The Maughan Library
Print books and journals for Digital Humanities can be found at the Maughan Library. Discover material using Library Search and the A-Z Databases:
Find more to read with Libby
Read for pleasure or expand your horizons with our selection of popular fiction, non-fiction and general interest titles on Libby. Choose from
audiobooks, ebooks and magazines.
- Libby App This link opens in a new window With the Libby App you can enjoy free ebook novels and audiobooks. Here's how to access:1. Download the Libby App or open Libby on your device2. Search for King's College London3. Sign in with your King's credentials4. Browse, borrow and read!Libby on Windows, Mac, and ChromebooksLibby on iOS devicesLibby on Android devices
Collections Guide for Digital Humanities
Welcome to the Collections Guide for Digital Humanities
This guide provides tailored information on library collections and links to some of our key resources.
Find specialist resources for Digital Humanities
- Digital Scholar Lab (DSL) - (Gale) This link opens in a new window Digital Scholar Lab is a tool for Digital Humanities studying and research. It is designed to facilitate learning and researching Gale's digital resources licensed by the King’s College London.The Digital Scholar Lab (DSL) is an online tool for analysing texts, visualising the results, and exporting data, graphs, and texts from the platform. It runs in your Internet browser and does not need any additional software.It enables students and researchers with KCL credentials to access content and OCR data from Gale Primary Sources as well as one's own plain text files and analyse these with text and data mining tools. One can create custom data sets from the archives available and use digital tools to analyse them.Note: Click on Login and then "Use university credentials" icon
- Research Methods Primary Sources This link opens in a new window Designed as a tool to support students of the humanities and social sciences, Research Methods Primary Sources introduces the key approaches to working with source materials and historical evidence. Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.
- Digimap Historic collection (Edina) This link opens in a new window Historic Digimap delivers the valuable historic Ordnance Survey map collection to Higher and Further Education. The Landmark historical map data are digital scans of Ordnance Survey paper map sheets including:- all available County Series maps at 1:2,500 and 1:10560 scales published between 1843 and 1939; and - all available National Grid maps at 1:1,250, 1:2,500 and 1:10560/10,000 scales published from 1945 and before the introduction of the Ordnance Survey's digital Land-Line product.- all available Town Plans at 1:500, 1:528 and 1:1,056 scales published from 1848 and 1939.Map collections span through to the 1990s. Users can view maps through web browsers, save maps for printing and download the historical map data for use in geographical information systems. To access Digimap Collections, you are required to register.
- Digimap Environmental collection (Edina) This link opens in a new window Landcover usage maps and data from five different time periods; 1930s (Dudley Stamp maps), 1990, 2000, 2007, 2015. These have been produced by the Centre for Ecology and Hydrology (CEH). To access Digimap Collections, you are required to register.
- Digimap Ordnance Survey collection (Edina) This link opens in a new window Digimap is an online mapping and spatial data service designed exclusively for higher education. It offers a diverse range of maps and map data for Great Britain, divided into separate Collections, that can be used across nearly all subjects and disciplines. The Digimap Resource Centre [http://digimap.edina.ac.uk/webhelp/resources/] gives details of how to use both the mapping service (Roam) and the data delivery service (Data Download), as well as giving instructions on how to use the data within GIS and CAD software.The Ordinance Survey includes the most detailed and up-to-date mapping of Great Britain, including 3D buildings data, green spaces and backdrop mapping. This collection includes 50 datasets of both small and large-scale mapping and can help with research on a both national and micro scales and everything in between. Other data types include terrain models, contours, postcodes, road and river networks, and points of interest.To access Digimap Collections, you are required to register.
- DigiPal (Digital Resource and Database for Palaeography, Manuscript Studies and Diplomatic) This link opens in a new window DigiPal is a resource for the study of medieval handwriting, particularly that produced in England during the years 1000–1100, the time of Æthelred, Cnut and William the Conqueror. It is designed to allow you to see samples of handwriting from the period and to compare them with each other quickly and easily.Funded by the European Union Seventh Framework Programme (FP7), it is based at the Department of Digital Humanities at King's College London.
Find primary sources for Digital Humanities
The Library provides access to a large number of primary source collections online. Find a selection below and a complete list in our A-Z Databases.
