Skip to main content

Library Guides

Arts & Humanities: Finding books, ebooks & journal articles

NOT FOR GENERAL USE

My Reading Lists

The MyReadingLists system will let you look up online lists of books, journals and websites your lecturers expect you to read for your lectures and seminars:

New to MyreadingLists?

Find out how to look up your module reading lists in the Getting Started With Your Studies section of KLaSS:

Books and articles in King's libraries - A&H

Library Services provides a range of print books and journals to support your studies and research. All of our books and most journal articles can be located with Library Search:

New to using Library Search?

You can find online tutorials on using Library Search to find books and journals around your subject. Find them in the Getting Started With Your Studies section of KLaSS:

Key classmarks for your subject - A&H

  • PA- for Greek language and literature and Roman language and literature.
  • DE- for the history of the Greco-Roman world.
  • DF- for the history of ancient Greece.
  • DG - for the history of ancient Italy.

Books on your subject can be found at:

  • PA5000-5660 - Byzantine and modern Greek literature
  • PN45-57 - Theory
  • PN80-99 - Criticism
  • PN801-820 - Romance Literature
  • PN821-840 - Germanic Literature
  • PN851-884 - Comparative Literature
  • PN1010-1525 - Poetry
  • PN1600-3307 - Drama
  • PN3311-3503 - Prose
  • PQ1-3999 - French literature
  • PQ6001-6726 - Spanish literature
  • PQ7081-8560 - Spanish American literature
  • PQ9000-9326 - Portuguese literature
  • PQ9500-9796 - Brazilian literature
  • PQ9900-9948 - Portuguese African literature
  • PR1-9680 - English literature
  • PS1-3576 - American literature
  • PT1-4897 - German literature

Books on your subject can be found at:

Arts (General) - Room 2.44

  • NX420-430 - Exhibitions
  • NX440-632 - History of the Arts
  • NX700-750 - Patronage
  • NX760-770 - Administration
  • NX798-820 - Centres and Facilities

Museums (General) - Room 1.58

  • AM111-160 - Museology
  • AM200-501 - Collectors and Collecting

Visual Arts - Room 2.45

  • N61-72 - Theory

Museums and Galleries - Room 2.45

  • N4390-5098 - Exhibitions
  • N5198-5299 - Private Collections
  • N5300-7418 - History
  • N8350-8356 - Art as a Profession
  • N8600-8675 - Economics of Art
  • N8700-9165 - Public Art

Books on your subject can be found at:

Books on English can be found between PR1 and  PR9680, with a selection of specific sections below:

  • PR1-56 English Literary History and Criticism
  • PR111-116 Women Authors
  • PR500-614 Poetry
  • PR908 Diaries
  • PR951-981 Folk literature

Books on your subject can be found at:

  • JN101-1371 - British Politics
  • JN1187-1371 - Scottish Politics
  • JN2301-3007 - French Politics
  • JN3201-4980 - German Politics
  • JN5001-5191 - Greek Politics
  • JN8101-8399 - Spanish Politics
  • JN8423-8661 - Portuguese Politics

Books on your subject can be found at:

  • PN1993 - for film guides such as Halliwell's or Time Out Film Guide
  • PN1993.5 - National cinema movements and guides to film from particular countries
  • PN1994/1995 - film theory and criticism.
  • PN1995.9 - specific genres and themes such as documentary, film noir, horror and sexuality.
  • PN1997 - BFI guides on specific films
  • PN1998 - criticism and commentaries on the films and careers of key directors.

Books on your subject can be found at:

  • DC1-947 - French history
  • JN2301-3007 - French politics
  • PC2001-3761 - French language
  • PN1993 - French film
  • PQ1-3999 - French literature

Books on your subject can be found at:

  • DD1-905 - German history
  • JN3201-4980 - German politics
  • PF3001-5999 - German language
  • PN1993 - German film
  • PT1-4897 - German literature

Books on your subject can be found at:

  • DF501-649 - Greek History (Byzantine empire, 323-1453). 
    Room 1M.72
  • DF701-951 - Greek History (modern). 
    Rooms 1M.71 & 1M.72
  • JN5001-5191 - Greek Politics. 
    Room 2.47
  • PA1000-1179 - Medieval and modern Greek language. 
    Room 2M.43
  • PA5000-5660 - Byzantine and modern Greek literature. 
    Rooms 2M.46-2M.49.

Books on your subject can be found at:

  • BL-BX- for Religion and Religious History
  • D- for European and World History
  • E & F- for the History of the Americas
  • HC-HD- for Economic History
  • JC & JN - for Political Theory and Institutions.

Books on your subject can be found at:

Books on your subject can be found at:

For books about music:

  • ML - which covers literature on music
  • MT - which covers music instruction and study

For scores:

  • M1-3 - Collections and Manuscripts
  • M5-1490 - Instrumental Music, begins with solo instruments and finishes with large orchestral groups
  • M1497-1998 - Secular Vocal Music
  • M1999-2199 - Sacred Vocal Music

Books on your subject can be found at:

  • B1-5739- Philosophy (General)
  • BC1-199 - Logic
  • BC200- Language and Philosophy
  • BD10-701- Speculative Psychology
  • BF1-990- Psychology
  • BH1-301- Aesthetics
  • BJ1-1725 - Ethics

Books on your subject can be found at:

  • DP1-402 - Spanish history
  • DP501-900.22 - Portuguese history
  • F1201-3799 - Latin American history 
  • JN8101-8399 - Spanish politics
  • JN8423-8661 - Portuguese politics
  • JL1200-2499 - Latin American politics
  • PC4001-4977 - Spanish language 
  • PC5001-5498 - Portuguese language 
  • PQ6001-6726 - Spanish literature
  • PQ7081-8560 - Spanish American literature
  • PQ9000-9326 - Portuguese literature
  • PQ9500-9796 - Brazilian literature

Books on your subject can be found at:

  • BL1-2790- Religions, mythology, rationalism
  • BM1-990- Judaism
  • BP 1-605- Islam, Bahaism, theosophy
  • BQ1-9800- Buddhism
  • BR1-1725- Christianity
  • BS1-2970- The Bible
  • BT1-1480- Doctrinal Theology
  • BV1-5099- Practical Theology
  • BX1-9999 - Denominations and sects

Books on your subject can be found at:

Loading ...

Online book collections - A&H

These online book collections won't be searched by Library Search but contain thousands of titles on a huge variety of subjects. Check each book collection's description for details of borrowing procedures and limitations.

Don't forget: You can browse the full range of providers with the A-Z link below:

New to using ebooks?

You can find online tutorials on locating, opening and reading ebooks available at King's. Find them in the Getting Started With Your Studies section of KLaSS: