There are three departments in the School of Politics and Economics: European and International Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, and Political Economy. The resources outlined here may help support researchers within the School find material to support their research.
Databases and Ebook Collections
These are a few other databases and ebook collections that you can access through the King's Libraries and Collections subscriptions. This is not an exhaustive list, but a few selected useful platforms.
The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) is an American economic research organization that undertakes and disseminates research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community. Projects are organised into a series of nineteen research programs and fourteen working groups.
The Economist Intelligence Unit has published Country Reports since 1952, covering almost 200 countries. Each report presents detailed statistics alongside expert commentary and forecasting from the EIU’s analysts. This database presents the historical reports up to 1995, with all data from the statistical tables fully captured and downloadable in spreadsheet form.
The OECD Employment and Labour Market Statistics database includes a range of annual labour market statistics and indicators from 1960 broken down by sex and age as well as information about part-time and short-time workers, job tenure, hours worked, unemployment duration, trade union, employment protection legislation, minimum wages, labour market programmes for OECD countries and non-member economies.
Orbis Bank Focus offers detailed information on listed, and major unlisted/delisted, companies around the world. Includes country profiles and outlook from the EIU, directors and contacts and M&A details and rumours.
Passport is Euromonitor International's syndicated market research database. It provides data and insight on industries, economies and consumers worldwide, helping our clients analyse market context and identify future trends.
The UK Data Service is a comprehensive resource funded by the ESRC to support researchers, teachers and policymakers who depend on high-quality social and economic data. Here you will find a single point of access to a wide range of secondary data including large-scale government surveys, international macrodata, business microdata, qualitative studies and census data.
UKPressOnline is an online database containing as-published pages from the back catalogues of some of the world's leading newspaper titles, including the Daily Express and Daily Mirror. The content covers a date range from 1835 to present and is searchable using headlines, keywords or date.