Requesting the Library to Order Books and Other Materials
Individual books, DVDs, CDs and ebooks required for teaching can be requested by staff to be added to our collection via our Reading List service. Submitting a reading list to the library for review ensures that the library can acquire the material that your students will need to read for their success.
Further information on submitting requests for teaching material can be found here.
For other individual books or ebook requests, staff and postgraduate students can use the Suggest a Book form.
Ebook Licenses Explained
Academic publishers decide whether to make their eBooks available for libraries to purchase. These models for purchasing differ from buying individual eBooks via booksellers such as Waterstones or Amazon. As such, sometimes eBooks may be available for individuals to purchase via these retailers but they are not available for libraries to purchase due to lack of availability on a library licensing model, or due to prohibitive costs.
The most frequent types of eBook license models for libraries are:
- Limited user - These may limit the number of simultaneous users - usually to either 1 or 3.
- Non-linear - These offer a certain number of credits that can be used throughout the year of purchase to access the eBook.
- Unlimited - There are no caps or limits to the number of uses or simultaneous users with this model.
The library will always endeavour to acquire eBooks via the best licensing option that will allow for maximum access relative to costs.
Further information regarding accessing eBooks can be found here.
Recently Added Titles
-
-
-
The Oxford Handbook of Developmental Psychology and the Law
by
ISBN: 9780197549513Publication Date: 2024-01-03 -
-
-
Key eBook Packages
Cambridge Books Online, hosted on Cambridge Core platform, offers access to eBooks from Cambridge University Press and covers subjects from all disciplines across Science, Technology, and Medicine, as well as Humanities and Social Sciences. The collection includes key publications published by the Royal College of Psychiatrists including Fish's Clinical Psychopathology.
Oxford Handbooks Online covers many different subject areas and the series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. King's has access to all collections, which includes over 30,000 titles on the subject of Psychology.
This package includes access to to selected Ovid eBooks for Psychology and Psychiatry, including Kaplan & Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry.
PsycBOOKS is an extensive collection of peer-reviewed books that provides students, researchers, and educators access to high-quality publications in Psychology and related fields. PsycBOOKS includes the newest scholarly and professional books published by APA including reference works from the APA Handbooks in Psychology® Series that delve deep into specific subfields within psychology.
PsycBOOKS access is via Senate House library membership. Senate House resources require registering for Senate House library membership before accessing. See also our library FAQ for more details.
PsychiatryOnline provides access to journals, eBooks, manuals and guidelines as well as patient information and self-assessment tools. It includes regularly uploaded news bulletins published by the APA. The books offer a well-rounded Psychiatry and Psychology selection covering diagnosis and differential diagnosis, case vignettes, multidisciplinary treatment guidelines, and the latest research
PsychiatryOnline also provides access to the DSM Library, which includes access to the DSM-5, the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, Clinical Cases plus more.
Taylor & Francis E-book Collection
Taylor & Francis eBooks provides access to ebooks on a number of subjects, including Social Sciences and Medicine, Dentistry, Psychology and Nursing. The Routledge Subject Collections provide coverage on subjects that may be of particular interest, including Applied Psychology and Criminology and Criminal Justice.
This is one of the largest and most comprehensive ebook packages with access to over 150,000 titles covering a wide range of subjects, including access to nearly 10,00 titles relevant for Psychology.
Selected Statistics eBooks
-
Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics
by
ISBN: 9781526419521Publication Date: 2018-01-08 -
-
-
-
-
-