- Archives Unbound (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars, researchers, and students at the college and university level. A multi-disciplinary resource, collections cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Particular strengths include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history. Collections are chosen based on requests from scholars, archivists, and students.With Archives Unbound, users can engage with primary sources in ways that were never before possible through a range of powerful features:
- British Online Archives - 9 collections This link opens in a new window British Online Archives provides students and researchers in the humanities and social sciences with access to unique collections of primary source documents.The website hosts over 3 million records drawn from both private and public archives. These records are organised thematically, covering 1,000 years of world history, from politics and warfare to slavery and medicine.The collections included are: • Apartheid Through the Eyes of South African Political Parties• Colonial Law in Africa, 1920-1945• Colonial Law in Africa, 1946-1966• Communisms and the Cold War- 1944 - 1986 • Establishing the Post-War International Order, 1944-1961 • Military Intelligence Files: Land, Sea & Air, 1938-1974 • Paris Peace Conference and Beyond, 1919-1939 • Prosecuting the Holocaust: British Investigations into Nazi Crimes 1944-1949• Secrecy, Sabotage, and Aiding the Resistance: How Anglo-American Cooperation Shaped World War II
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window Gale Primary Sources enables cross-searching of several Gale collections including 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century British Newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals, Eighteenth Century Collections Online and The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2008. New workflow tools and technology allows researchers to analyse the content in a broader context and make new research connections.
- History Vault (Cross-Searching) This link opens in a new window ProQuest History Vault unlocks the wealth of key archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access digitised letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. Plese note: King's does not subscribe to all modules.
Find Arts & Humanities literature online
The following eresources cover a range of disciplines including your subject area:
- Proquest Arts & Humanities collection This link opens in a new window A collection of ProQuest databases in the Arts & Humanities subject area for King's users. Additional databases may be available via Senate House
- JSTOR ebooks and journals This link opens in a new window JSTOR offers academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Via JSTOR books, King's currently has access to over 54,000 titles from over 42 publishers.King’s subscribes to the following collections within JSTOR: 19th Century British PamphletsArts & Sciences I-XV CollectionBusiness I CollectionBusiness II CollectionIreland CollectionJewish StudiesLanguage & Literature CollectionLife Sciences CollectionMusic CollectionPolitical ScienceFilm StudiesLanguage and LiteraturePhilosophyReligionSociologyBusiness and Economics
- Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) This link opens in a new window PAO – formerly PCI Full Text - is a major online periodical archive that contains hundreds of journal backfiles in the humanities and social sciences. The date range is 1770-2000. A hive of hundreds of digitised journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas. Please note King's College London users have access to Collections 1 to 10 and JISC special collections 1 and 2.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery. King's only subscribes to selected journals.
- Ebook Central - King's This link opens in a new window Ebook Central is an ebook platform. King’s have purchased over 21,200 titles covering a range of subjects and provides further access to over 176,350 titles.
- Humanities Index (1962-) This link opens in a new window An international abstracting and indexing tool available via ProQuest for research in the humanities. HI indexes over 400 internationally respected humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the UK and other English speaking countries, as well as quality newspapers published in the UK. It covers current affairs, political science, religion, law, history, archaeology, education, economics, environment and gender studies.Updated monthly with approximately 1,500 records added; it also has the capability to link to electronic full text of many journal articles
Find books for Digital Humanities
A selection of classmarks for your subject:
- AZ(20)-999 - History of scholarship & learning.
The humanities. - QA75.5-76.95 - Electronic computers. Computer science.
- ZA4050-4775 - Information in specific formats or media.
Find print books and ebooks via Library Search.
Find literature online for Digital Humanities
- LISTA - Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window The LISTA database provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals plus books, research reports, and proceedings. With coverage dating back to the mid-1960s, it is the oldest continuously produced database covering the field of information science.
- ProQuest Social Sciences collection This link opens in a new window A collection of ProQuest databases in the Social Sciences subject area for King's users. The content includes full-text newspapers, government documents, magazines, journals, video, ebooks, industry standard A&I databases and more. These collections cover such subjects as sociology, political science, anthropology, gender studies, religion, philosophy, criminology, library and information science, education and linguistics.Additional databases may be available via Senate House.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window Scopus is a large multidisciplinary, bibliographic and citation database created and maintained by Elsevier. It provides access to extensive journal coverage especially in science, technology and medicine and is expanding its coverage of the social sciences. Citation coverage is back to 1996. Bibliographic coverage generally reaches further back but is variable.
- Web of Science (All databases) This link opens in a new window Web of Science provides access to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examines proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. It is a gateway to:Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present)Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present)Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present) KCI-Korean Journal Database MedlineRussian Science Citation IndexSciELO Citation IndexSpecific log-in instructions for Web of Science can be found here.
Find journals for Digital Humanities
Keep up to date with your subject. Print journals are on the ground floor of the Maughan Library in rooms G.54-G.59, GM.54-GM.59, G.66-G.67. See our Floorplans.
Find print and ejournals via Library Search. Titles include:
Senate House Library
Senate House Library is a large humanities research library in Bloomsbury. 
King’s staff and students are entitled to free membership which provides
borrowing rights to print books and remote access to most eresources.
See Membership for information on signing up.