Classification Scheme which creates call numbers (or classmarks) using a series of letters and numbers - eg DD237 PEU.

The initial letters denote the general subject area (eg DD denotes the history of Germany)
The numbers denote a more specific subject area (eg DD237 denotes general works on the history of Germany post 1918)
The final combination of letters and numbers denote the author.

Journals for History

JSTOR ebooks and journals King’s username and password for access off campus

Library Services gives you access to a wide range of journals to support your studies and research.

One of the best known collections of journal articles relevant to the Arts & Humanities is JSTOR, which focuses on older journal articles. There are many other collections which offer more recent articles of a similar academic standard.

You can use Library Search to access an extensive selection of ejournals and print journals. Titles include:

Historical Journal
Past & Present
Transactions of the Royal Historical Society.

Arts & Humanities print journals are held on the ground floor of the Maughan Library. These are reference only and cannot be taken out of the library.

Resources by period: Early Modern

Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 1,200 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.

NOTE: choose the database British Newspapers 1600-1900 to cross search both Burney Collection and 19th Century British Library Newspapers.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Bibliography of British and Irish History (Brepols) This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. The complete database now contains just over 600,000 records, and is updated three times a year, usually in February, June and October.
Separate records for articles in journals and in collective volumes, as well as for books; 570 journals are now searched for relevant material.
Access to data from Irish History Online, London's Past Online, Scottish Historical Review Trust.
Specially designed subject classification scheme. Links to online full text, where available.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Early English Books Online eBooks (EEBO) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of works printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. The collection now contains more than 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Subject areas covered include: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

King’s has access to:
• All four EEBO collections - STC, Wing, the Thomason Tracts and the Tract Supplement
• EEBO-TCP Phase I
• EEBO-TCP Phase II
• Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) cross-searching
Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
Empire Online is an interactive collection of primary source documents designed to enable undergraduates, postgraduates, academics and researchers to explore colonial history, politics, culture and society. Thousands of images of unique source material including maps, manuscripts, pamphlets, paintings, drawings, letters, periodicals, official government papers, exhibition catalogues, travel writing, missionary papers and rare books.

Detailed indexing enables the sources to be explored in a variety of ways (by period, by date, by person and subject). Sources spanning five centuries: from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others, right through to de-colonisation in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American Imperialism.
European Views of the Americas 1493-1750 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

Preregister to use Senate House Library at: http://www.senatehouselibrary.ac.uk/membership/online-pre-registration/online-pre-registration/ and visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Historical Texts (JISC) Only available onsite at Senate House. Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
Historical Texts brings together four historically significant collections for the first time: Early English Books Online (EEBO), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) 65,000 texts from the British Library 19th Century collection and the UK Medical Heritage Library (UKMHL).

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
An illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past. Updated 3 times a year with new biographies and additions to articles already published.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, and Law brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our case coverage extends into the 20th century because long after slavery ended, courts were still resolving issues emanating from the practice. To give one example, as late as 1901, Chief Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr. of the Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court had to decide if a man, both of whose parents had been slaves, could be the legitimate heir of his father—under southern law, slaves could never be legally married.

This library has hundreds of pamphlets and books written about slavery—defending it, attacking it, or simply analyzing it—including an expansive slavery collection from Buffalo & Erie County Public Library. The cooperation of this institution was central to developing this collection. We have also gathered every English-language legal commentary on slavery published before 1920, which includes many essays and articles in obscure, hard-to-find journals in the United States and elsewhere. We have provided more than a thousand pamphlets and books on slavery from the 19th century. We have also included many modern histories of slavery. Within this library is a section containing all modern law review articles on the subject, as well.

This library will continue to grow, not only from new scholarship but also from historical material that we continue to locate and add to the collection.
Slavery, abolition and social justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
An essential resource for the study of slavery, the African American experience and world history spanning over five centuries.

Designed for teaching and research, this resource brings together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world, covering an extensive time period from 1490. Topics covered include the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
The resource offers in-depth case studies in America, the Caribbean, Brazil and Cuba along with important material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Making of the Modern World This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
The Making of the Modern World is an extraordinary series which covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It is also strong in the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century. In addition, the archive offers resources on the role of finance and taxation and the growth of the early modern monarchy. It features essential texts covering the function of financial institutions, the crisis of the French monarchy and the French Revolution at the end of the eighteenth century, and the connection between the democratic goals of revolutionaries and their legal aspirations.

The majority of the material within The Making of the Modern World was collected by one man, Herbert Foxwell (1849-1936), a preeminent British economist and one of the most important collectors of economics literature. His two main collections form the nucleus of two of the greatest economics libraries in the world, Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature (Senate House, University of London) and Kress Library of Business and Economics (Harvard University), and the basis of this digital series.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
This release of the World Shakespeare Bibliography Online provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1960 and 2011. The scope is international, with coverage extending to more than 120 languages and representing every country in North America, South America, and Europe and nearly every country in Asia, Africa, and Australasia. The more than 128,200 records in this version cite several hundred thousand additional reviews of books, productions, films, and audio recordings.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Black Abolitionist Papers This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
Covering the period 1830-1865, the collection presents the massive, international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings and publications of the activists themselves. The approximately 15,000 articles, documents, correspondence, proceedings, manuscripts, and literary works of almost 300 Black abolitionists show the full range of their activities in the United States, Canada, England,

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.

