Skip to Main Content

Contact Us

Feel free to chat to us by using our 24/7 live online chat:

For general enquiries about Libraries & Collections, you can also email library@kcl.ac.uk

If you would like to contact IT, their details are below:

Or email them at 88888@kcl.ac.uk

Icons used by these guides are from Flaticon.com.

Artist credits: Dinosoft Labs, Becris, Icon Pond, Alfredo Hernandez, Vectors Market, and Freepik.

This guide is brought to you by:

Libraries & Collections Logo

Use and reuse license for our guides

The material in these guides is licensed under: 

Icon for creative commons license allowing non-commerical reuse with attribution and sharealike

Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike
CC BY-NC-SA

Find out more at the Creative Commons:

Library overview for Researchers

The overview videos will give you an introduction to the resources, services and support available to you from Libraries & Collections.

Overview for postgraduate researchers 2023-24

Getting Started with Research Support

The research support team are here to help with questions around Open Access, funding, copyright and managing your research data. You can find more information and resources by exploring links below:

Library Tours

The self-guided tours help you to learn about the resources, facilities, and services within the libraries as well as how to find a physical book.

Self-guided Tours

The Maughan Library

Weston Education Centre Library (Denmark Hill Campus)

IoPPN Library (Denmark Hill Campus)

Franklin-Wilkins Library (Waterloo Campus)

 

Postgraduate Spaces

Have a look at our guide of all the dedicated or suggested postgraduate study spaces across the King's libraries.

New Hunt's House Library (Guy's Campus)

How we can support your studies

Libraries & Collections are committed to supporting our learner communities to the best of our abilities. We do this in different ways across a number of platforms, like Library Guides, KEATS and LibAnswers FAQs, Each platform has its own purpose:

Library webpages

These give a quick overview of library services and resources, where you will find:

Library Guides

Our Library Guides (like this one) are designed to help you navigate and signpost you through the platforms we use to inform and support our communities at King's. We have Library Guides that are specifically focused on different subjects and that can be used to help you choose and access relevant resources and support for your subject.

KLaSS on KEATS

King's Learning and Skills Service (KLaSS) is a suite of e-learning tutorials designed to support learners to:

  • retrieve high-quality academic information from online sources
  • get help and support on their search topic via online Forums
  • learn about the referencing styles in use at King's
  • manage and share your research data (designed for Researchers)

Need to ask us a question?

Getting started with King's repositories and data mining

King’s has two repositories where staff and PhD students deposit and openly share their research outputs:

  • Pure, or the Research Portal, is for research publications (such as journal articles, book chapters, theses, monographs, conference papers and grey literature).
  • KORDS (King’s Open Research Data System) is for research datasets.

Most of the items in these collections are free for all to access and re-use. Guidance for PhD students about how to deposit their work can be found on the Libraries & Collections Research Support webpages.

ProQuest TDM Studio is a text data mining service for the subscribed eresources from ProQuest, who are the Library’s largest eresource subscriber. TDM Studio also has visualisation options and access to collaborative workspaces with Python and R coding tools.

Create an account using your King's email address.

Getting Started with Library Search

Library Search provides access to an extensive collection of resources to support your studies comprising books, ebooks, ejournals, newspaper collections and databases.  It includes digital content held by Archives and Special Collections.

Getting Started With the Archives

This video introduces King’s College London Archives, including the Liddell Hart Collection for Military Archives which hold a unique, internationally significant range of archival and printed sources.

Getting Started with Special Collections

The Foyle Special Collections Library holds a unique, internationally significant and continually expanding range of printed and other sources.

Getting Started with finding support

This video will take you through all of the different elearning study support options we can offer you including 1:1 support, sign-up workshops and forums:

Important to know

  • You just need your King’s ID card to enter the libraries.
  • No hot or smelly food allowed, cold snacks and lidded drinks are permitted.