LibGuides: Global Affairs and Social Sciences: Finding journal articles in databases

Introduction to database searching

If you are searching for a topic or subject rather than a specific article you might like to search one of our databases. These often focus on a particular subject area or discipline and reduce the amount of results you receive from irrelevant subjects.

Databases are collections of resources such as journal articles and conference papers, and also sometimes book chapters and reports. If you are doing a literature search or systematic review they are a key resource to use.

There are two main kinds of database:

Bibliographic - they won't show you the full paper straight away, but you can often read an abstract and see the author details. You'll need to check with Get it @ King's if the Library has access to the journal article
Full text - will let you open and read the article directly from the list of results

Newspapers

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with finding Newspaper articles online. For a more complete list of related databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for Newspapers:

A-Z Databases for Newspapers

Economist Historical Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
ounded in 1843, The Economist's principles and methods remain relevant today. It is renowned for its consistent approach to internationalism and championing of minimal state in political and government affairs. In more than 8,000 issues since its first publication in 1843, The Economist has presented timely reporting, concise commentary, and comprehensive analysis of global news every week. With objective authority, clarity, and wit, The Economist presents the worlds political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them. Full-color images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue - all combine to offer a unique primary source covering the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

With a global circulation of more than 1.4 million, The Economist has consistently delivered a highly intelligent and comprehensive report of the week's events and has long been a leading magazine for business and political leaders, politicians, diplomats, bankers, journalists, and other influential people throughout the world. Its back issues are made accessible through The Economist Historical Archive and serve as key witnesses to the economic and political history of the last 170 years. They provide a unique, unbiased analysis of major world events, facilitate the comparison of economic trends across continents and centuries, and offer an ideal historical resource for cutting-edge ideas in an easily digestible form.
New York Times (1851-2014) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time
Observer (1995-) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
This subscription to The Observer, from 1995 onwards, is available as part of the database ProQuest Newspapers via Senate House Library.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching in the Finding Academic Material for Arts & Humanities Topics module of KLaSS:

KLaSS - Finding Academic Material for Arts & Humanities

Getting the full text

If a database lists something you want to read, look for a button that says 'Get it at King's' This will take you to Library Search and to the full text, if the library subscribes to the journal, or prompting you to request the item via Inter Library Loan.

I can't see the 'Get it @ King's'

If the 'Get it @ King's' button is not available then you should use Library Search to see if the article or book is available through another database.

Library Search @ King's
Find books and full text journal articles on your subject online!

New to using Library Search?

Find out how to use Library Search to find the books and items you need in the Getting Started With the Library - Undergraduates and Taught Postgraduates section of this guide - look for the navigation button in the top left corner!

Databases by subject

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with International Development topics. For a more complete list of databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for International Development:

A-Z Databases for International Development

Cambridge Journals Online (Cambridge Core) This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus
Online access to selected titles from the Cambridge Journals Online service. It is possible to limit browsing and searching to titles for which King’s has full text access. King's coverage now includes also large part of the CUP journals archive.
Please note that King's does not subscribe to all journals.
JSTOR ebooks and journals This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
JSTOR offers academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

King’s subscribes to the following collections within JSTOR:
19th Century British Pamphlets
Arts & Sciences I-XV Collection
Business I Collection
Business II Collection
Ireland Collection
Jewish Studies
Language & Literature Collection
Life Sciences Collection
Music Collection
Political Science
Film Studies
Language and Literature
Philosophy
Religion
Sociology
Business and Economics

Via JSTOR books, King's currently has access to over 54,000 titles from over 42 publishers.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus.
Wiley Online Library is a collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities. King's coverage includes access to some of the subject collections of the Wiley journals backfile.

If you experience problems logging in try this URL
https://go.openathens.net/redirector/kcl.ac.uk?url=https%3A%2F%2Fonlinelibrary.wiley.com%2F
- it may help to use a Private/Incognito browser window
Also note that if you can see
Access by-member@kcl.ac.uk
this means you have successfully logged in.

