The School of Security Studies comprises two departments: the Department of War Studies, and the Department of Defence Studies. This page of this guide covers some of the platforms that are likely to be useful specifically for researchers working within the field.
Databases and Ebook Collections
These are a few other databases and ebook collections that you can access through the King's Libraries and Collections subscriptions. This is not an exhaustive list, but a few selected useful platforms.
Electronic online resource covering international security. It includes a range of resource types, like reference articles, biographies, speeches and government documents. To access it, please look up the password at the following page: https://internal.kcl.ac.uk/library/passwords
This resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews.
UKPressOnline is an online database containing as-published pages from the back catalogues of some of the world's leading newspaper titles, including the Daily Express and Daily Mirror. The content covers a date range from 1835 to present and is searchable using headlines, keywords or date.
START is a network of scholars conducting research into all aspects of terrorism. Under the publications tab you can find a range of publications, both academic (e.g. journal articles, conference papers etc) and grey literature (e.g. reports, fact sheets, etc). Some, but not all, of the academic publications are available through our subscriptions.