Resources by period: 19th Century

19th Century British Pamphlets (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus
Throughout the 19th century, pamphlets were an important means of public debate, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of their day. 19th Century British Pamphlets, created by Research Libraries UK (RLUK), contains the most significant British pamphlets from the 19th century held in research libraries in the United Kingdom.

The digitization of more than 26,000 pamphlets from collections in seven universities in the UK spanning more than one million pages brings together a corpus of primary sources for the study of sociopolitical and economic factors impacting 19th-century Britain. The collection was created with funding from the JISC Digitisation Programme.

The nine collections of pamphlets are:

• Cowen Tracts (1603-1898)
• Earl Grey Pamphlets Collection (1800-1900)
• Foreign and Commonwealth Office Collection (1545-1900)
• Hume Tracts (1769-1890)
• Knowsley Pamphlet Collection (1792-1868)
• Selections – University of Manchester British Political Pamphlets Collection (1799-1900)
• Selections – London School of Economics and Political Science (1800-1899)
• Selections – University of Bristol (1800-1899)
• Wilson Anti-Slavery Collection (1761-1900)
Nineteenth Century Collections Online: British Theatre, Music & Literature: High and Popular Culture This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
Part of 19th Century Collections Online, High and Popular Culture features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the long nineteenth century, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. The database contains many rare documents sourced from the British Library and other institutions and coverage includes both the Georgian and Victorian theatre.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus
The nineteenth century was a time of revolutionary change and expansion. Britain was one of the world’s first industrial, urban superpowers and developed a press to feed the demands of its increasingly literate population. The Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals series covers the events, lives, values, and themes that shaped the nineteenth century world. It provides an invaluable, fully-searchable facsimile resource for the study of British life in the nineteenth century—from art to business, and from children to politics. Few of the materials in this extensive collection have ever been reissued, in any format since original publication. Titles included have been identified and selected by leading scholars in nineteenth century studies; their choices reflect the broad scope and thrust of research and teaching in the twenty-first century.

Part I: Women's, Children's, Humour, and Leisure

Part I covers the advent of commercial lifestyle publishing in Britain, drawn from the remarkable collections of the British Library, National Library of Scotland, National Library of Australia, and National Library of South Africa. The series acts as a barometer of literacy and social mobility in the 1800s, with a particular focus on the rarely documented aspects of women, children, humour, and leisure activity in the Victorian age. The rise of magazine publishing is reflected in the selection of publications, spanning publications aimed at and tailored to various audiences, including women and children.

Part II: Empire

Part II looks at the role Britain played as an imperial power throughout the century, and contains periodicals from Australia, Canada, Ceylon, India, New Zealand, and South Africa. The range of titles was selected by a team of more than twenty editors, all of which are specialists in the field of nineteenth-century studies, has been compiled from collections in the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, and the National Library of Australia.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Bibliography of British and Irish History (Brepols) This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. The complete database now contains just over 600,000 records, and is updated three times a year, usually in February, June and October.
Separate records for articles in journals and in collective volumes, as well as for books; 570 journals are now searched for relevant material.
Access to data from Irish History Online, London's Past Online, Scottish Historical Review Trust.
Specially designed subject classification scheme. Links to online full text, where available.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
Empire Online is an interactive collection of primary source documents designed to enable undergraduates, postgraduates, academics and researchers to explore colonial history, politics, culture and society. Thousands of images of unique source material including maps, manuscripts, pamphlets, paintings, drawings, letters, periodicals, official government papers, exhibition catalogues, travel writing, missionary papers and rare books.

Detailed indexing enables the sources to be explored in a variety of ways (by period, by date, by person and subject). Sources spanning five centuries: from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others, right through to de-colonisation in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American Imperialism.
Digimap Historic collection (Edina) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access. Registration required
Historic Digimap delivers the valuable historic Ordnance Survey map collection to Higher and Further Education.

The Landmark historical map data are digital scans of Ordnance Survey paper map sheets including:
- all available County Series maps at 1:2,500 and 1:10560 scales published between 1843 and 1939; and
- all available National Grid maps at 1:1,250, 1:2,500 and 1:10560/10,000 scales published from 1945 and before the introduction of the Ordnance Survey's digital Land-Line product.
- all available Town Plans at 1:500, 1:528 and 1:1,056 scales published from 1848 and 1939.

Map collections span through to the 1990s.
Users can view maps through web browsers, save maps for printing and download the historical map data for use in geographical information systems.

To access Digimap Collections, you are required to register.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

Preregister to use Senate House Library at: http://www.senatehouselibrary.ac.uk/membership/online-pre-registration/online-pre-registration/ and visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 19th Century This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
Between 1801 and 2000, around 9.5 million pages for over 184,000 parliamentary papers were published. Since 2001, the number of papers has grown by approximately 4,000 for each parliamentary session. HCPP delivers searchable full text for each paper, along with a detailed index.