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information for Arts & Sciences section of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Education topics. For a more complete list of databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for Education:

A-Z Databases for Education

ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts on the Web covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. ASSIA currently contains from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
Social Policy and Practice (Ovid) - King's This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access
Social Policy and Practice represents an important source for applied social science policy-makers and practitioners working within human resources, public safety, social services, social administration, economic and social development, social work, social work education and care management. Coverage is broad and includes:

-Public & social policy
-Public health
-Social care
-Community development
-Mental and community health
-Homelessness
-Housing
-Crime
-Equalities
-Law and order
-Children and families
-Older People

The database comprises over 320,000 bibliographic records to reports, surveys and statistics.

Note: For help with logging in see this webpagefor more details.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information for Arts & Sciences section of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Geography topics. For a more complete list of databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for Geography:

A-Z Databases for Geography

IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. IBSS includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing. Updated biweekly.

Subjects covered include: anthropology, archaeology, cultural studies, demography, economics, education, ethnology and ethnography, political science, religious studies and sociology.
Proquest Social Sciences collection This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
A collection of Proquest databases in the Social Sciences subject area for King's users.

Additional databases may be available via Senate House
Social Services Abstracts (Proquest) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access
This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews. Updated monthly, with approximately 5,500 records added per year.

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information for Arts & Sciences section of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Global Health topics. For a more complete list of databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for Global Health:

A-Z Databases for Global Health & Social Medicine

ASSIA Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts on the Web covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Updated monthly, ASSIA provides a comprehensive source of social science and health information for the practical and academic professional. ASSIA currently contains from over 500 journals published in 16 different countries, including the UK and US.
Global Health (Ovid) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access
GLOBAL HEALTH brings together the resources of two internationally renowned databases - the Public Health and Tropical Medicine (PHTM) database, previously produced by the Bureau of Hygiene and Tropical Diseases (BHTD), and the human health and diseases information extracted from CAB ABSTRACTS.

Dating back to 1973, together they provide a unique resource which offers a substantially deeper subject coverage of information related to human health and communicable diseases than many other sources currently available.

Global Health provides an alternative, complementary point of reference with a broad analysis of foreign language journals, books, research reports, patents and standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports, public health, developing country information, and other difficult to obtain material.

Note: For help with logging in see this webpagefor more details.
Social Policy and Practice (Ovid) - King's This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access
Social Policy and Practice represents an important source for applied social science policy-makers and practitioners working within human resources, public safety, social services, social administration, economic and social development, social work, social work education and care management. Coverage is broad and includes:

-Public & social policy
-Public health
-Social care
-Community development
-Mental and community health
-Homelessness
-Housing
-Crime
-Equalities
-Law and order
-Children and families
-Older People

The database comprises over 320,000 bibliographic records to reports, surveys and statistics.

Note: For help with logging in see this webpagefor more details.

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information for Arts & Sciences and Health sections of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Politics topics. For a more complete list of databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for Politics:

A-Z Databases for Politics

Encyclopedia of Political Science (TEPS) (Sage) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
The Encyclopedia of Political Science (TEPS) offers a comprehensive and in-depth exploration of the central ideas, ideologies, and frameworks underlying the study of politics, and highlights the intersections of politics with philosophy, cultural studies, sociology, religion, psychology, history, and economics. Prepared with the assistance of the American Political Science Association (APSA), the TEPS brings together a distinguished editorial board and more than 600 established and rising scholars to chronicle twenty-first-century trends and assess the core issues that have long concerned students of politics. This unique reference reflects a wide range of concepts and frameworks, both Western and non-Western, and is national and international in scope. An authoritative survey of the state of politics and political science, this five-volume work contains more than 1,500 signed entries, including 500 core or interpretive essays, by contributors from nearly 40 countries.
Hansard Online This link opens in a new window Free access
Hansard is a substantially verbatim report of what is said in Parliament. Members’ words are recorded and then edited to remove repetitions and obvious mistakes, albeit without taking away from the meaning. Hansard also sets out details of Divisions and reports decisions taken during a sitting.

