LibGuides: Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience: Key databases

Databases

Databases may include a variety of different resources such as journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, reports and multimedia. For a full list of databases accessible via the library please visit the Library's database pages.

Below are some selected databases you may find relevant for psychiatry, psychology & neuroscience:

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources. Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender (Gale) This link opens in a new window The Archives of Sexuality & Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history. Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.
CINAHL - King's This link opens in a new window CINAHL (The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is a bibliographic database for the fields of nursing and allied health literature indexing over 5,000 journals. This database is available via the EBSCO Host service.  Journals from many professional areas including therapy, rehabilitation, pharmacy and social care are also included. Useful if you study:Dental careHealth managementHealth sciencesMedicinePharmacySocial workSport and exercise sciences  
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The library incorporates six key resources in the field of evidence based practice: CDSR, DARE, CENTRAL - the Cochrane Controlled Trials Register, the Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR), the NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHS EED) and the Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA). A seventh database provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.Access to the Cochrane Library is free to NHS staff, patients and the public in the United Kingdom. For information on access from other countries see this page
Henry Stewart Talks (Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection) This link opens in a new window A collection of lectures and presentations by leading experts in the fields of biomedicine and life sciences. Includes specific series on clinical methods, biochemistry, diseases, immunology, microbiology. The presentations consist of navigable slides with accompanying narration synchronised for ease of listening. They are all approximately 40-50 minutes long and are organised into a comprehensive series of talks.Useful if you study: BiochemistryBiologyClinical MedicinePharmacyThe Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection contains over 2,500 specially commissioned, multi-media, online lectures by leading world experts from universities, research centres, medical schools, and pharmaceutical/biotech companies. There are over 2,000 contributing editors and speakers. Subject categories include:BiochemistryCancerCell BiologyClinical PracticeGenetics & EpigeneticsImmunologyMetabolism & NutritionMethodsMicrobiologyNeurosciencePharmaceutical SciencesPhysiology & AnatomyPlant & Animal SciencesReproduction & DevelopmentTherapeutic areas included:Cardiovascular & MetabolicDermatologyGastroenterology & NephrologyGynaecology & ObstetricsHaematologyImmunology & InflammationInfectious DiseasesNeurologyOncologyOphthalmologyOral HealthRespiratory DiseasesVaccines 
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) This link opens in a new window King's has access to the following section:BioengineeringBiologyImmunology and InfectionMedicineNeuroscienceJoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. Established in 2006, JoVE is devoted to publishing scientific research in a visual format. JoVE allows authors to publish experiments in all their dimensions, overcoming the inherent limitations of traditional, static print journals, thereby adding an entirely new layer to the communication of experimental research. JoVE has published thousands of articles from top research institutions around the world.
PsycARTICLES APA via (Ovid) - King's This link opens in a new window The PsycARTICLES® database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 178,000 searchable full text articles from journals published by the APA. Coverage spans from 1894 to the present. Note: For help with logging in see Login instructions for popular resources for more details. 
PsycEXTRA (APA) This link opens in a new window PsycEXTRA – a grey literature database. Grey literature is material written for professionals and disseminated outside of peer-reviewed journals. Documents include newsletters, magazines, newspapers, technical and annual reports, government reports, consumer brochures, and more. Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.
Psych Central This link opens in a new window Psych Central is the Internet’s largest and oldest independent mental health social network. Since 1995, our award-winning website has been run by mental health professionals offering reliable, trusted information and over 250 support groups to consumers.
Psychological Experiments Online This link opens in a new window Psychological Experiments Online is a multimedia collection that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries, fostering deeper levels of understanding for students and scholars alike. These experiments have far-reaching impacts on fields as diverse as sociology, business, advertising, economics, political science, law, ethics, and the arts. Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.
PsycInfo APA via (Ovid) - King's This link opens in a new window You can access databases on the Ovid platform on campus without logging in at: Ovid PsycINFO covers the behavioural sciences and mental health, with references to papers, chapters and dissertations, relevant to psychiatry, medicine, management, social science, neuroscience, law and social work. Note: For help with logging in see Login instructions for popular resources for more details. 
PsycTests (APA) This link opens in a new window Professionally indexed, APA PsycTests makes it easy to download select ready-to-use research instruments, including a wide range of reliable measures never made commercially available. Extensive coverage along with thousands of research instruments makes APA PsycTests an ideal starting point for researchers initiating new research projects. APA PsycTests indexes a wide variety of test types and instruments including aptitude tests, personality scales and cognitive functioning measures. Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.
PsycTHERAPY APA via (Ovid) - King's This link opens in a new window PsycTHERAPY is a database of video streaming psychotherapy demonstrations. Videos are indexed with metadata about the participants, the clinical demonstration content, and therapeutic approaches demonstrated.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window PTSDpubs, formerly known as PILOTS, is a freely available, bibliographic database providing access to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of traumatic events. PTSDpubs has unique features that set it apart from other databases. This database offers:A custom PTSD and trauma focused thesaurus to help you create a precise search. This unique thesaurus includes specific PTSD symptoms, like hypervigilance, as well as terms such as PTSD (DSM-5) and PTSD (ICD-11) to help you search by diagnostic criteria. A detailed listing of tests and measures. Each record in PTSDpubs lists all instruments used within the publication, and you can search for publications that use a specific test or measure. A comprehensive range of publication types, including journal articles, books, reports, newsletters, and dissertations. Cross-disciplinary coverage of all publications relevant to PTSD and psychological trauma. PTSDpubs does not limit its coverage to selected journals, but tries to include all relevant publications.
ScienceDirect Journals (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window Produced by Elsevier, ScienceDirect is an online subscription ejournal service containing a collection of journals in science, technology and medicine. King's coverage includes access to some of the Elsevier backfiles subject collections.Please note that King's does not subscribe to all journals and that only a small number of Elsevier titles are available off campus via NHS OpenAthens.
Web of Science (All databases) This link opens in a new window Web of Science provides access to the world’s leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examines proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. It is a gateway to:Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present)Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present)Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present)Emerging Sources Citation Index (2015-present) BIOSIS Citation Index (1969-2008)KCI-Korean Journal Database MedlineRussian Science Citation IndexSciELO Citation IndexSpecific log-in instructions for Web of Science can be found here.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library is a collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science and the humanities. King's coverage includes access to some of the subject collections of the Wiley journals backfile. If you experience problems logging in try this URL  https://go.openathens.net/redirector/kcl.ac.uk?url=https%3A%2F%2Fonlinelibrary.wiley.com%2F - it may help to use a Private/Incognito browser window Also note that if you can see  Access by-member@kcl.ac.uk this means you have successfully logged in.