HCPP currently contains an index for 1801-2004, full text for the entire 19th century, and for 1901-1945. Two further installments will complete the 20th century, starting with coverage to the mid 1970s in November.
John Johnson Collection: An Archive of Printed Ephemera (Proquest) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
The John Johnson Collection allows access to a wide array of rare or unique archival materials documenting various aspects of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
The material selected for conservation, cataloguing and digitisation comprises a wide array of different types of printed document, including posters and handbills for theatrical and non-theatrical entertainments, broadsides relating to murders and executions, book and journal prospectuses, popular topographical prints, and a wealth of different kinds of printed advertising material. The resulting online collection forms an invaluable resource for researchers interested in the histories of consumption, leisure, gender, popular culture, commerce, technology, crime, and a host of other areas. With each item presented as a full-colour, high-resolution facsimile, the John Johnson Collection is also indispensable for researchers studying the development of printing and visual culture in modern Britain.

The John Johnson Collection offers access five different categories of material: Nineteenth-Century entertainment; the booktrade; popular prints; advertising; and crime, murders and executions.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
An illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past. Updated 3 times a year with new biographies and additions to articles already published.
Queen Victoria's Journals This link opens in a new window Free access
The journals, which span Victoria’s lifetime and consist of 141 volumes numbering over 43,000 pages, have never been published in their entirety and previously were only accessible by appointment at the Royal Archives at Windsor Castle. All the journals are now available via this easy-to-use website and can be browsed and read online.

Please note that access is free to all users within the United Kingdom
Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
The Victorian Popular Culture portal is an essential resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. This innovative portal is comprised of four separate sections, available to purchase individually and fully cross-searchable:
Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic;
Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks;
Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment;
Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments and the Advent of Cinema.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900 This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
The vast majority of articles written for Victorian periodicals were published anonymously, or under pseudonyms. The Wellesley Index identifies the authors of articles within 45 major Victorian periodicals, and provides a bibliography for each contributor. It incorporates the Curran Index of corrections and additions to the original index.

Citations of evidence are provided to support attributions of authorship, along with brief biographical and vocational details. 45 important monthly and quarterly titles are included, covering the period from the beginning of the Westminster Review in 1824 to the end of the century. The exception to this is the Edinburgh Review, which is indexed from first issue, in 1802. Wellesley does not index poetry.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Poverty, Philanthropy and Social Conditions in Victorian Britain This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
This multi-archive collection, comprising collections from The National Archives at Kew, the British Library and Senate House Library navigates the complex social climate of nineteenth and early twentieth-century Britain between the introduction of the New Poor Law in 1834 and the eventual abolition of the workhouse system in 1930.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
African Diaspora 1860-Present This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus.
After the abolition of slavery, African diasporic communities formed throughout the world. The circumstances and histories of the establishment of each community were quite different, and as a result, the experiences, cultures and ideologies of the members of these communities vary significantly.

African Diaspora, 1860-present brings these communities to life through never-before digitized primary source documents, secondary sources and videos from around the world with a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France. With content from key partners like The National Archives and Records Administration (US), National Archives at Kew (UK), Royal Anthropological Institute, and Senate House Library (University of London), this first release of African Diaspora, 1860-Present offers an unparalleled view into the experiences and contributions of individuals in the Diaspora, as told through their own accounts. Future releases will include further insights into African diasporic communities with the papers of C.L.R. James, the writings of George Padmore and many more sources.
Major themes include:
Migrations of people of African descent to countries around the world, from the 19th century to present day.
Diasporic communities including Afro-Brazilian communities in Rio de Janeiro, Black British communities in London, Sidi communities in India, Afro-Caribbean communities in Trinidad, Haiti, and Cuba.
Movements and ideologies, including the Back to Africa movement and the Pan-African movement.

Please note to log in off campus you need to find the resource you want to access and then when you see the message 'This is a sample' select 'See all options for accessing the full version of this content'.
African Names Database This link opens in a new window Free access
The African Names Database provides personal details of 91,491 Africans taken from captured slave ships or from African trading sites. It displays the African name, age, gender, origin, country, and places of embarkation and disembarkation of each individual.
American Periodicals (Proquest) This link opens in a new window King's username & Password for off campus access
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
King's has access to -
American Periodicals Series
American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
C19 Index draws on the strength of established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue (NSTC), The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index, Periodicals Index Online and the Cumulative Index to Niles' Register 1811–1849 to create integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.7 million books and official publications, 70,000 archival collections and 22.7 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers. C19 Index now provides integrated access to 13 bibliographic indexes, including more than three million records from British Periodicals Collections I and II, together with the expanded online edition of the Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism (DNCJ).

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.