A “rolling” version of Hansard is published online in instalments during sitting days, with the printed record (daily part) of a day’s sitting becoming available the next morning, alongside an online version. Each House of Parliament has separate publications. Commons Hansard includes proceedings in the Commons Chamber and Westminster Hall, as well as written ministerial statements, petitions and ministerial corrections, while Lords Hansard details proceedings in the Lords Chamber and Grand Committee. Separate reports are produced of proceedings in Commons General and Public Bill Committees.

Hansard Online is a prototype of a new way to present content on the web. It is a joint project involving Hansard in the Commons and Lords and the Parliamentary Digital Service, with development led by Parliament’s Rapid Apps Team

New features on the site include a much-improved search function, the bringing together of all Hansard records into one easy interface, and the ability to link to particular contributions. The project team would welcome feedback on these or other features, which can be submitted through the feedback tool on the website.

As the Hansard Online project develops, we aim to bring together the “rolling” version of Hansard with reports of previous dates, and also to allow easy navigation between Hansard and the audio-visual record. In partnership with the data.parliament initiative, the project also seeks to streamline the publication process.
Historic Hansard (1803-2005) This link opens in a new window Free access
This site has been produced from digitised editions of Commons and Lords Hansard, the Official Report of debates in Parliament. This was part of a project led by the Commons and Lords libraries.

There's the Hansard text itself by volume, Lords sittings, Commons sittings and Westminster Hall sittings as well as Written Answers, Written Statements, Lords reports and Grand Committee reports. This site also includes extracted lists of People who are recorded as having spoken, Constituencies, Offices, Acts, Bills and Divisions.
Proquest Social Sciences collection This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
A collection of Proquest databases in the Social Sciences subject area for King's users.

Additional databases may be available via Senate House

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)

Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Modern Language topics.

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics (ScienceDirect) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics is the most authoritative, up-to-date, comprehensive, and international reference source in its field, with around 3,000 articles, 1,500 figures and supplementary audio, video and text files. There are approximately 700 biographical entries and 200 language maps, and the online edition features extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases to make navigation flexible and easy.
MLA International Bibliography and Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
Covers folklore, languages, linguistics and literature. Provides citations for items from journals and series published worldwide from 1926 to date. Indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Available via EBSCOhost.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
Oxford Reference Online: The Core Collection brings together 100 well-known and trusted dictionaries, reference books and Encyclopedias, into a single cross-searchable web database. The Premium Collection offers all of these, plus added functionality and more detailed information from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series, plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations. ORO provides integrated, consistent coverage of a broad range of subjects: everything from General Reference, Language and Quotations to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information for Arts & Sciences section of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with War Studies topics. For a more complete list of databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for War Studies:

A-Z Databases for War Studies

Churchill Archive This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus. For more help logging in, see more for full details
The Churchill Archive is a digital library of modern international history that includes over 800,000 pages of original documents. Spanning 1874-1965, sources include Churchill’s personal correspondence as well as his official exchanges with kings, presidents, politicians, and military leaders.

Log in:
Select 'Institution subscription log-in' --> 'Shibboleth' --> 'King's College London'
Documents on British Policy Overseas This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access
Documents on British Policy Overseas offers researchers the opportunity to see beneath the surface of the major events of the twentieth century. Users can access contemporary accounts and follow the detailed exchanges that shaped British foreign policy from the origins of the First World War and beyond. It is based on three distinct print series which form a record of British peacetime diplomacy since the end of the nineteenth century: British Documents on the Origins of the War 1898-1914, Documents on British Foreign Policy 1918-1939 and Documents on British Policy Overseas.
Praeger Security International Online (PSIO) This link opens in a new window Specific password for off-campus access - see More for full details
Electronic online resource covering international security, including defence and foreign policy, strategy, regional security, military history, and terrorism. The extensive full‐text library is made up of more than 600 titles under the Praeger imprint, along with more than 1,000 primary source documents and short commissioned essays by experts and scholars in the field of contemporary security studies.

