The Foyle Special Collections Library
The Foyle Special Collections holds over 240,000 items – printed books, pamphlets and periodicals, as well as maps, slides, manuscripts, typescripts and photographs – ranging in date from the 15th century to the present day.
Of particular relevance is the Institute of Psychiatry Historical Collection, a rich resource in the history and bibliography of Psychiatry.
The Foyle Special Collections Library is open to King's staff and students and to external readers. Further details, including how to make arrangements to visit, can be found here.
King's College London Archives
King’s College London Archives hold a unique and internationally significant range of archival and printed sources, ensuring their preservation and providing access to King's students, academics and other colleagues, the global research community and the general public. The collections include material on the history of King's College London and its merged institutions, as well as history of Medicine, Nursing and Science.
Further details about the Archives, including how to make arrangements to visit, can be found here.
Historic Collections at the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience Library
Historic collections from both the Maudsley Hospital and Bethlem Royal Hospital were transferred to the IoPPN over many years prior to the Institute joining King's College London in 1997. They span a variety of subjects that provide insight into of the development the Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience in the 19th and early 20th century.
These distinct collections add to the unique character of the print material at the IoPPN. Our collections on the History of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience and the History of Medicine held in our libraries, Foyle Special Collections Library and our Archives are an area of collection strength and are considered to be of national and international importance.
Historic Collections
This collection is formed of books and grey material (pamphlets, essays etc) that were originally part of a collection located at the British Phrenological Society (1886-1967).
Many of the items are representative of typical subjects found in works from the late 19th century and early 20th century on Phrenology and are of historical interest. Many items are unique and are not held by other comparable libraries within the UK. This collection complements the holdings in the IoPPN Historical Collections held by the Foyle's Special Collections and Archives which are of national and international significance.
The collection includes a number of works by George Combe (1788-1858), founder of the Edinburgh Phrenological Society. The collection includes late 19th century editions of “A system of phrenology” – a popular, mainstream phrenology text of the time. Works authored by former Presidents of the British Phrenological Society also feature – such as texts by J.P. Blackford and Joseph Millott (1860-1942). Other items of note include works by Bernard Hollander (1864-1934), an Austrian emigree, London-based Psychiatrist and King’s College London alumnus.
Phrenology was considered controversial from its inception. Later phrenological movements become increasingly concerned with issues of social reform linked with notions of morality and criminality, as well as with racial categorisation. The library is acquiring material that provides more historical context and critical perspectives on the history of Psychology and Phrenology.
Further information about this collection can be found on the fact sheet below:
Please note that this guide is currently undergoing a review and the content is being updated.
Please note that this guide is currently undergoing a review and the content is being updated.