Special Collections

In the Foyle Special Collections Library, please see also our online exhibitions:

Also special collections for history:

History Adam Collection
HG Adler Collection
College Collection
Foreign & Commonweatlth Office Historical Collection
Glaessner Collection
Hamilton Collection
Marsden Collection
Maurice Collection
Miscellaneous Collection
Rare Books Collection
Rare Journals Collection
Wheatstone Collection

Here is just one example of an item held in Special Collections on this subject:
Great Britain. Colonial Office. Despatches received from Colonies, etc. reporting on the local celebrations of the coronation of His Majesty King George VI. London, 1937. Foyle Special Collections Library

Resources by period: Ancient

In Principio (Brepols) This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
Covering all Latin texts that have been transmitted in manuscript since the origins of Latin literature up to about 1600 when the manuscript is replaced by the printed text. In Principio thus covers ancient, patristic, medieval,
and humanist Latin literature.

In addition, all literary genres are included: the liberal arts and theology, history and poetry, medicine and liturgy, civil law and canon law, the exact and occult sciences, summas and sermons, glossaries and correspondence, cooking recipes
and cursing formulas, large treatises and small, isolated sentences.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Library of Latin Texts A (Brepols) This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
CLCLT contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas including texts from the Reformation and Counter-Reformation. The complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux and Thomas Kempis can thus be consulted. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions.
Each search-query shows the results in the context of a sentence, but from here the user can consult the whole text of the work. Texts can also be accessed through an index of author and work references.
Each work that is incorporated has been the subject of a historical and literary-critical examination and is accompanied by a didactical "memento" which supplies chronological, bibliographical, critical and statistical information. All relevant Clavis Patrum Latinorum entries have been fully integrated.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Library of Latin Texts B (Brepols) This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
CLCLT contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas including texts from the Reformation and Counter-Reformation. The complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux and Thomas Kempis can thus be consulted. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions.
Each search-query shows the results in the context of a sentence, but from here the user can consult the whole text of the work. Texts can also be accessed through an index of author and work references.
Each work that is incorporated has been the subject of a historical and literary-critical examination and is accompanied by a didactical "memento" which supplies chronological, bibliographical, critical and statistical information. All relevant Clavis Patrum Latinorum entries have been fully integrated.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access on and off campus. Registration required
Please note: TLG does not permit downloading, printing or making copies of TLG material.

The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a research center at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG has already collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era. Information about the authors and works included in the TLG Library is stored in a database, known as the Canon of Greek Authors and Works.
See: TLG website | Canon of Greek Authors and Works

Note:
Campus Desktop users will not be able to download any of the extra Greek Fonts offered by this service.
For both on and off-campus access, please register for an account.
When accessing off-campus, a King's username and password are required before registering for an account with Thesaurus Linguae Graecae.

Library Services and the Department of Byzantine and Modern Greek Studies gratefully acknowledge the help of the King's Development Trust in the funding of this resource.
Translated Texts for Historians E-Library This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
The Translated Texts for Historians E-Library makes available historical sources from A.D. 300–800 translated into English, in many cases for the first time. This indispensable collection contains over 80 volumes from the following series: Translated Texts for Historians, Translated Texts for Historians Contexts, and Translated Texts for Byzantinists.

Resources by period: Medieval

Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale (Brepols) This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus
Established by the Centre d´Études Supérieures de Civilisation Médiévale, (Université de Poitiers) to provide a comprehensive, current bibliography of monographs worldwide and listings of miscellany volumes. The database currently comprises 40,000 titles from 1958 to 2003. References are classified by date, subject and location.
Bibliography of British and Irish History (Brepols) This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. The complete database now contains just over 600,000 records, and is updated three times a year, usually in February, June and October.
Separate records for articles in journals and in collective volumes, as well as for books; 570 journals are now searched for relevant material.
Access to data from Irish History Online, London's Past Online, Scottish Historical Review Trust.
Specially designed subject classification scheme. Links to online full text, where available.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Brepols Periodica and Miscellanea Online This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus
Brepols Periodica Online provides access to more than 12,500 articles, published in 23 journals up to 2006.

Brepols Miscellanea Online includes access to c. 5,200 articles on the subject of Medieval Studies published between 1998-2010.

From the home page choose 'Browse Journals' for access to journal articles only and choose Books' or Book Series' for access to essays in miscellany volumes only.
Dictionary of Old English A - I This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus
The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language, using today's most advanced technology.
The Dictionary draws on as wide a range of texts -- in date, dialect and genre -- as possible. It differs from previous dictionaries in several important features: a listing in a simplified paradigmatic order of every spelling which is attested for a word in the Electronic Corpus; frequency counts for each word in the corpus so that readers can know what proportion of the evidence has been cited; usage labels where they are statistically significant, noting restrictions to a class of texts, to an author, or to a particular period or dialect; exhaustive citation for all words of twelve or fewer occurrences.
Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
The Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus is an online database consisting of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text. In some cases, more than one copy is included, if it is significant because of dialect or date. As such, the DOE Web Corpus represents over three million words of Old English and fewer than a million words of Latin, or almost five times the collected works of Shakespeare.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
International Medieval Bibliography (Brepols) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
International Medieval Bibliography is an interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, spanning Europe, the Near East and North Africa from 300 to 1,500. It comprises over 360,000 articles all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location, covering some 4,500 periodicals and 5,000 miscellany volumes including conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues.
Medieval Reference Library Online (Brill) This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus
Brill’s Medieval Reference Library includes 3 titles: Encyclopaedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles, Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage and Encyclopedia of the Medieval Chronicle. Together they include many articles and illustrations on aspects of medieval history, culture and belief.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica (eMGH) (Brepols) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
A corpus of historical works, charters, legal texts, letters, political texts, and literature from the European Middle Ages. It contains about 800 texts and further material is added yearly.

