The Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience Library
Print books for Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience are primarily located at The Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience Library.
Discover material using Library Search and the A-Z Databases:
Arrangement in the Library
The physical library collection is arranged over three floors. Physical items are ordered alphabetically and then in ascending order according to the whole number that follows for Library of Congress classmarks.
Some collection areas and their corresponding locations are given below.
Floor 1:
- The 20th Century Collection
- The British Phrenological Society Collection
Floor 2 (Entrance):
- Theses Collection
- Reference Collection
- The Guttmann-Maclay Collection
- The Mayer Gross Collection
- The Brain Zone
Floor 3:
- BF: Psychology
- HA: Statistics
- RC: Internal Medicine
- RJ: Pediatrics
A floor plan for the IoPPN can be accessed below:
Collections Guide for Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience
Welcome to the Collections Guide for Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience
This guide provides tailored information on library collections and links to some of our key resources.
If you are looking for information about how to navigate our libraries, attend a workshop or schedule a 1:1, you can find it on the Health Sciences Guide, linked below:
If you are looking for information about Reading Lists, including FAQs and training material, you can find it on the Reading List Guide, linked below:
Finding Print Material at the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience Library
The Library of Congress Classification [LCC] scheme is the main classification scheme in use at the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience Library.
This system of classification assigns a unique alphanumeric string to items so they can be placed on a shelf and easily retrieved when needed. This alphanumeric string is called a call number or classmark and is created by isolating the subject of the material, its author, and the date of publication. This practice brings together on the shelf materials with similar subjects so users can browse the shelves and discover other useful works.
An item's classmark can be found in two places: the book's spine and its catalogue record:
The LCC system is broken down into 21 broad categories or classes, called classification schedules, and each is divided into smaller subjects or sub classes.
For a full breakdown of the LCC system classes and sub classes visit the Classification Outline at the Library of Congress.
Key classes and their associated subjects at the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience Library are:
A full classification scheme for the IoPPN can be accessed below:
The Bliss Classification system [BC2] is also in use at the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience Library - predominantly for our older and historical collections. Bliss is what is known as a faceted classification system. It's classmarks are mainly made out of letters, rather than letter and numbers that may be more familiar from the Library of Congress [LCC] system.
For a full breakdown of the BC2 system classes and sub classes visit the Bliss Classification schedule at the Bliss Classification Association.
The Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience Library holds a collection of print MSc and PHD theses from previous IoPPN students. These theses pre-date the update to the College’s Academic Regulations in 2020-21 at which point students were no longer required to submit a hard bound printed copy of an awarded thesis to the Library. Only an electronic version (ethesis) is now required to be submitted. Further information about our etheses can be found on our Research Support pages.
Searching for print theses at the IoPPN can be done via Library Search and by filtering by Library Location (Institute of Psychiatry) and Location [Theses]. Theses will be identified in the library catalogue in their location information. Theses are reference only items and will need to be consulted in the library as they cannot be loaned.
Some Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience material may be held in our closed stores. This can include books, journals and some theses.
The items that are held in a closed-access stores are listed on Library Search and can be requested to consult. Please note that store items such as theses, journals and reference-only items cannot be borrowed and will need to be consulted in the library.
For further information on searching and requesting store items can be found here.
We have a small amount of general print reference material at the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience Library. Typical material found in this collection includes:
- Dictionaries
- Encyclopedias
- Multi-volume works or sets
The library may also hold reference copies of key texts to ensure availability in cases where they need to be consulted. This includes:
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR)
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Associations, Seventh Edition
Multimedia
Academic Video Online provides a vast database of film and video clips from documentary, newsreel, entertainment, and television sources. The thematic range and temporal span make the collection relevant to many disciplines, from anthropology to zoology, various courses and student levels.
The collection includes award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners, and gives access to the content from PBS, BBC, 60 MINUTES, National Geographic, Annenberg Learner, BroadwayHD™, A+E Networks’ HISTORY® and more sources.
Academic Video Online is a part of ProQuest One Academic.
Alexander Street Video is on online video streaming platform with access to more than 34,000 video titles. This database offers a wealth of digitised content across disciplines. The library has access to a wide range of educational videos, audio and text resources on the platform. The Counselling & Therapy channel has over 3,500 videos spanning a vast array of topics including:
- Addictions
- Psychology
- Psychotherapy
- Theoretical approaches to counselling
Content spans from the 1960s until the present, providing a comprehensive overview of the the development of disciplines over time as well as up-to-date advancements in practice and research. Key publishers whose content appears on the channel include the American Psychological Association and the BBC.
Box of Broadcasts (BoB National)
BoB [Box of Broadcasts] National is a shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. You can choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels. The recorded programmes are then kept indefinitely (no expiry) and added to a growing media archive (currently at over 1 million programmes), with all content shared by users across all subscribing institutions.
Please note: Individual registration is required and access is only available from the UK.
Henry Stewart Talks (Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection)
A collection of lectures and presentations by leading experts in the fields of Biomedicine & Life Sciences. The presentations consist of navigable slides with accompanying narration synchronised for ease of listening. They are all approximately 40-50 minutes long and are organised into a comprehensive series of talks.
The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection contains over 2,500 specially commissioned, multi-media, online lectures by leading world experts.
Subject categories of potential interest include:
- Biochemistry
- Clinical Practice
- Neuroscience
Kanopy is a multi-disciplinary video streaming service with documentaries, independent and foreign films, training films, plus some classic films and theatrical releases. Kanopy provides access to one of the most unique collections of films in the world. Films range from award-winning documentaries, indie and foreign films, must-see classics, training films and theatrical releases.
Through Kanopy, we have access to the Psychotherapy.net package. This includes a variety of film content including interviews, webinairs, therapy training videos and demonstrations, and documentaries.