For specific username and password details, go to our passwords page.

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information for Arts & Sciences section of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Databases by Institute or region of the world

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with African Leadership topics. For a more complete list of related databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for Global Affairs:

A-Z Databases for Global Affairs
African Economic Outlook
Comprehensive and comparable data and analysis of 54 African economies.

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching in the Finding Academic Material for Arts & Humanities Topics module of KLaSS:

KLaSS - Finding Academic Material for Arts & Humanities

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Australian topics. For a more complete list of related databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for Global Affairs:

A-Z Databases for Global Affairs

Australian Education Index (1977-) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access
Contains 130,000 bibliographic references (some with abstracts) to all articles in 200 Australian journals, as well as selective indexing of a further 500 Australian and international journals in the field of education. Books, conference proceedings and papers, research and technical reports, and theses are also indexed. Coverage is from 1979 to date, with monthly updates. Is possible to cross search with British Education Index & ERIC.

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Brazilian topics. For a more complete list of related databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for Global Affairs:

A-Z Databases for Global Affairs

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
HAPI is your source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews (through 2001), documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
HAPI Online combines current information about Latin America with in-depth coverage spanning more than thirty years.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Offering key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a highly respected database produced by the Latin American Center of the University of California, Los Angeles, PRISMA features

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Chinese topics. For a more complete list of related databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for Global Affairs:

A-Z Databases for Global Affairs

China Academic Journals Database (CNKI) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access
The CNKI China Academic Journals database is the largest full-text Chinese journals database in the world. Offered via the China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI) platform, CAJ covers all academic journals published in mainland China, with comprehensive access to an impressive range of content in all disciplines, including medicine & Public Health, information science and economics and management.

欧洲时报 UK China Info 24
more...less...
Also available in English

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Indian topics. For a more complete list of related databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for Global Affairs:

A-Z Databases for Global Affairs

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with London topics. For a more complete list of related databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for Global Affairs:

A-Z Databases for Global Affairs
Connected Histories
more...less...
Connected Histories provides a single point of access to a wide range of distributed digital resources relating to early modern and nineteenth-century British history.
It incorporates the following digital sources:
• British History Online
• British Newspapers 1600-1900
• Charles Booth Online Archive
• Clergy of the Church of England Database 1540–1835
• London Lives, 1690–1800
• Old Bailey Proceedings Online, 1674–1913
• Origins Network
• Parliamentary Papers
• Printed Ephemera from the Bodleian Library
• Strype’s Survey of London
London Metropolitan Archive
more...less...
London Metropolitan Archives (LMA) is home to an amazing range of documents, images, maps, films and books about London. LMA is free to use and open to everyone.
London Guildhall Library
Guildhall Library is a public reference collection covering all aspects of life in London, past and present, its trade, people and buildings.

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Middle Eastern topics. For a more complete list of related databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for Global Affairs:

A-Z Databases for Global Affairs

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
Search worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access
CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with North American topics. For a more complete list of related databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for Global Affairs:

A-Z Databases for Global Affairs

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.
European Views of the Americas 1493-1750 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.
Slavery, abolition and social justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new window Senate House Library membership required - click on more for full details
An essential resource for the study of slavery, the African American experience and world history spanning over five centuries.

Designed for teaching and research, this resource brings together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world, covering an extensive time period from 1490. Topics covered include the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
The resource offers in-depth case studies in America, the Caribbean, Brazil and Cuba along with important material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade.

Pre-Register at Senate House Library then visit Senate House Library in person to complete your registration.

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Below are a small selection of databases for getting started with Russian topics. For a more complete list of related databases, visit the A-Z list of databases for Global Affairs:

A-Z Databases for Global Affairs

IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window King’s username and password for access off campus
The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an essential online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. IBSS includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing. Updated biweekly.