The powerful search engine developed by the Centre ‘Traditio Litterarum Occidentalium’ and Brepols Publishers allows unparalleled exploitation of this important body of texts, permitting in-depth searches of the corpus. Moreover, the integration of the eMGH into the Brepolis Latin platform offers the opportunity to carry out searches simultaneously with other collections of texts bringing together a total of 16,000 works (Library of Latin Texts, Aristoteles Latinus Database, Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature), and allows the user to search Latin reference dictionaries (Database of Latin Dictionaries).
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
An illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past. Updated 3 times a year with new biographies and additions to articles already published.
Patrologia Latina Database This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus
An electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The Patrologia Latina Database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included.
DigiPal (Digital Resource and Database for Palaeography, Manuscript Studies and Diplomatic) This link opens in a new window Free access
DigiPal is a resource for the study of medieval handwriting, particularly that produced in England during the years 1000–1100, the time of Æthelred, Cnut and William the Conqueror. It is designed to allow you to see samples of handwriting from the period and to compare them with each other quickly and easily.

Funded by the European Union Seventh Framework Programme (FP7), it is based at the Department of Digital Humanities at King's College London.
Bloomsbury Medieval Studies This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
Bloomsbury Medieval Studies offers a global perspective on this rich field of study, bringing together high quality secondary content with visual primary sources, a brand new reference work and object images in a one-stop digital resource that will open up the medieval world.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.

Resources by period: 18th Century

Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus
The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 1,200 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.

NOTE: choose the database British Newspapers 1600-1900 to cross search both Burney Collection and 19th Century British Library Newspapers.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Bibliography of British and Irish History (Brepols) This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. The complete database now contains just over 600,000 records, and is updated three times a year, usually in February, June and October.
Separate records for articles in journals and in collective volumes, as well as for books; 570 journals are now searched for relevant material.
Access to data from Irish History Online, London's Past Online, Scottish Historical Review Trust.
Specially designed subject classification scheme. Links to online full text, where available.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
Access to the digital images of every page of over 180,000 titles published during the 18th Century including books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Full-text searching offers access to information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Empire Online (Adam Matthew Digital) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
Empire Online is an interactive collection of primary source documents designed to enable undergraduates, postgraduates, academics and researchers to explore colonial history, politics, culture and society. Thousands of images of unique source material including maps, manuscripts, pamphlets, paintings, drawings, letters, periodicals, official government papers, exhibition catalogues, travel writing, missionary papers and rare books.

Detailed indexing enables the sources to be explored in a variety of ways (by period, by date, by person and subject). Sources spanning five centuries: from the explorations of Columbus, Captain Cook, and others, right through to de-colonisation in the second half of the twentieth century and debates over American Imperialism.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

Preregister to use Senate House Library at: http://www.senatehouselibrary.ac.uk/membership/online-pre-registration/online-pre-registration/ and visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 18th Century This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
The BOPCRIS 18th century parliamentary publications project, provides the academic community with access to 1400 volumes of core 18th century official parliamentary publications that include sessional papers, bills, acts, debates, registers, reports, and journals. By making previously obscure materials accessible, it releases potential to reassess the role of the 18th century parliament.

The resource is fully interoperable and cross-searchable with the 19th century House of Commons parliamentary papers.
Historical Texts (JISC) Only available onsite at Senate House. Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
Historical Texts brings together four historically significant collections for the first time: Early English Books Online (EEBO), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) 65,000 texts from the British Library 19th Century collection and the UK Medical Heritage Library (UKMHL).

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
John Johnson Collection: An Archive of Printed Ephemera (Proquest) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
The John Johnson Collection allows access to a wide array of rare or unique archival materials documenting various aspects of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
The material selected for conservation, cataloguing and digitisation comprises a wide array of different types of printed document, including posters and handbills for theatrical and non-theatrical entertainments, broadsides relating to murders and executions, book and journal prospectuses, popular topographical prints, and a wealth of different kinds of printed advertising material. The resulting online collection forms an invaluable resource for researchers interested in the histories of consumption, leisure, gender, popular culture, commerce, technology, crime, and a host of other areas. With each item presented as a full-colour, high-resolution facsimile, the John Johnson Collection is also indispensable for researchers studying the development of printing and visual culture in modern Britain.

