LibGuides: Social Science & Public Policy: Education, Communication, and Society

Proquest Social Science Premium Collection

The Proquest Social Sciences Premium Collection grants access to a number of different disciplinary databases across the social sciences.

Some of the sections that are key to this School are the Education Collection, and the Linguistics Collection.

The Education Collection provides access to ERIC (also accessible through the EBSCO databases), the leading index for education research, in combination with the full- text Education Database. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more.

The Linguistics Collection combines Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), the leading index for linguistics, with full-text for many titles. It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.

Also included in this is the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), which includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. It provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.

Other databases it allows access to are Applied Social Sciences Index (ASSIA) and Sociological Abstracts.

Proquest Social Science Premium Collection

Other Databases and Ebook Collections

These are a few other databases and ebook collections that you can access through the King's Libraries and Collections subscriptions. This is not an exhaustive list, but a few selected useful platforms.

Elgar Online
Elgar Online is an ebook platform. Although it contains a few books related to education, one of the key strengths is in social sciences.
Emerald Insight
Emerald Insight allows you to search journals and ebooks through this platform. It has good coverage in education, linguistics, and social sciences.
JSTOR
JSTOR offers academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Springer Link
Springer Link is a platform allowing you to search journal and ebook collections that we have through Springer. It also searched conference papers and other material types.

There is good coverage of both education and linguistics in Springer Link, and this includes a number of ebooks, particularly in Education Topics.
Taylor and Francis Journals King's subscribes to large sections of the Taylor and Francis Journals. This includes over 300,000 articles related to education, and over 200,000 in social sciences.
UK Press Online
UKPressOnline is an online database containing as-published pages from the back catalogues of some of the world's leading newspaper titles, including the Daily Express and Daily Mirror. The content covers a date range from 1835 to present and is searchable using headlines, keywords or date.

EBSCO Education Databases

King's has a subscription to a number of databases relating to education which can be searched through the EBSCOhost platform. You can access the EBSCOhost platform through the link below, and then select which databases you wish to search.

As the mechanics of searching in different databases can vary slightly, it is recommended that you search just one database at a time in order to get the most thorough and best possible results.

The education databases that are accessible through EBSCOhost are:

British Education Index

The British Education Index provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. Strengths include aspects of educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs.

Child Development and Adolescent Studies

Child Development & Adolescent Studies, produced by NISC, is today’s source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed.

Education Administration Abstracts

Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 190,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

ERIC

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.

Teacher Reference Centre

Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

EBSCOhost