Subjects covered include: anthropology, archaeology, cultural studies, demography, economics, education, ethnology and ethnography, political science, religious studies and sociology.
Russian Science Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window King's username and password for access off campus
Web of Science, in collaboration with the Scientific Electronic Library (eLibrary.RU), have created a database of the top-tier scholarly publications in Russia - the Russian Science Citation Index (RSCI). Search RSCI directly on Web of Science to access the most significant Russian scientific research with easy and direct access to its premier journals. RSCI covers fields such as engineering, material science, and ecology and provides local language interface for simplified discovery. Content is provided in Russian and English and is updated monthly. Over 600 titles have been selected for indexing with backfiles available to 2005.

New to using online databases?

Complete interactive tutorials on literature searching and earn badges in the Finding and Evaluating Information section of KLaSS:

KLaSS Module (KEATS)
Online tutorials and forums available 24/7; to help you find academic materials for your topics and choose your referencing style

Key Classmarks by Institute or Region of the World

D – General history
DT – African history
GN – Anthropology
HB – Economic theory
HC – Economic history and conditions
HD – Industries, land use and labour
HF – Commerce
HM – Sociology
HV – Social and public welfare. Criminology.
JA – Political science
JF – Political institutions and public administration
JQ – Political institutions and public administration Africa
JX – International law
JZ – International relations
UA – Armies and military organisation

Books on your subject can be found at:

Franklin Wilkins Library
Click for opening hours, details of the collections and maps to the Library
The Maughan Library
Click for opening hours, details of the collections and maps to the Library

DU - the history of Australia, New Zealand and the South Seas
JQ3995-6691 - political institutions and public administration of countries including Australia
JV1-5399 - colonies and colonisation
JV9100-9269 - emigration and immigration in Australia and New Zealand
PR9600-9619.3 - Australian literature

Books on your subject can be found at:

The Maughan Library
Click for opening hours, details of the collections and maps to the Library

F1201-3799 - Latin American history
JL1200-2499 - Latin American politics
PC5001-5498 - Portuguese language
PQ9000-9326 - Portuguese literature
PQ9500-9796 - Brazilian literature

Books on your subject can be found at:

The Maughan Library
Click for opening hours, details of the collections and maps to the Library

DS 779 - History of China
HC 430 - China and economic policy
HF 1604 - China and its political economy
JA 84 - China and political thought

Books on your subject can be found at:

The Maughan Library
Click for opening hours, details of the collections and maps to the Library

DS1-937 – history of Asia
DS401-486.8 – history of India (Bharat)
DS430-432 – ethnography and sects
JQ21-1852 – political institutions in Asia
JQ200-620 – Indian politics

Books on your subject can be found at:

The Maughan Library
Click for opening hours, details of the collections and maps to the Library

DA676-DA689 – History of London

Books on your subject can be found at:

The Maughan Library
Click for opening hours, details of the collections and maps to the Library

D - History (general)
DC - French History
DE - History of Mediterranean region; Greco-Roman world
DF - Greek History
DG - Italian History
DP - Spanish and Portuguese History
DR - Eastern European History; Balkan peninsula and Turkey
DS - History of Asia including the Middle East
HC - Economic history including the European Union
JN - Political institutions in Europe, including the European Union
PA - includes Greek language materials
PC - includes French, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish language materials
PJ - includes Arabic language materials.

Books on your subject can be found at:

The Maughan Library
Click for opening hours, details of the collections and maps to the Library

E - the history of the Americas, especially the United States
F - United States local history, the rest of North America and Latin America
PS - American literature

Books on your subject can be found at:

The Maughan Library
Click for opening hours, details of the collections and maps to the Library

DK1-949.5 - history of Russia, Soviet Union and former Soviet Republics
JN6500-6598 - political institutions and public administration of the Soviet Union, Russia and former Soviet Republics.
PG2900-3698 - Russian literature

Books on your subject can be found at:

The Maughan Library
Click for opening hours, details of the collections and maps to the Library