The John Johnson Collection offers access five different categories of material: Nineteenth-Century entertainment; the booktrade; popular prints; advertising; and crime, murders and executions.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
An illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past. Updated 3 times a year with new biographies and additions to articles already published.
American Antiquarian Society Digital Archive This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection contains more than 6,500 historical periodical titles dating from 1693 to 1877. This Collection was released in five series. All five series are simultaneously searched on this site. Series 1 presents titles dating from 1693 through 1820. Series 2 presents over 1000 titles dating from 1821 through 1837. The collection represents over two centuries of print culture, ranging from early works imported by the colonists to later titles published on American soil on the eve of the Revolution and during the early republic. Series 3 presents over 1,700 titles dating from 1838 through 1852. The themes presented in Series 3 reveal a rapidly growing young nation, where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion. Series 4 presents over 1,100 titles dating from 1853 through 1865. While the Civil War is a focal point of the collection, we also find a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. News from the battlefront can be found, in addition to the usual breadth of subject matter found in previous collections that include science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion. Series 5 presents over 2,500 titles dating from 1866 through 1877. The themes presented in Series 5 reflect a nation that persevered through a most difficult set of circumstances: a bloody civil war that claimed hundreds of thousands of lives; the incorporation of the recently-freed African Americans into American life; a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
American Periodicals (Proquest) This link opens in a new window King's username & Password for off campus access
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
King's has access to -
American Periodicals Series
American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries

Resources by period: 20th Century to present

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
Search worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
African Diaspora 1860-Present This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus.
After the abolition of slavery, African diasporic communities formed throughout the world. The circumstances and histories of the establishment of each community were quite different, and as a result, the experiences, cultures and ideologies of the members of these communities vary significantly.

African Diaspora, 1860-present brings these communities to life through never-before digitized primary source documents, secondary sources and videos from around the world with a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France. With content from key partners like The National Archives and Records Administration (US), National Archives at Kew (UK), Royal Anthropological Institute, and Senate House Library (University of London), this first release of African Diaspora, 1860-Present offers an unparalleled view into the experiences and contributions of individuals in the Diaspora, as told through their own accounts. Future releases will include further insights into African diasporic communities with the papers of C.L.R. James, the writings of George Padmore and many more sources.
Major themes include:
Migrations of people of African descent to countries around the world, from the 19th century to present day.
Diasporic communities including Afro-Brazilian communities in Rio de Janeiro, Black British communities in London, Sidi communities in India, Afro-Caribbean communities in Trinidad, Haiti, and Cuba.
Movements and ideologies, including the Back to Africa movement and the Pan-African movement.

Please note to log in off campus you need to find the resource you want to access and then when you see the message 'This is a sample' select 'See all options for accessing the full version of this content'.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Anthropological Fieldwork Online This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
Anthropological Fieldwork Online brings the fieldwork underpinning the great ethnographies of the early 20th century into the digital world. This fully indexed, primary source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective, bringing together the work of early scholars who shaped the theories and methods students learn about, critique and re-shape today.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
BFI Player (British Film Institute) This link opens in a new window King's username and password required - Registration required
BFI Player is a video on demand service from the British Film Institute, streaming acclaimed, landmark and archive films. These are available for rent, for subscription or for free. King's College London has a subscription. The placement and availability of films is dependent on rights agreements with licensors. The focus is on British and European independent films, as well as international releases.

Additional information:
Access your free BFI Player subscription in 3 easy steps:
1. Go to player.bfi.org.uk/students and create an account OR sign in if you already have one by selecting 'Already have an account? Sign in'
2. Select university from the dropdown list
3. Authenticate subscription using your university credentials

FYI:
• Once you've set up your subscription, you can simply login on BFI Player for the remainder of this academic year. You don't need to use the subscribe link
• BFI Player is unavailable outside the UK
• Rentals and festival events are not included in the subscription offer
• Make sure you tick the box ‘I’d like to receive the newsletter’ for exclusive competitions, watchlists and other BFI opportunities via email.

A reminder that users need to re-subscribe every year e.g. if someone had an account last year, they simply need to visit player.bfi.org.uk/students and select 'Already have an account? Sign in'.
Bibliography of British and Irish History (Brepols) This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
The Bibliography of British and Irish History provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. The complete database now contains just over 600,000 records, and is updated three times a year, usually in February, June and October.
Separate records for articles in journals and in collective volumes, as well as for books; 570 journals are now searched for relevant material.
Access to data from Irish History Online, London's Past Online, Scottish Historical Review Trust.
Specially designed subject classification scheme. Links to online full text, where available.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
The focus of the Federal Government Records module is on the political side of the freedom movement, the role of civil rights organizations in pushing for civil rights legislation, and the interaction between African Americans and the federal government in the 20th century. Major collections in this module include the FBI Files on Martin Luther King Jr.; Centers of the Southern Struggle, an exceptional collection of FBI Files covering five of the most pivotal arenas of the civil rights struggle of the 1960s: Montgomery, Albany, St. Augustine, Selma, and Memphis; and records from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations, detailing the interaction between civil rights leaders and organizations and the highest levels of the federal government. This module also contains important documentation that shows the longer arc of the freedom struggle both before and after the highpoint of the post-World War II civil rights movement. These topics include forced labor in the first half of the 20th century (in Peonage Files of the U.S. Department of Justice, 1901-1945); migration of African Americans to urban areas that began during World War I; East St. Louis riot of 1917; Scottsboro Boys case and campaigns for the passage of anti-lynching legislation; heroic combat record of the Tuskegee Airmen during World War II; and President Truman's Committee on Civil Rights