Open Access Materials

While a great deal of academic research is hidden behind paywalls, undoing this and sharing publications openly is becoming increasingly important to aid and advance scholarly communication around the world. Google Scholar is a useful search engine for finding material which has been published openly, but there are a range of other tools you can use to find this type of research. There are also a range of discipline-specific repositories, which are covered in the individual subject guides.

CORE
CORE aggregates research published openly in journals and saved in repositories, offering a single way of discovering open access material.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. You can search not only for entire journals but also articles within those journals.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library of millions of digitised books. Some of these are out of copyright and so can be accessed freely, while others are still in copyright and so can only be digitally borrowed. As an external website we have no control over the content.
OAPEN
more...less...
OAPEN provides a platform for the dissemination of open access books through the OAPEN Library, a quality controlled collection of open access books.
Open Access Button
The Open Access Button is a browser extension which allows you to try to find legal versions of an article which aren't behind a paywall.
Open Textbook Library
Open Textbook Library is a project to bring together a range of textbooks which the authors have licensed for legal open reuse.

Ebook collections

As well as being able to access and search for individual ebook titles via Library Search you may also browse or search our ebook collections.

Below are some selected ebook collections you may find relevant for psychiatry, psychology & neuroscience:

Books@Ovid This link opens in a new window Full-text online access to selected Ovid ebooks.Note: For help with logging in see Login instructions for popular resources for more details.
Language and Linguistics E-Books Online, Collection 2015 (Brill) This link opens in a new window Note: King's does not have access to all books (currently just the 2014 and 2015 collections).Brill's Language and Linguistics E-Books Online, Collection 2015 is the electronic version of the book publication program of Brill in the field of Language and Linguistics in 2015. Coverage: Linguistics, Indigenous languages, Semantics, Reference, Literacy, Grammar, Phonetics
Cambridge Books Online (Cambridge Core) This link opens in a new window King's has access to various titles. After searching see "Refine listing" on the left and tick "Only show content I have access to"
ClinicalKey Student (Medicine) - (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window ClinicalKey Student is an interactive education platform and King's has access to over 240 e-textbooks in Nursing and Medicine.
EBook Central (Proquest) - King's This link opens in a new window Ebook Central is an ebook platform. King’s have purchased over 21,200 titles covering a range of subjects and provides further access to over 176,350 titles.
EBSCO eBook collection - King's This link opens in a new window EBSCO (formerly Netlibrary) is a provider of online ebooks. King’s have purchased over 800 titles covering a range of subjects. These are listed in the Library catalogue. EBSCO also provides access to over 3,000 free titles, mainly in the humanities, including many literary classics. Most of these are not currently listed in the Library catalogue. Please note if EBSCO ebooks do not display correctly, please try using a different internet browser. 
Elsevier eLibrary This link opens in a new window Elsevier eLibrary provides multi-user digital access to a collection of medical, pharmacology and dentistry books.
Morgan and Claypool Engineering, Computer Science, Life Sciences e-book series This link opens in a new window Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences and Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science include hundreds of full text ebooks on the topics of biomedical science, engineering and computing. King's have access to Colloquium Collections 1.
Oxford Medicine Online (OMO) - Kings This link opens in a new window Oxford Medicine Online is a collection of online medical resources which cover every stage in a medical career. The collection covers prestigious digital medical resources from Oxford University Press, including world-renowned titles covering a variety of specialty areas ranging from anaesthesiology to nursing, and from dentistry to neurology. Available on the Oxford Academic platform, content is easy to navigate, accessible on any device, and supports a myriad of tools and features, images and videos, diagrams and charts, and more. King's has access to over 1700 books including Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine, Oxford Textbook of Medicine and Oxford Clinical Guidelines.
PsycBOOKS (APA) This link opens in a new window PsycBOOKS is an extensive collection of peer-reviewed books that provides students, researchers, and educators access to high-quality publications in psychology and related fields. PsycBOOKS includes the newest scholarly and professional books published by APA including reference works from the APA Handbooks in Psychology® Series that delve deep into specific subfields within psychology. Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership. See also our library FAQ for more details.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window PsychiatryOnline provides access to 4 journals and over 20 ebooks, which include psychiatric textbooks, manuals and guidelines as well as patient information and self-assessment tools. The full list of ebooks can be found using this link books
Taylor & Francis E-book Collection This link opens in a new window Taylor & Francis eBooks provides access to content in Humanities, Social Sciences, Behavioural Sciences, Built Environment, STM and Law content from publishers that include Routledge, Psychology Press and Focal PressPlease note: King’s does not have access to all books on this platform