LibGuides: Social Science & Public Policy: Global Affairs

Databases and Ebook Collections

These are a few other databases and ebook collections that you can access through the King's Libraries and Collections subscriptions. This is not an exhaustive list, but a few selected useful platforms. With this being a diverse School, not all of the databases listed will be relevant to every staff and students from each department.

Elgar Online
Elgar Online is an ebook platform. It has subject collections in Asian studies, development studies, environment, geography, and urban and regional studies.
Greenfile
Greenfile is a database on the EBSCO platform, likely to be most useful for people to working in the department of Geography. GreenFILE covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
JSTOR
JSTOR offers academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Nature Journals
Nature Journals has good coverage in earth and environmental sciences.
Ovid
Ovid is a platform through which you can access a number of databases which are likely to be useful for researchers working within the department of Global Health and Social Medicine.

The important databases in this case are likely to include EMBASE, Global Health, and Social Policy and Practice.
Springer Link
Springer Link is a platform allowing you to search journal and ebook collections that we have through Springer. It also searched conference papers and other material types.

SpringerLink has good coverage in earth sciences, environment, geography, international relations, and public health.
Taylor and Francis Journals
King's subscribes to large sections of the Taylor and Francis Journals. The subject range is wide, and includes area studies, development studies, earth sciences, and geography.

Proquest Social Science Premium Collection

The Proquest Social Sciences Premium Collection grants access to a number of different disciplinary databases across the social sciences. You can select to search all of the databases, or just selected individual ones.

A key database contained within this is the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), which includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. It provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.

Proquest Social Science Premium Collection

Other Resource Types

Faculti
Faculti is a platform with short videos providing academic insight into key subjects and questions. Subjects covered include international relations and sociology.

Digimap is an online map and data delivery service, available by subscription to UK Higher and Further Education establishments. King's is subscribed to three sections of Digimap:

Ordnance Survey
- This is the original and definitive service providing a full range of topographic Ordnance Survey data for the UK higher and further education sector. Digimap provides a wide range of tools to help maximise the benefits and value the data can bring to almost every academic discipline
Historic
- Historic Digimap delivers historical Ordnance Survey maps of Great Britain. The Collection is licensed from Landmark Information Group for UK Higher and Further Education.
Environment
- Environment Digimap brings easy access to Land Cover data from the Centre for Ecology and Hydrology. Separate datasets are available for 1990, 2000, 2007 and 2015, all national coverages. Also included are Dudley Stamp’s maps of the 1930’s Land Utilisation Survey of Britain.

Digimap

Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports Archive
The Economist Intelligence Unit has published Country Reports since 1952, covering almost 200 countries. Each report presents detailed statistics alongside expert commentary and forecasting from the EIU’s analysts. This database presents the historical reports up to 1995, with all data from the statistical tables fully captured and downloadable in spreadsheet form.
OECD Employment and Labour Market Statistics
The OECD Employment and Labour Market Statistics database includes a range of annual labour market statistics and indicators from 1960 broken down by sex and age as well as information about part-time and short-time workers, job tenure, hours worked, unemployment duration, trade union, employment protection legislation, minimum wages, labour market programmes for OECD countries and non-member economies.
OECD Health
OECD Health Statistics offers the most comprehensive source of comparable statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries, and includes data found in the publication Health at a Glance. It provides data on the health status of the population including obesity (overweight, obese), suicide and life expectancy, health care financing, health care resources, social protection, health care utilization, the pharmaceutical market, long-term care resources and utilization, non-medical determinants of health, expenditure on health, and demographic and economic references, with coverage being provided for OECD and selected non-OECD countries as far back as 1960.

UK Press Online
UKPressOnline is an online database containing as-published pages from the back catalogues of some of the world's leading newspaper titles, including the Daily Express and Daily Mirror. The content covers a date range from 1835 to present and is searchable using headlines, keywords or date.

Region Specific Resources

China Academic Journals
The CNKI China Academic Journals database is the largest full-text Chinese journals database in the world. King's subscribes to content from 1994-2012 content from the Politics, Military Affairs and Law collection, the Education and Social Science collection and the Economics and Management collection.
South Asia Archive
The South Asia Archive is as a specialist digital platform delivering global electronic access to culturally and historically significant literary material produced from within - and about - the Indian subcontinent.