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
This module supplements the original module of Federal Government records by adding civil rights records from the Ford and Reagan presidencies. The Ford administration records in this module consist of the subject files of J. Stanley Pottinger, who was the assistant attorney general in charge of the Civil Rights Division of the Justice Department, which enforced civil rights laws, and the subject files of Anne R. Clarke, who was a special assistant in the Research Unit of the Civil Rights Division's Sex Discrimination Program. The files of Pottinger and Clarke detail the implementation of federal civil rights law from 1973 through 1977 and thus are an important complement to the other Black Freedom modules that focus on the campaigns that led to the passage of landmark legislation like the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights of 1965. Records from the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library consist of the White House Office of Records Management Subject File on Human Rights and seven collections released as a result of Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requests. The seven FOIA collections cover affirmative action; Bob Jones University; busing and school desegregation; civil rights; fair housing; Martin Luther King Jr. Day; and the Civil Rights Restoration Act, Grove City College, and the Voting Rights Act of 1982.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1 This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
The Organizational Records and Personal Papers bring a new perspective to the Black Freedom Struggle via the records of major civil rights organizations and personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Black freedom struggle. The three major civil rights organizations are the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, and the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs. Papers of civil rights leaders included in this module are those of the civil rights and labor leader A. Philip Randolph; the long-time civil rights activist and organizer of the March on Washington, Bayard Rustin, and the papers of the pioneering educator Mary McLeod Bethune. Through records of Claude A. Barnett's Associated Negro Press, this module also branches out to cover other aspects of African American life in the 20th century, like religion, sports, education, fraternal organizations, and even the field of entertainment.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2 This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
This Black Freedom module is highlighted by the records of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE), the Africa-related papers of Claude Barnett, and the Robert F. Williams Papers. SNCC, formed by student activists in 1960 after the explosion of the sit-in movement, was one of the three most important civil rights organizations of the 1960s, alongside SCLC and the NAACP. CORE was formed in 1941 and organized the pioneering Journey of Reconciliation in the 1940s and the Freedom Rides in the early 1960s; both events are documented in the CORE records in this module. With the addition of SNCC and CORE records, History Vault now includes SNCC, SCLC, CORE, and NAACP records. Rounding out this module are the papers of Chicago Congressman Arthur W. Mitchell, the Chicago chapter of the Congress of Racial Equality, and records pertaining to the Mississippi Freedom Summer.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus.
Black Thought and Culture provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present. The collection is intended for research in black studies, political science, American history, music, literature, and art. The collection begins with the works of Frederick Douglass and is targeted to include the works of W.E.B. Du Bois, Carter G. Woodson, Alain Locke, Mary McLeod Bethune, Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, Langston Hughes, Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, Zora Neale Hurston, Ralph Bunche, Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Jr., Angela Davis,Thurgood Marshall, James Baldwin, Jesse Jackson, Ida B. Wells, Bobby Seale, Cornel West, Michael Eric Dysonand many others. When complete, the collection will include the first-ever complete full run of the Black Panther newspaper.
Black Thought and Culture is intended to present a wide range of previously inaccessible material, including letters by athletes such as Jackie Robinson, correspondence by Ida B. Wells, prefatory essays by Amiri Baraka, political leaflets by Huey Newton, and interviews with Paul Robeson. Much of the material is fugitive, and almost twenty percent of the collection has not been published previously.

Please note to log in off campus you need to find the resource you want to access and then when you see the message 'This is a sample' select 'See all options for accessing the full version of this content'.
Box of Broadcasts (BoB National) This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access on and off campus - Registration required
BoB (Box of Broadcasts) National is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. You can choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels. The recorded programmes are then kept indefinitely (no expiry) and added to a growing media archive (currently at over 1 million programmes), with all content shared by users across all subscribing institutions.

Please note: Individual registration is required and access is only available from the UK.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus
Business Source Complete (BSC) is a scholarly business database providing a collection of bibliographic and full text content in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. It includes abstracts for more than 1,300 business journals back as far as 1886. Full text is available for 1160 titles and in most cases there is a 1 year embargo on issues. BSC also includes around 2800 full-text industry reports from three different providers, as well a company profiles for over 10,000 leading world companies from MarketLine (previously Datamonitor) and Life Science Analytics.
Churchill Archive This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus. For more help logging in, see more for full details
The Churchill Archive is a digital library of modern international history that includes over 800,000 pages of original documents. Spanning 1874-1965, sources include Churchill’s personal correspondence as well as his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders.

Log in:
Select 'Institution subscription log-in' --> 'Shibboleth' --> 'King's College London'
Digimap Ordnance Survey collection (Edina) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access. Registration required
Digimap is an online mapping and spatial data service designed exclusively for higher education. It offers a diverse range of maps and map data for Great Britain, divided into separate Collections, that can be used across nearly all subjects and disciplines. The Digimap Resource Centre [http://digimap.edina.ac.uk/webhelp/resources/] gives details of how to use both the mapping service (Roam) and the data delivery service (Data Download), as well as giving instructions on how to use the data within GIS and CAD software.

The Ordinance Survey includes the most detailed and up-to-date mapping of Great Britain, including 3D buildings data, green spaces and backdrop mapping. This collection includes 50 datasets of both small and large-scale mapping and can help with research on a both national and micro scales and everything in between. Other data types include terrain models, contours, postcodes, road and river networks, and points of interest.
Digital National Security Archive - DNSA This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus
DNSA comprises around 60 topic-based collections covering critical world events and US policy decisions from post-World War II to the 21st century.

The archive contains important declassified U.S. government documents, providing vital primary source material to advance research in twentieth and twenty-first century history, politics, and international relations.
Documents on British Policy Overseas This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access
Documents on British Policy Overseas offers researchers the opportunity to see beneath the surface of the major events of the twentieth century. Users can access contemporary accounts and follow the detailed exchanges that shaped British foreign policy from the origins of the First World War and beyond. It is based on three distinct print series which form a record of British peacetime diplomacy since the end of the nineteenth century: British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914, Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939 and Documents on British Policy Overseas.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (1880-2015) (ProQuest) (Collections 1, 2,3 & 4) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Issues have been scanned in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of articles, covers, ads and reviews.

King's has access to:

EIMA1: Music, Radio and The Stage
EIMA2: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 1)
EIMA3: Cinema, Film and Television (Part 2)
Coverage: 1880 - 2015
Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window On-campus access via Institutional Access, Off-campus access will require initial registration to set up a user account.
Euromonitor Passport is a global market information database and analysis tool containing comprehensive data and reports across all industries, countries, and consumers. It is one of the world's leading providers of global business intelligence, market research data and analysis.

Using Passport's robust analysis and visualisation tools can help with designing teaching materials and projects with real-world relevance, such as strategic planning, economic analysis, industry benchmarking, competitive threats and market entry studies.

When on-campus, access via the 'Institutional Access' option.
When off-campus, registering with an account is required in order to use the resource. Access via the above entry name link, and then register/log in with your individual account to continue.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

Preregister to use Senate House Library at: http://www.senatehouselibrary.ac.uk/membership/online-pre-registration/online-pre-registration/ and visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers, 20th & 21st Century This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
The Twentieth Century House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (20C HCPP) includes the complete file of twentieth century papers, filmed images of 104,902 papers, covering 5.2 million pages of working documents of the British Government from 1901-2004. The digitised collection is based on Chadwyck-Healey’s microfiche collection.

The 20C HCPP are drawn from the HMSO General Alphabetical Indexes covering 1901 to 1979 and the Parliamentary On-Line Information Service (POLIS) database from 1979. POLIS became the Parliamentary Information Management Service (PIMS) in 2005. These indexes have been overlaid with broad subject categories based on the 19th century Subject Catalogue, updated for more recent material.
IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. IBSS includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing. Updated biweekly.

Subjects covered include: anthropology, archaeology, cultural studies, demography, economics, education, ethnology and ethnography, political science, religious studies and sociology.
John Johnson Collection: An Archive of Printed Ephemera (Proquest) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
The John Johnson Collection allows access to a wide array of rare or unique archival materials documenting various aspects of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.
The material selected for conservation, cataloguing and digitisation comprises a wide array of different types of printed document, including posters and handbills for theatrical and non-theatrical entertainments, broadsides relating to murders and executions, book and journal prospectuses, popular topographical prints, and a wealth of different kinds of printed advertising material. The resulting online collection forms an invaluable resource for researchers interested in the histories of consumption, leisure, gender, popular culture, commerce, technology, crime, and a host of other areas. With each item presented as a full-colour, high-resolution facsimile, the John Johnson Collection is also indispensable for researchers studying the development of printing and visual culture in modern Britain.

The John Johnson Collection offers access five different categories of material: Nineteenth-Century entertainment; the booktrade; popular prints; advertising; and crime, murders and executions.
Middle East Online (Gale) This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus
King's has access to two collections that cover a wide range of original source material from the British Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
An illustrated collection of more than 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past. Updated 3 times a year with new biographies and additions to articles already published.
Praeger Security International Online (PSIO) This link opens in a new window Specific password for off-campus access - see More for full details
Electronic online resource covering international security, including defence and foreign policy, strategy, regional security, military history, and terrorism. The extensive full‐text library is made up of more than 600 titles under the Praeger imprint, along with more than 1,000 primary source documents and short commissioned essays by experts and scholars in the field of contemporary security studies.

For specific username and password details, go to our passwords page.
Screen Studies Collection (1893-) (Proquest) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
Screen Studies Online is a new portal for subscribers to Proquest film resources which combines the American Film Institute Catalog (AFI Catalog), FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals and Film Index International. Created in partnership with three distinguished film research organizations, the British Film Institute, the American Film Institute, and the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF), Screen Studies Online can be used to cross-search these three resources or to search the individual databases separately.
US Intelligence on the Middle East, 1945-2009 (Brill Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus
This collection of 2,740 documents sheds light on the U.S. intelligence community’s spying and analytic efforts in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa. It covers the time period from the end of World War II to the present day, up until the 2002-2003 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Iran’s nuclear program.